Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Romantic London

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Our stay at the Windemere could not have been a Breyer place to stay. Victoria Station and Coach station was an 8 minute walk. Big Ben from the Windemere as well as Parliament, & London Eye were within walking distance, perhaps 30-35 min walk. We enjoyed every moment as we would explore lots more along the way. Boutiques and very quaint hotel, quiet with basic amenities, however very clean. Breakfast was available, with a choice of continental or full breakfast to order. The front staff was very courteous and helpful, especially at helping piut together our tour(s). Owner of hotel was more than eager to help and give a bit iof London history. Overall, our stay was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Hotel well situated for the Houses of Parliament and Buckingham Palace. Rooms clean and breakfast good. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Would use this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great people and location, but...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The entire staff was extremely attentive and accommodating, and the location is great. But my room was simply way too small and cramped, even by Euro standards. Ditto the shower and toilet.There were no drawers to store folded clothing except for the desk. And the bed was too soft. Given the rate, a high mark cannot be accorded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Excellent hotel five minutes from Victoria Station

Posted Aug 2, 2014
This was a lovely hotel with an excellent staff who were very friendly. They determined our needs before we asked. The rooms were very nice, clean, and the air conditioning was excellent! We enjoy coming to London and we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paisley

Lovely hotel near Victoria

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, the air con and the cooked breakfast.
Cons: The breakfast room is probably too small.
Location: Handy for Wicked and Billy Elliot on foot plus London via various transport services.
This hotel have staff with a brilliant attitude. They want you to enjoy your stay. The hotel is relatively small. The room we had had all the usual amenities but the one we loved most was the remote controlled air con. With London sweltering in summer heat this was excellent. The cooked breakfast was complimentary and delicious. Only get there before 8.30am as the breakfast room is small and fills up quickly. The staff will do their best to accommodate you, even giving you a call when a table becomes free. Location wise the hotel is handy for coach, rail, underground and bus at Victoria and because services leave from there you often can get a seat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

This an excellent small 'boutique' style of hotel.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It is small, friendly, clean and comfortable.
Location: It is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Harrods (Knightsbridge), the Kings Road, Buckingham Palace, etc.
The Windermere is an excellent alternative to the larger, more expensive hotels in this area of London. We had a good night's sleep and the Superior Twin had air conditioning, which was needed as the temperature in London was very hot and steamy. The breakfast was very good and the croissants were freshly baked. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who needed a short break near to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz, ca

Great hotel in a quiet area of London.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights, and it was just wonderful! The front desk service was amazing. They will suggest restaurants, give directions, book tours, etc for you. Juan was especially nice and helpful. The full English breakfast (that is included in the price) was delicious and enough to keep us satisfied most of the day. The hotel is off the beaten path in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Don't get me wrong though, it's only a 5 minute walk to the closest tube, and we easily walked to Westminster and Buckingham. The rooms are slightly small, but designed in such a way that every inch of space is used, and the rooms include more than most normal hotels! We loved it and would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanarkshire

Great find within walking distance for sightseeing

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Location: Walking distance to Victoria. Ideal location for Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, a Houses of Parliament etc.ลท
Warm, friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious room and excellent breakfast. Brasserie and bar available if required. Luggage store added extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quogue, NY

Great small London hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Price. Quiet. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast including hot choices.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: A bit out of the way but within 10 minute walk to Sloane Square neighborhood and 15 minutes to Buckingham Palace, Green Park, etc.
The Windermere lived up to its rating. Affordable small hotel in nice area of London (between Mayfair and Pimlico).... five minute walk from Victoria tube station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Schenectady, NY

The perfect place to stay in London.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: We actually felt like the Windermere was a home away from home. The staff is friendly and professional and the meals served were wonderful!
Cons: The size of the room is the only thing I would change if I could, but that's not possible so it was a very minor point.
Location: Very close to Victoria Station. Pub and Thai restaurant and convenience store two minutes away. Market a few blocks away.
Never having been to London before, and having read the myriad reviews of many different lodgings, we wanted someplace clean and comfortable and close to a major hub. We chose Victoria station because it connects with so many places by bus, train or underground. The Windermere is no more than a 5 minute walk away from Victoria. It serves the ultimate English breakfast, included in the price, which kept us full until evening. It also serves dinner from 5:30 to 11:00, and all the food we had there was fresh and delicious! Our room was quite small, but kept very, very clean. The bathroom is newly renovated with high quality fixtures. If desired, the cleaning staff will visit each day to tidy the room and bring towels, etc. The staff is so very helpful and kind and knowledgeable. It is a family run hotel and they take great pains and pride in doing everything they can for their customers. They even had umbrellas we could borrow and many books on London we could read. They will act as concierge to book tours and check on other activities. I highly recommend The Windermere Hotel to anyone who wants high quality lodging while in London.