Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed and Breakfast, no more

Posted Mar 24, 2015
On arrival, We had to carry our luggage up stairs to the hotel lobby, no luggage carts. I did not see a ramp. Despite confirmed booking on Expedia, the receptionist informed me that no room was assigned to us because the payment did not get to the hotel. After I gave her the printed confirmation for a deluxe twin room with sitting area, she assigned room 302. When I checked intonthe room at 4pm, I realized that the room was not as big as it was described in Thistle website. It was more like a standard twin room. The evening staff appeared to understand my concern and promised to address the issue next morning. The morning staff insisted that room 302 is a deluxe room with a sitting area. I leave it to Expedia quality surveyors to find out who was right. One cannot set or control the temperature of the room. The wash basin did not have a mixer. The breakfast was average, not extraordinary as suggested by previous reviews. The front desk printer was out of order for the three days I was there!!!! It seems that the hotel did not have a bachup
3 out of 5
by Jane

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.
Cons: Plumbing was problematic. Restaurant very disappointing - extremely over priced for poor quality.
Location: Good views
Facilities: Run-down; Value: Unreasonable; Service: Sufficient; Informed staff of problems & received token recompense by way of late check out & restaurant discount
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Australia - NSW - Newcastle

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Parking available on site, close to tube stations or stroll through gorgeous hyde park
Cons: Bathroom a little dated and shower leaked
Staff were excellent !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geelong australia

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Rooms were spacious for the deluxe room..beds were quite firm..not to my taste.. bathroom was a bit worn out and a bit of a problem... restaurant had fantastic food. It was great access for hyde park straight across the road. Clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
by Huw from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower water pressure horrible
5 out of 5
by Clive from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Wotif
Cons: My wife left some shoes behind yet when contacted on same day housekeeping had no record of finding them
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Fantastic; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Pristine;
4 out of 5
by George from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Heritage style building and decor & next to Hyde park
Cons: Building upgrades
Location: Just right
Facilities: Modest; Value: Economical; Service: Polite; Cleanliness: Pleasant;
5 out of 5
by LYNN from Australia - TAS - Launceston

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly efficient staff, excellent room, great breakfast, location
Cons: All good
5 out of 5
by Peter from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Location to transport and city
Cons: Hot water took 10 plus to get through because of age of building
Location: Wonderful
Facilities: Distinctive; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spick and span; good service and help from staff
4 out of 5
by Robert from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Location - easy to get to from airport, and access to tourist sights great
Cons: Checkin and checkout
Location: central
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Moderate; Service: Amateur; staff seemed very inexperienced, and at checkout refused to provide a receipt. Unbelievable.