Ratings based on 818 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Sabrina from Atlanta

STAY AWAY! Very Disappointed!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing!!
Cons: Employees attitudes, bigger breakfast area, newer appliances, ice machines that work etc...
Location: One block from Queens Plaza sub station - nothing to do until you get into the city - about a 10 min sub ride.
we arrived to the hotel around Noon because we had an early flight arrival. When we got to the hotel we asked if they had an area where we could put our luggage, NO room or closet, if you want to leave your luggage you will have to leave it with everyone else's luggage in the SMALL hotel lobby. You just have to trust that everyone will be honest and not take a bag that doesn't belong to them. There are 8 floors with ice machines on each floor; the only ice machine that works (or that is turned on) is on the 1st floor - VERY INCONVENIENT! Our TV in our room did not work - had to call the desk for them to send someone up to fix it. The hairdryer in our bathroom did not work; we called the front desk and they said they would send someone at 10am or we could use the smoking hairdryer in our room - after we complained that we had 3 women in the room with wet hair - they finally sent up the maintenance man and he installed a new dryer BUT before he left he managed to steal an inexpensive (but special) necklace from us lying on the bathroom counter. By the time we noticed it missing it was too late - didn't see him the rest of the weekend. There's no good time to go to breakfast - very little food for the amount of guest that come through - and it wasn't good at all. The waffle batter was always empty and so many people there -- was not enough food or dining space to accommodate everyone. I will pay a little extra for kindness and courtesy somewhere else. DO NOT STAY HERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terry from Lincoln, England

Handy for central New York.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Staff were very good.
Cons: Need a bigger kitchen area.
Location: Very handy for the metro and all things in Manhattan.
Everything was excellent but breakfast was very busy and one had to queue a lot for a table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Minneapolis MN

Un-New York a subway stop from Manhattan

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Value in relation to cost.
Cons: More varied breakfast. (I stayed nine days and had almost the same thing every day.)
Location: There is nothing to do nearby. One will take a subway (just three minutes away) for all ventures, including meals.
This hotel could be anywhere. It offers a comfortable room of impressive dimensions and a rather bland breakfast (included) in a nondescript neighborhood that is starting to sprout as a residential area for Manhattan commuters. For those who can cope with lots of steps and overcrowded subway trains, it is an easy commute across the river to Manhattan. All at a price that would be hard to beat for something this good on Manhattan itself. For those who want a more authentic New York experience, avoid. But for those who do New York all day and then want to come back to a hotel just to crash, why spend more?
2 out of 5
by S from Seattle

Do Not Disturb

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: decent view of NY skyline
Cons: Do not come into room when Do Not Disturb sign is on door.
Location: There is no where to park. There was a nice pizza place a block and a half from the hotel.
Had Do Not Disturb sign on door and the staff still came into room to clean room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Seattle

Fine hotel in middle of nowhere, but near subways

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Price was good. Not in the tourist areas but good subway access back to Manhattan.
Cons: Hotel was a bit scuffed up, but it was nothing major and expected for the price point.
Location: Nothing to do nearby, a few small delis and a dunkin doughnuts are your dining options basically. Easy subway ride in to Manhattan though.
Long Island City consists of a giant Citi building, some new condos and a whole lot of nothing. The hotel itself is relatively new and still in reasonably good shape. It was certainly nothing special but the price was good and while some things were a bit scuffed up I would say it was in comparable physical condition to the midtown Hilton which I stayed at a few months earlier. Subway stations fairly nearby make it easy enough to get into Manhattan in about 10-15 minutes, so if you're not there on business (and not afraid to not be in Kansas anymore) it is a fine alternative. Was there for the Super Bowl weekend and it worked great for not being in the Times Square mess. Only complaint is that walls seemed to be a bit thin, as it was the first time ever at a hotel that I heard the couple in the adjacent room having a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Feb 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee

Nice hotel close to the city.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Very helpful staff, kind of a shady part of town, but the hotel itself was great. Clean, great breakfast, and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Atlanta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sonia

avrage

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just blocks away from train station staff was helpful. Parking lot is just around the block. Over all not bad