Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Sketchy hotel located in industrial neighborhood

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The decor, the cleanliness, the smells
Location: The neighborhood was sketchy. There is nothing nearby to do. There are a couple of restaurants next to the hotel
We planned an overnight trip to New York City to catch a show at Carnegie Hall. The hotel was about 4 miles away from the hall. Upon arrival to the hotel, we did not like the location. There were no restaurants nearby, the subway was far, and the neighborhood was very industrial. When we walked into the hotel to check in, the lobby smelled like smoke. The lady that checked us in was not particularly pleasant, but that wasn't my biggest concern at the moment. The hotel is dated and fits right in with the sketchy neighborhood that it is located in. I was nervous. Our room wasn't ready so we decided to walk to the subway, or so we thought. The lady at the front desk said that it was a short walk. The printed directions were very unclear and we were not comfortable walking in the neighborhood. They provide a shuttle to the subway, but you can only use it once a day. When we finally got into our room 2 hours later. The elevator smelled gross. Housekeeping was still cleaning, we immediately noticed excessive water damage on the walls, peeling wallpaper, and very dated furniture. The shower was dirty. In the morning, there was a hot breakfast offered, but again the breakfast room was sketchy and I did not want to eat the food, in fear that I would get sick. We would never stay at the hotel again. We will never stay at another Best Western. We would never recommend the hotel or Best Western to anyone. We were extremely disappointed, disgusted, and disturbed with our experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel was little old but clean, spacious. Liked the staff and the overall condition. The only thing that I personally didn't like was the location of the hotel, but considering the price the hotel is good and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

One-night was great

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Affordable Close to the metro Clean Large rooms Free breakfast Free parking Decent area Nice view of the city from the street
Cons: Staff attitude?
Location: Decent location, but might be a little scary for some. Close to the metro. The only "thing to do" that we know of is the cemetery, but may be more
We spent one night in the area and it was fine. We walked the roughly 1.5 miles to and from the metro (A line) frequently, even at night and we were in no danger. The area immediately surrounding the place seems a little sketchy, but it's really just industrial/commercial. Once you walk the 2-3 blocks and pass residential areas they are quite nice, actually. What's nice, however, is that you don't HAVE to walk; the hotel offers a free taxi to-and-from the metro between 8am (I think?) and 10 pm. There's a beautiful cemetery immediately across the main street from the hotel. The room was spacious for the price, and very clean, which one may not expect because the exterior of the building is a little older and rough-around-the-edges. Free parking! Always a plus. And we got lucky to have a view of my car from the window. My ONLY complaint about the place is that the woman who checked me in gave me a really unpleasant look every time I asked a question (like "should I park in front or in back?", "Which direction is the metro", "What time is check out?"), but the other staff I encountered were all perfectly fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Alright

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were just staying for an overnight in the city. The front desk lady was very rude to us the entire time we were there. The room was clean but paint falling off the walls and the rest of the hotel was run down. When we used the shuttle to pick us up from the subway it was a 45 minute wait and they picked us up in an unmarked car with the driver having no best western identification.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Smoky Odor

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a cheap choice, so i was not expecting the best but it could have been better. very dirty because of smoking odor on the hall ways. encountered with very scary people in the hotel and i didn't want to leave my wife alone in elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel from philly

Nice overall place

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff. check in fast. great food two doors down the street. neat architecture on the outside of building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for visiting graves at Calvary Cemetery.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Room with a view. Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean.
Cons: Cleaner windows.
Location: Visit the lovely chapel in the cemetery. Just go down the cemetery entrance near the hotel (take a left in front of the hotel to get to the entrance.
Quite satisfactory. I visited graves at Calvary Cemetery. I always have trouble adjusting hotel air conditioners to adjust them to a comfortable temp. I had a room with a view of the Manhattan skyline which I enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Toronto, ON

Convenient hotel for visiting Manhattan

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Free parking, free breakfast, good location.
Cons: Bathrooms seemed old. Mattresses old as well.
Location: Nothing much near by of interest, but could get to subway easily, so that was a plus.
Hotel was a 15 minute walk to the subway and had a free shuttle to the subway as well that you could use once per day. Rooms were okay, clean and suitable for sleeping. Free breakfast was pretty decent. I'd recommend a King bed rather than a double. They don't have Queen beds apparently. Staff was accommodating and didn't have any issues there. Overall, not fancy, but good location for getting to the downtown and the free parking was a plus. The walk to the subway was through what seemed like a good neighborhood, so no issues there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr. Aitch from NE CT

Good value

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Accommodating staff - nice spacious room and a decent breakfast - elevator frequently reeks of smoke but staff will spray upon request. Provides mediocre shuttle service to elevated subway stop which is better than none.