Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from North Wales

Lovely hotel close to Victoria station

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We stayed one night in one of the apartments attached to hotel . We were very impressed beautiful furnishings clean and staff were all very pleasant and helpful . Will definitely be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dare from Florida

Convenient Central London location

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, great food, and location.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Walk to Victoria station for the Original Bus tour, to Harrods, Hyde Park, to the Royal Court Theater at Sloan Square, Buckingham Palace, Pubs
We arrived nine hours late due to flight cancellations. We sent an email from he airport before leaving the US and got an immediate reply confirming our late arrival and rescheduling our arranged transportation. Normally we would take the tube, it's only one line change from Heathrow and a ten minute walk, but my wife had a walking cast. The entire staff was courteous and attentive. The breakfast was great and after getting a recommendation from another guest, we had dinner there on our last night. The chef was a one man show--waiter, bartender, and chef (there are only a few tables in the small, intimate basement restraunt). The sea bass special was the best meal we had in London. We are recommending the Windemere to all of our friends-hope the secret doesn't get out before our next trip, we want a room to be available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sonia from West Midlands

Lovely hotel - perfect location

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful and assisted in additional heating when required
Cons: Heating should be on earlier than it was as got a little cold and on during set times
Location: Westminster Abbey Westminster Pier Parliment Buildings
Lovely hotel, and surprisingly lovely inside. Looks like the rooms are being recarpeted however, didnt think it needed to be. Breakfast was excellent and worth having.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from Sydney, Australia

Well located hotel and professional service

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Location: Great location in quiet area. Close to transport.
We are a family of 5 with 3 teenage daughters. Our stay was for 4 nights only and wanted to experience a real English traditional hotel during our stay. Well, the hotel was nothing less than perfect, family run, courteous staff, great experience and location. Recommended !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DLC from Brooklyn, NY

Great hotel!!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Windermere. Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The family owners were terrific - hospitable and helpful. We were particularly touched that when they learned we were gluten free they went out and obtained gluten free bread and biscuits for our breakfast - on boxing day, too! The breakfast was first-rate - both the continental and the traditional English; fueled us up for a busy day of sightseeing in winter. Also, the hotel is an easy walk to the tube and bus station, perfect for zipping around London. If we go back to London, we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Western Australia

This is a pleasure to stay at.

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful
Location: Great location close to the buses and metro.
As good as I expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary Ellen from Glen Rock, NJ

Lovely hotel in a very convenient location.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Location: The location is great. Just blocks away from Victoria Station and within walking distance of Buckingham Palace and other attractions.
The owners of the Windermere, Nick and Sylvia, are the best. They went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating and to make our stay so pleasant. The hotel rooms are very clean and the included breakfast is very good. We highly recommend the Windermere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David from Crewe

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business stop

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Located within a few minutes walk from Victoria station so excellent location. Impressive looking building from the front and pleasant reception area. I was upgraded to a superior room on the third floor, reached via lift and narrow corridor. The room was neutrally decorated and very clean but basic furniture and facilities. In brief this was more like a good Bed & Breakfast rather than a 'hotel'. Certainly worth considering on that basis given the location.