Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by jenn from San Rafael, CA

Stay here if you dont want to get any sleep

Posted Feb 22, 2014
My 13 year old daughter and I were in London for a week and split up our lodging so we would stay in 3 different parts of the city. We picked the W so we could spend our last day and evening in style. While the location and physical building were fun, modern and clean, the rest of everything else was a complete disappointment. Actually beyond disappointment. Really, it was an infuriating place to stay. The bed was so uncomfortable and hard it was almost impossible to get comfortable. But that didn't matter because we were on the same floor as the nightclub that had loud, pulsating music reverberating through the walls, floor, ceiling and the slab that they offered as the bed. Being placed on this floor was insulting after requesting a quiet non-smoking room (they claimed we requested a smoking room and I had to argue with the receptionist that we had NOT) as we were flying out the next morning and with an 11 hour flight we needed a good night's sleep. I called the desk at 1:20 am and asked when the music would stop (the phone rang 43 times before someone answered) and was told that the bar closed at 1:30. While that may have been true the nightclub didn't close until 4:00 a.m.!!!!! Upon checking out the receptionist's only offer of apology for this rotten stay was to give me her business card and suggesting that I contact her directly next time in booking my reservation. I assured her that I would never stay at the W London again and politely declined taking her card.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Malaysia

Location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Overall is excellent. The room got bad smell maybe from the wash room where ventilation not so good. Toiletries not replace regularly. I will stay again if back to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by james from los angeles, ca

Hip hotel (for better n worse) in a great location

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Location! Hotel design! Great bar in hotel! Comfy bed! Bliss products! complimentary coffee/tea (before 8am)
Cons: Free wifi in rooms (or less than 30GBP a day)! Cleaner sheets!
The W is a very modern hip n cool hotel in a great location. The entire hotel has a great sleek modern design with thought given to all the little details and it's a W so it's no bargain. It's an easy walk to the many sights, museums, stores, restaurants, bars (Soho, Piccadilly, Leicester Square with others a short walking distance) and a nearby tube stop. The Wonderful Room decent sized and design is a little funky with the sink/desk in the main area but was nicely appointed (bliss products! soft bed with high thread count sheets! but no real separate bathroom). The sheets weren't clean when we checked in but they sent someone up right away to change. Also, remember it's in a busy neighborhood and there's a bar in the hotel (which guests can always get into) so it can get loud late at night outside on weekend. The staff was hit or miss: some were friendly (housekeeping, daytime wait staff) front desk) and some had a bit of an attitude (some concierge, bar staff at night). The doormen definitely pushed hard to use their car to the airport (don't believe them - it's cheap and easy to take Heathrow Express or to pre-book your own taxi about GBP50). There's only free wifi in the lounge when many hotels in London provide free wifi in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Nothing - But it is not targeted at me. I was just in the wrong hotel.
Cons: Lights in room tripped and was hard to switch off the lights.
If you are 21 with a sugar Daddy or from Manchester and like glitz this is the hotel for you. This hotel is great if you are a clubber as the hotel turns into a nightclub. However if you want a more civilised hotel offering peace and quiet I would suggest you stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from Bedfordshire

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Excellent location in leicester square. Great staff, beautiful room with the wow factor, can't wait to book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anita from birmingham

5 star experience

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Great one night stay at this hotel. Truly felt like we were in a 5 star establishment. Loved the funky modern feel of the hotel. Only few issues was that the flush in the toilet wasn't functioning properly however, upon check out our mini bar tab was waived as a sorry which was much appreciated. Also, hotel guests didn't appear to get priority in the bar but still a great atmosphere. Can't wait to stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location but room fixtures are old

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
fantastic location, great service, but some fixtures in the room are not maintained. level 1 rooms are not sound proof, you can hear the shutting of the doors from other rooms in the middle of the night. music from the lounge can also be heard. try getting higher floors.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Florian from Miami, FL

Awful service - probably the worst W hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Having visited many W hotels including Miami, L.A., NYC, Paris and Fort Lauderdale, I'm used to the hip, pretentious and unfriendly service these properties typically come with. The London location takes the cake: none of the staff member I came to interact with provided anything remotely resembling satisfactory service. 1 – the several bellhop / valet guys standing around blankly stared at us unload our luggage off the taxi without lifting a finger 2 – the front desk person seemed disturbed by our mere presence, did not greet us whatsoever, was unhelpful on all questions I asked -unprofessional on all fronts. 3 – The cocktail waitresses in the lobby bar were as pleasant as a warden 4 – Anytime you try to get back into the hotel, the “friendly” door staff will ask you for proof that you are staying in the hotel (never seen that in ANY high-end hotel around the world). If you are looking to get good value for your money, you are better off blowing your cash at the next-door M&M’S store. DO NOT stay at this hotel unless you enjoy being treated as if you do not belong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeremy from New York City

Emphasis on hipness, not on service

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I will never stay near Leicester Square, which has become like Times Square in New York, again. The hotel property is sleek and designed for hipness, but unless you are interested in partying 24/7 this may not be the place for you. My first room was right above the hotel bar and when I came back form dinner the "thumpa thumpa" of the bar was more than audible in my room. I was able to moved, but I was told this is rare. Housekeeping had not cleaned my room by 4:30pm and only did so once I requested it. That said, this does have one of the better-equipped hotel gyms I have encountered.