Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alkmaar

Goed hotel op loop afstand van bezienswaardigheden

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Netjes en schoon hotel. Het sanitair is wat aan de kleine kant! Het hotel ligt mooi centraal en de diverse bezienswaardigheden liggen op maximaal een half uur lopen en 15 min van Victoria Station!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Great location, outstanding staff, nice room.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Loved the front desk people and the hotel chef.
Cons: We did find a minor issue with the toilet in our room. It was a type where you had to pump the handle from one to up to 7 or 8 times for it to flush.
Location: Great location near Victoria Train Station and Victoria Coach station. Only a short walk to Buckingham Palace, a little longer walk to other sites.
Found this hotel by searching on Expedia and then cross-referenced to Trip Advisor. I was hoping all the reviews were right. Although the hotel is small, the location is excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We really did feel like it was our home away from home. I was traveling with a friend and wanted something that was close to London sights and the train station for our daily excursions to other places. It was only a short walk to the train and coach stations. The neighborhood is quiet and the hotel was clean and furnished very nicely. The stay included a full breakfast each morning. It was perfect. The front desk staff, especially Juan, were excellent. They made recommendations about tours, arranged cabs, and handled everything that a hotel concierge would. We also dined in the hotel for several of our evening meals and found the food excellent. They have a chef who gets local produce and fresh ingredients to create a delicious and very reasonable meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wetzlar

Wunderbares zentrales, aber ruhiges Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Lage, Frühstück, Sauberkeit
Location: Es liegt im Stadtteil Westminster. In Laufweite befinden sich Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey und Big Ben sowie das Musical "Wicked"
Dies war mein erster Aufenthalt im Windermere Hotel, aber definitiv nicht mein Letzter. Ich war wirklich sehr angetan von diesem kleinen, aber sehr feinen Hotel. Ich habe es zusammen mit zwei Kolleginnen besucht, und wir hatten ein schönes 3-Bett-Zimmer. Besonders begeistert haben uns: +Sauberkeit: Es war so sauber, ich konnte es kaum glauben. Wenn man ins Zimmer kam, hat es richtig frisch und sauber gerochen. Auch im Bad (welches noch relativ neu sein muss) war alles Tip-Top. Kein Schimmel, keine Haare, keine Flecken, kein Staub. +Lage: Bis zur zentral in der Innenstadt gelegenen U-Bahn Station Voctoria sind es gerade mal 10-15 Gehminuten. Bis zum Buckingham Palace läuft man ca. 20 Minuten, und bis Westminster läuft man eine gute halbe Stunde. Das Alles aber ganz gemütlich. Mit schnellem Schritt geht es bestimmt etwas schneller +Frühstück: Ich war schon oft in London (oder anderen Großstädten), aber noch nie war ich von einem Frühstück so angetan. Es gibt Gebäck aus der hauseigenen Brasserie, und dazu eine schöne Auswahl an Belägen, wie Käse, Wurst, Marmelade (in kleinen Gläsern, total schön und nicht so ein Plastikmist wie sonst oft), Joghurt, frisches Obst und Müsli. Dazu kann man sich kostenlos (!!!) extra noch eine Auswahl an englischem Frühstück frisch zubereiten lassen, wie Ei (Rührei, Spiegelei, ganzes Ei), Bohnen, gebackene Tomaten und Pilze, Bacon... . Es war SO LECKER! Abschließend sage ich nochmal, das hier ist ein Top-Hotel - ich komme wieder!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Great time. Hotel is very nice and staff is exceptional
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Milan, Italy

A weekend underground

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I spent a weekend last march at the Windermere. Excellent location, perfect hygiene, charming staff. But, unfortunately, my single room was not only small, as declared on the online booking form, but was on the lower ground. Happily I didn't suffer from claustrophobia... I have travelled extensively, but it's the first time this happens. I protested but I was told that hotel rooms on the lower ground were customary in the UK, and that the inspector that visited recently "loved the room" (must have been someone with problems!). Anyway the hotel staff told me that they were fully booked so I had no choice but to stay. I don't think it's fair especially to foreign tourists that expect their room to be at floor +1 or higher.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Emily, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Dear Adriana Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our location, hygiene and staff. I am sorry that you were not happy with the room you were allocated. Unfortunately we were unable to transfer you to a different room during your short stay with us, as we were fully booked. You did make a last minute booking and did not enter any requests or comments into your booking form, hence we did not know that you would be so against a room located on the Lower Ground Floor. All of our rooms are equipped with the same wonderful amenities including free high speed Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, luxury toiletries, direct dial telephone, Freeview TV, Air Conditioning, an excellent breakfast and windows which open. As you have mentioned, rooms located on all floors (Lower Ground (not basement) up to the top floor) is very common in London townhouses. This is because of the historical significance of our buildings, but most people consider this to be part of our charm. I sincerely hope that you will choose to return to The Windermere. Please enter any requests you have at the time of booking, and we will try our very best to accommodate you accordingly. Kindest regards Emily Hambi, The Windermere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Clean, attractive, close to transport, great staff

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: location, cleanliness, breakfast, staff helpful
Cons: bit later check out
Location: near sloane square great shopping, near bus and tube so all of London easy! Some good pubs and Indian food nearby.
friendly staff at all times. Helpful re getting around London. Best small hotel on a street of many hotels….most definitely the cleanest and most upscale. Breakfast genuinely good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Excellent séjour, hôtel à recommander, proche de v

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Hôtel très bien situé, chambre très agréable, petit déjeuner délicieux et pour tous! Nous sommes ravis de notre séjour!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet room (on lower ground floor).

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Location: Good location for visits to the theare in Victoria.
Very good quality breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and warm room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miranda de Ebro

Excelente localización. Atención excelente.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: El trato de su personal, situación y desayuno
Location: Muy cerca de estación de metro de Victoria, estación de tren y estación de autobuses. Rapido acceso a todo el centro de Londres
Hotel pequeño, muy bien situado y en zona muy tranquila, con rápido acceso a metro, estación de tren y de autobuses..Atención personal excelente. Habitación confortable aunque el cuarto de baño resulte algo reducido. El desayuno excelente y abundante.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Great hotel close to transportation

Posted Mar 15, 2015
This was a great week! The hotel was small but clean and the staff was wonderful! They gave me great directions for all the places we wanted to visit. They made sure it was a safe route for the best price. This was a trip for me and my son and we felt very safe in the hotel and surrounding area. I will definitely stay here again!