Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paradise Valley, Arizona

IRISH COUNTRY ELEGANCE

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The quiet elegance and comfort of a secluded country house.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Giants Causeway is an hour and a half away, the eighth wonder of the natural world.
The relaxed elegance of an authentic country house set on exquisite grounds is what you can expect. Beech Hill's legacy includes three visiting US presidents and many dignitaries, so you're in good company. Reception, lounge and dining room staff create a warm friendly Irish welcome without pretence. Spacious rooms are decorated in period style with good beds, fluffy down comforters and modern baths. Tasteful decor prevails throughout without any vestige of plastic. The dining room offers an uncontrived menu and well prepared meals. The lounge with its many couches, comfortable chairs and graceful fireplaces is a great spot for tea, a pint, even an Irish coffee made with real cream. Beech Hill is a favorite place to roll back the calendar to a less hurried time. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from san marcos, ca

Awesome stay!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Unfortunately, we could only stay one night! We were impressed by the scenery, staff and cleanliness of the hotel...it had a nice country feel to it as well. Next time we are in Derry we will definitely come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phoosh from Tennessee

Wonderful in EVERY way!

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The number of accessible electric outlets in the rooms if you have a computer.
Location: Isolated, so just walk the trails!!
This is a beautiful country house/hotel. First, I was a bit lost, so the receptionist "talked" me all the way there on the phone. Then, when we arrived, we were upgraded to a master suite with amazing amenities such as a parlor and huge bedroom and bath plus walk-in closet. Restaurant was very good; servers were reasonably attentive. The grounds had a number of trails, one of which we walked, highlighting the Marine training base established before the US entered WWII.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Avril from London

Pleasant, historical country house hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly and attentive. Excellent breakfast. Interesting museum on site
Cons: Decor a little tired. Not all rooms accessible by a lift Poor water pressure in room at top of the house. Tea making facilities in bedrooms.
Location: Lovely location and close to attractive historical walled city. Visit Donegal for wonderful scenery and beaches Giants Causeway/Causeway Coast
Stayed here overnight as recommended by my mother and sister who live nearby. Lovely grounds and comfortable hotel. Enjoyed the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mik4el from Leeds

Presidential

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel-will book next time I am in Derry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter H from Sale

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was excellent, food in the restaurant excellent and location was great. Will be staying again on my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Doug from Belfast

A place apart

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful grounds & relaxed feel from welcome at reception, coffee by the fire & the homely feel of the bedroom. £5 in taxi to city for dinner & drinks. Have eaten in restaurant before & great food & wines. The interior of the house is old worldly, going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by K

WORTH A VISIT

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful place to unwind. Food top class Service and staff excellent Highly recommend for a break. Intend to return sooner than later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Country House hotel with modern 4 star rooms. Clean, well maintained with a friendly staff. Food was excellent.