Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Aberdeen

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Style and welcoming staff!
Location: Great location. Easy access to tourist sights, shopping and lots of cafés and restaurants close by.
Only stayed one night in London and enjoyed the W Hotel. Staff were very helpful from the minute we entered, and our room was spotless, more spacious than we expected and cleverly set out. Enjoyed a light lunch in the lounge. There was a bit of noise outside during the night, but really, what would you expect in Leicester Square! We would certainly stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cohen from Hong Kong

W as usual, but little issues...

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location - very very convenient Staff - all of them with good manners and very nice to everyone Bed - not bad at all and the duvet is good
Cons: Shower room - serious attention please... Noise from it's club/bar - at 3rd floor which is all the way upto 1:30am...
Location: In the middle of Leicester Square, walking distance to Regent Street, Convert Garden, China Town and tube station
Staff is nice, hotel is nice as usual, very chic. Location is fine, bang in the middle of Leicester Square, walking distance to tube station, Regent street, China town and multiple of theatres. We went to the cafe for a high tea, which was very nice too. Cleaniness is fine, and decoration / bed etc is good. However, we had our first night room locate on the 3rd Floor, and the noise from below club / bar was very very noisy. The hotel may think everyone should have went out partying but in fact they need to address this very quickly as the noise is so loud that I cant hear the TV at volume almost 40%-50%... Complaint about this over the phone but me and my wife were too tired to pack and change to a different room, so told them not to bother and just get back to me next day at noon. The manager called and addressed the issue next day ringing to the room at prompt noon, and offer another room at 6th Floor. Same type of room and no more noise at night... However the shower room really need some attention, the shower and dream shower are okay. However the way they try to block water leaking out from the door is tedious, just a towel placed on the floor which is as flat as the shower floor. So that towel will get wet, and if you are having the second shower right after, then the first step you're in is a wet towel.. and when you step out, it's literally your room... Serious attention the hotel should be aware of...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by valeria from São Paulo, Brazil

Great hotel, staff very friendly but no free wi fi

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: the room is very spacious, the location and the staff (the concierge most of the times manages to book the best restaurants with short notice)
Cons: Internet
Location: it´s in a very crowded and turistical area but very close to metro stations and important sights
I really like this hotel, it´s close to metro stations but it´s unacceptable that it doesn´t offer free wi fi for its guests, specially with its rates. If you want wi fi you either pay a lot for an hour or day or have to go to the lounge. that´s too annoying.
1 out of 5
by jenn from San Rafael, CA

Stay here if you dont want to get any sleep

Posted Feb 22, 2014
My 13 year old daughter and I were in London for a week and split up our lodging so we would stay in 3 different parts of the city. We picked the W so we could spend our last day and evening in style. While the location and physical building were fun, modern and clean, the rest of everything else was a complete disappointment. Actually beyond disappointment. Really, it was an infuriating place to stay. The bed was so uncomfortable and hard it was almost impossible to get comfortable. But that didn't matter because we were on the same floor as the nightclub that had loud, pulsating music reverberating through the walls, floor, ceiling and the slab that they offered as the bed. Being placed on this floor was insulting after requesting a quiet non-smoking room (they claimed we requested a smoking room and I had to argue with the receptionist that we had NOT) as we were flying out the next morning and with an 11 hour flight we needed a good night's sleep. I called the desk at 1:20 am and asked when the music would stop (the phone rang 43 times before someone answered) and was told that the bar closed at 1:30. While that may have been true the nightclub didn't close until 4:00 a.m.!!!!! Upon checking out the receptionist's only offer of apology for this rotten stay was to give me her business card and suggesting that I contact her directly next time in booking my reservation. I assured her that I would never stay at the W London again and politely declined taking her card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kyu from Palos Verdes Estates, CA

Pros and cons

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the hotel for a week and everything was perfect, especially the location and the service. However, there was a couple of things that bothered me. There was no tub in the bathroom, the handwash station is in the middle of the room, the shower didn't drain properly, and it sometimes gets too loud during the middle of the night. There was also a false alarm that woke up everyone at 4AM during the middle of the night. Didn't really expect this. Sometimes they're trying maybe a bit *too hard to be on the cutting edge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from UK

Very Nice but...

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The W London is a very nice hotel and we had a nice stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was modern, clean and comfortable and the location is very very desirable. However, i can't help but think that this place is overpriced. There's really just not much to it. The towels weren't great - not what you would expect for 5 stars. I'd say that this Hotel was trendy and chic and that's what you're paying for. I tend to want to get value for money. I think the W fell a bit short and I have reasonable expectations - I'm not terribly demanding. Again, there wasn't much wrong with the W (other than the poor quality towels) but the price left me feeling a bit taken. That being said, I have stayed in other W properties and been completely blown away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Malaysia

Location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Overall is excellent. The room got bad smell maybe from the wash room where ventilation not so good. Toiletries not replace regularly. I will stay again if back to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by james from los angeles, ca

Hip hotel (for better n worse) in a great location

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Location! Hotel design! Great bar in hotel! Comfy bed! Bliss products! complimentary coffee/tea (before 8am)
Cons: Free wifi in rooms (or less than 30GBP a day)! Cleaner sheets!
The W is a very modern hip n cool hotel in a great location. The entire hotel has a great sleek modern design with thought given to all the little details and it's a W so it's no bargain. It's an easy walk to the many sights, museums, stores, restaurants, bars (Soho, Piccadilly, Leicester Square with others a short walking distance) and a nearby tube stop. The Wonderful Room decent sized and design is a little funky with the sink/desk in the main area but was nicely appointed (bliss products! soft bed with high thread count sheets! but no real separate bathroom). The sheets weren't clean when we checked in but they sent someone up right away to change. Also, remember it's in a busy neighborhood and there's a bar in the hotel (which guests can always get into) so it can get loud late at night outside on weekend. The staff was hit or miss: some were friendly (housekeeping, daytime wait staff) front desk) and some had a bit of an attitude (some concierge, bar staff at night). The doormen definitely pushed hard to use their car to the airport (don't believe them - it's cheap and easy to take Heathrow Express or to pre-book your own taxi about GBP50). There's only free wifi in the lounge when many hotels in London provide free wifi in rooms.