Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very convenient and good place to stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Enjoyed the convenience of a location close to central London with quick access to the airport. Comfortable room with helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from New Jersey, USA

Great location in quiet neighborhood

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet neighborhood = excellent breakfast
Cons: Perfect the way it is.
Location: Ten Minute walk to subway at Victoria Station which connect to many lines of the TUBE.
Enjoyed stay at Tophams Hotel in London. Very quiet neighborhood, excellent stay and great rooms (small but typical of Europe). Breakfast was a feast each morning served by a courteous staff. Just a few blocks from Buckingham Palace and easy 10 minute walk from Victoria Station. Have stayed at many locations during trips to London over the years. This location is best by far because it is situated in a quiet, clean, safe area. I enjoyed the peacefulness each evening after a long sightseeing day.
1 out of 5
by fee from scotland

would avoid at all costs

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: the only thing good about it was the location
Cons: close it down and spend time on it . Listen to the guests complaints instead of arguing with them.
Location: Buckingham Palace and Westminster are approx 20 mins walk
we had booked and paid for in full through Expedia months ago and had printed off all the required paperwork. When we checked in we were TOLD that we would be getting the continental breakfast, after paying for the "full English breakfast" I replied to the "person" what i had paid for and that i had all paperwork to prove it, the room was filthy, the bathroom was a health risk, the door didn`t lock properly, the breakfast was something else, not a hotel that i would advise anyone to book into.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from Greece

Perfect

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Great hotel overall -friendly and helpful staff, beautifully furnished and comfortable rooms, close to Victoria station
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Unfriendly Hotel with poor English

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Location: Great location
Not a nice place to stay unfriendly and expensive when asked if I could borrow an umbrella they told me to go and buy one. The room I stayed in leaked water from the ceiling and the next room had only hot water coming out of both taps. Went in early one day to find cleaner looking in my bag. The only good thing about the hotel was the coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by reuben from North shields

Great location for taking in the sights

Posted Jun 5, 2014
On arrival a few things weren't in the room, after speaking to reception they sent a lad straight up with them. Every thing was within walking distance a good choice for the sights very close to the train and coach station. Very quiet will use again ;-)
2 out of 5
by Traveling from Oslo, Norway

Misrepresentation Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: location, breakfast staff was pleasant
Cons: New realistic rating & tandem pricing. New responsive staff. Properly prepped rooms upon arrival, not having to make requests after the fact.
Location: Victoira Station& Westminter area, lots of contruction,even transport, but lots of sites, museums, restaurants, cafes, stores, parks, even 2 theaters.
After many years from two continents of good Expedia usage, this trip's flight and hotel were BAD, BAD. Tophams is NOT 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. It is in a convenient location near Victoria Station but it is a run down establishment with non-professional staff, especially at the front desk (breakfast staff was nice). If the hotel had been honest with a lower rating and honest shabby chic (furniture gone past expiration dates, moldy elevator and certain hallways, cracked toilet bowl, loose knobs, twice having to request for complimentary soap and shampoo, remote control not working, poor room lighting), and at lower price then it might have worked, but NOTHING near a 4 star. The rude recptionists were exceptionally rude and it was across the board to all guests --- an indifference and excuses for faulty facets. Also, the hotel did not respond to emails even when Expedia gave me a new email to use before the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Nice size room .
Cons: Our room could use a new mattress .
Location: All you want to see in London , is very close.
Good. Been to London previously on many occasion. First time we got a decent size room .
1 out of 5
by Todd from Zurich

Terrible hotel close to Victoria station

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
After checking the pictures and reading the reviews I decided to give this hotel a chance and booked a single room for 2 nights. First of all I was escorted by hotel stuff few meters down the road to another entrance and probably that's where all the terrible rooms are :) So make sure that your room will be somewhere close to the reception, otherwise you will end up in the same room. The room was very small, with a small single bed and very uncomfortable mattress, walls in some places were covered with mold, the bathroom was as small as a closet, was difficult to move around there, the balcony door wasn't locking properly, and the balcony is connected with the neighboring rooms, so if you have something valuable doesn't feel secure to leave your stuff in the room. Anyway, I'm happy that I had to stay only 2 nights there.
2 out of 5
by Pat from Maryland

I would not recommend this hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: Replace the rude, incompetent desk clerk.
Location: Close to Victoria Station & Buckingham Palace.
Our room had a view of a dirty courtyard that was used for storage. The recently renovated bathroom was very nice. We informed the desk clerk that our television remote did not work the day we arrived. Five days and three reminders later, we still did not have a working remote. After a day sightseeing, we returned to our room to find the door ajar. Apparently the hotel maid left the door open for several hours by mistake. When I complained to the desk clerk (same person who I talked to about the remote) she immediately developed an attitude and did her best to ignore me for the remainder of my stay. This desk clerk also offered various/changing explanations as to why we could not print boarding passes, tickets, etc. on the hotel printer. Other desk clerks were friendly. Breakfast was average but the restaurant staff was wonderful.