Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Perfect for a night away from home

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Clean Comfortable. Very helpful staff.
Cons: No - don't change anything
Location: Well I was able to walk along Balls Pond Road and catch a bus to Brick Lane to meet my friends for a memorable meal.
This was again an unfussy and unpretentious but perfectly comfortable hotel near wherever I needed to go in Islington and further South. If you know the bus routes it is absolutely spot on, so I would have appreciated a London Bus Map.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Unfussy, modest, affordable hotel in good location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Comfortable Bed. Healthy breakfast.
Cons: Chair in the room.
Location: About a mile North of the Angel on Essex Road and just under a mile from Islington and Highbury. Buses every few minutes to literally anywhere more
This is the third of my stays in this hotel and I found it more convenient than ever because the new Oyster card system on buses made it easy and cheap to step outside the hotel and catch buses to the centre of London. My small single room was clean and comfortable, ideal for someone who needs somewhere to sleep whilst visiting friends and central London attractions. The new oyster card system charges £1.45 for any bus ride. There is no need to tell the driver your destination and at the moment there is a cap of £4.50 after which all travel is free! Contactless payment cards work too, but there is no cap on them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good holiday - ok just for sleep

Posted Jul 5, 2014
ARRIVAL: We arrived at 2am ... reception ... ceck in practice very fast ... we just got in the room ROOM: not very big but fine if you just need to sleep ... carpet on the floor ... window that overlooks the main road with absolutely no special noise or disturbance bathroom ... small but comfortable ... we always had hot water .. . beds a bit uncomfortable as too low compared with Italian bedding seems to sleep on the ground .... BREAKFAST: I did not like as very poor ... yogurt, bread, cereal, milk, coffee and juice and fruit .... after the first two days you are sick ... but to say good-quality HOTEL LOCATION: very comfortable ... the night bus leaves from Victoria Station, right in front of the reception desk in the morning ... you can reach the metro ANGEL in 12 minutes on foot or 3/4 metro coaches .... TIP: if you find some good deals I recommend this hotel ... but no more than 50 euro a night .... it's already a good figure ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
clean and tidy, spacious room, would definitely stop in this hotel again.Breakfast started early enough so we could eat before work.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very rude. I didn't feel welcomed at all.
3 out of 5
by james from dublin

Tommy miah's

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Wouldn't stay there again. Hote looked liked the pictures
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by TLM80 from UK

Perfect location for my needs

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I read trip reviews before booking, so knew to expect a small single room with very little room to move around but that was fine with me as I only needed a place for a quick shower and to sleep. The man on reception was friendly when I arrived and when I called the day before to ask if I could drop my bag off in the morning there was no hesitation in them saying yes. If you are looking for a basic, comfortable bed for the night, then it's just right and there are some great pubs within walking distance. I would go back as it was cheap and cheerful and other London hotels were too expensive for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mul

1 Night Stopover !

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: Plenty of buses will get you into central London, or just down the road to Angel. Lots of restaurants there, and pubs....
Needed to stay in Islington, and this hotel was affordable and in a good location to where I wanted to be. It is a 2/3 star hotel/Bnb, nothing more. Paid £75 for the night, and wouldn't pay any more than that. This place doesn't really have much competition, so it gets away with charging more than what it is worth. A quick night stopover is fine for this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John and Jen from NZ

Very nice hotel, excellent staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and cleanliness.
Cons: For value, nothing.
Location: The easy access to bus routes and taxi were what we needed. Plenty of local shops for anything you needed.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room and plenty of hot water. Lovely breakfast. All pleasant and very clean. Very good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no hotel to stay

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything can be imrpoved.
no hospitality. No contact with staff. Furniture in rooms was own made . Looked terrible, constuction was bad. Breakfast was very simple, no staff involded to help.