Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

This an excellent small 'boutique' style of hotel.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It is small, friendly, clean and comfortable.
Location: It is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Harrods (Knightsbridge), the Kings Road, Buckingham Palace, etc.
The Windermere is an excellent alternative to the larger, more expensive hotels in this area of London. We had a good night's sleep and the Superior Twin had air conditioning, which was needed as the temperature in London was very hot and steamy. The breakfast was very good and the croissants were freshly baked. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who needed a short break near to Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz, ca

Great hotel in a quiet area of London.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights, and it was just wonderful! The front desk service was amazing. They will suggest restaurants, give directions, book tours, etc for you. Juan was especially nice and helpful. The full English breakfast (that is included in the price) was delicious and enough to keep us satisfied most of the day. The hotel is off the beaten path in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Don't get me wrong though, it's only a 5 minute walk to the closest tube, and we easily walked to Westminster and Buckingham. The rooms are slightly small, but designed in such a way that every inch of space is used, and the rooms include more than most normal hotels! We loved it and would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanarkshire

Great find within walking distance for sightseeing

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Location: Walking distance to Victoria. Ideal location for Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, a Houses of Parliament etc.ลท
Warm, friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious room and excellent breakfast. Brasserie and bar available if required. Luggage store added extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quogue, NY

Great small London hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Price. Quiet. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast including hot choices.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: A bit out of the way but within 10 minute walk to Sloane Square neighborhood and 15 minutes to Buckingham Palace, Green Park, etc.
The Windermere lived up to its rating. Affordable small hotel in nice area of London (between Mayfair and Pimlico).... five minute walk from Victoria tube station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Schenectady, NY

The perfect place to stay in London.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: We actually felt like the Windermere was a home away from home. The staff is friendly and professional and the meals served were wonderful!
Cons: The size of the room is the only thing I would change if I could, but that's not possible so it was a very minor point.
Location: Very close to Victoria Station. Pub and Thai restaurant and convenience store two minutes away. Market a few blocks away.
Never having been to London before, and having read the myriad reviews of many different lodgings, we wanted someplace clean and comfortable and close to a major hub. We chose Victoria station because it connects with so many places by bus, train or underground. The Windermere is no more than a 5 minute walk away from Victoria. It serves the ultimate English breakfast, included in the price, which kept us full until evening. It also serves dinner from 5:30 to 11:00, and all the food we had there was fresh and delicious! Our room was quite small, but kept very, very clean. The bathroom is newly renovated with high quality fixtures. If desired, the cleaning staff will visit each day to tidy the room and bring towels, etc. The staff is so very helpful and kind and knowledgeable. It is a family run hotel and they take great pains and pride in doing everything they can for their customers. They even had umbrellas we could borrow and many books on London we could read. They will act as concierge to book tours and check on other activities. I highly recommend The Windermere Hotel to anyone who wants high quality lodging while in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jennifer from worcestershire

very nice hotel not far from buckingham palace

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: good car park opposite
Location: not far from victoria station and all the sights of london
very good room, comfy beds, bathroom a bit tight and narrow, breakfast very good excelent choice of items
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda

Not located on busy street, but close enough.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Smaller hotel, quaint feeling.
Location: Close to attractions, 1/2 mile from Victoria Station. Residential looking neighborhood.
Nice b & b. Great, helpful staff. Family owned & run.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Victoria station

Posted May 23, 2014
Good breakfast ,helpful staff, elevator ,and bathtub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diane from wisconsin

Close to victoria station, very safe section of tw

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Fantastic food , very clean and the staff was excellent!!!!!
Cons: Nothing, every thing was wonderful
Location: Victoria station, trains and busses were right there, hop on and off bus.
Wonderful vacation! We got to see all the great old sites, amazing how historic everything is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Seattle, WA

Close to many things

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: I really liked the staff. They really made our stay comfortable and anytime we needed information they were always available and very friendly.
Cons: Our room didn't have a fridge. That is an easy fix. Hotel was excellent overall and I still give it a 5 out of 5.
Location: We liked how close it was to many things such as, the Victoria station, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben. We walked to many destinations from our hotel room
My husband and I had a great experience. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the food was excellent. If we ever visit again, we definitely consider staying here again.