Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Very good hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Had a nice experience at this hotel. It is value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Hotel shame about the Breakfast

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and room comfort
Cons: Breakfast facilities need significant upgrade
Location: Good location close to the F line Metro which takes you to Manhattan within a couple of stops and though the area looks run down it is safe
Good location close to the F line Metro. Staff helpful and room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the only let down, with disposable plates and cutlery, cold scrambled eggs, and significant overcrowding no matter what time you get up. Staff working hard to clear the tables and replenish, but there is simply not enough room even with the second area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

A value for money option close to Manhattan

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location, value for money
Cons: In need of some redecoration.
Location: The neighbourhood is not smart but it's easy to get to Manhattan
This is a difficult hotel to review because its location is both its best and worst feature. It is much cheaper than Manhattan and you can be in Manhattan quickly as the subway is very close by. If you feel energetic you can walk across the Queensboro bridge (it takes about 25 minutes) and have lovely views of the Manhattan skyline. However, the neighbourhood looks rather alarming - although we did not actually encounter any problems even though we walked everywhere. The hotel, although the rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable, is showing signs of wear and tear. Overall I would recommend it as being preferable to paying ridiculous Manhattan hotel prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beware the parking

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Cons: The breakfast. The hot food was terrible.
An extr $25 to park and you can't park a truck in the lot. You need a small car to use their lot. The staff was kind enough to let me park in front of the hotel as my Chevy silverado would not fit in the lot behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Staff at front desk know their city

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Close subway station to go to tourist attractions
Every time we had a questions they were able to assist us from places to go, best way to get there and good nearby food places. Really helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel for the price, close to subway.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and nicely maintained. All front desk staff were courteous, professional, and very helpful. About 15 minutes to LaGuardia by taxi.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast was decent, and very popular. Seating was a problem at peak times. No rooftop terrace (unlike the Sleep Inn right next door).
Location: This part of Long Island City has some surprisingly good restaurants and bars, but mostly 20 minutes walk from the hotel.
For the price, relative to hotels in Manhattan, this is an excellent hotel, but the immediate surrounding neighborhood is industrial and somewhat grim. Two (short) blocks to the F subway line. At this writing (September 2014), the F line and M line are one direction at weekends -- check the MTA website before you start traveling if you're using public transport. The WiFi was fine for email and it looked like there was a port for wired connection. TV channel selection was curiously limited. There is no place to get toiletries or medications near the hotel -- there is a corner store, but they mostly sell snacks and drinks; if you're a lean flier with a late checkin, you need to think what you can live without. Front desk staff can provide toothpaste, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Handy hotel for travel to Manhattan

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It was what we expected from a Best Western city hotel.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: It was a two minute walk from the F subway which was handy for getting to and from Manhatten and Coney Island. Two stops would take you to 2nd Avenue.
The hotel was a standard Best Western city hotel. It was clean and bright. The staff were helping in giving advice. It was two subway stops from 2nd Avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel with easy access to Manhattan

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Value for money hotel with v easy access to Manhattan. We had no worries about walking in the area. twice we turned left out of the hotel and walked for 15-20 mins to a good diner. Breakfast area is too small but food content is good compared to many other US hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Value for money hotel with convenient location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Free wifi, breakfast and convenient location
Location: Maybe try to beautify the surroundings a little more.
Stayed for 6 nights from 6-12 Sept 2014. Convenient location, 2 blocks from Metro station, under 10 mins to Manhattan on subway. Friendly helpful staff at front desk. Best of all, free wifi, free breakfast (pancakes were yummy!) and free parking on streets in front of hotel. Clean rooms and nice lobby area. Only downside is the location/ neighbourhood may appear a little dodgy, especially at night but my wife and I never had any safety issues. Overall, a good hotel with great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

cosy and comfortable

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: That it was comfortable, provided a good breakfast each morning, there is no fuss, staff are laid back. a fuss free place to stay.
Cons: remove the traffic!! ...nothing i can think of.
Location: it is close to transport links,a few stops away from central park and manhatten. you can use the bus or metro, buy a metro card (its $30 for a week)
I stayed with my sisters in a large double room. there was enough space and we enjoyed our stay. any requests were met by staff but really we had everything we needed. there are shops near the hotel so we bought drinks from there, but there are vending machines in the hotel, for snacks and drinks. we were happy to return to this quiet area from busy manhatten or wherever else our adventures took us for the day or night. traffic is pretty noisy in the day and it starts early but when the windows are closed you cant hear it as much. enjoy your stay if you decide to stay at Best Western.