Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected More

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: The valets could be more professional. The furniture could be better maintained.
Location: The hotel was in an industrial area. Very dark and deserted at night.
Online the hotel listed "free parking". Parking lot held about 15 vehicles, it was filled to overflowing. Young men were there who announced themselves at valet's, I didn't trust them. Late at night I parked two blocks away. The sofa had burn wholes in it. Furniture was scratched. I was uncomfortable there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Paid additional fee for breakfast that didnt exist

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Water leak, uneven floors. Not worth the price. I had to request a room cleaning. This was not performed as a daily duty. The assigned waiter mixed my orders several times. First and final stay at this establishment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
stayed in room 206- it was ok until the roof top disco (floor 6) started its music that did not end until 4 am- needless to say, it was hard to get much sleep with the music reverberating throughout the hotel-
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room with mold in carpet

Posted Jul 17, 2014
I paid 180 for a room that was old beat up and noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williams

Fantastic stay, hotel staff very professional.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Absolutely fantastic we were very happy. We will stay here again 9n our next trip to NYC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

No, no, no, no, no, no

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Neighborhood is not family friendly, to get to restraurants or places of interest takes significant time and money. Under construction and view was nothing like pics. There is no way I would let my family stay there knowing we would be out after dark, especially with children. Seemed to cater to rooftop parties. Room was ok, the privacy between bathroom and beds was a slide out petition so you could hear every fart made. We stayed 30 minutes, then moved to hotel in downtown area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KenandBarb from Hatfield UK

Ace in Queens

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, spacious, well run, attentive. We really could not fault this hotel. We were very happy to have stayed there.
Cons: They are doing a big expansion at present which entails some daytime noise and a bit of dust sheeting here and there. Due to complete later this year
Location: The local subway stations serve a number of lines into Manhattan (just one stop !) and to the airport. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle
Booked this on-line after reading encouraging reviews. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track and our cab from JFK got slightly lost. (The hotel have a laminated card for guests with precise taxi directions) We had a large ground floor room with a couch as well as a double bed. It was quite quiet although we kept the blind down at night as there is a sidewalk passing the window. The local area is a bit grungy but we felt quite safe as we walked to and from the subway (We are in our 70's) The room was well appointed and comfortable with adequate storage space and a very roomy bathroom albeit in an unusual layout. The absolute highlight of any stay at the Ravel is the rooftop. The restaurant is good (but not cheap) and the view is just fantastic. You see the whole Manhattan skyline across the East River. The rooftop is also set up as a night spot with disco lights and we saw guests arriving on most evenings. We didn't try it out ourselves though and it wasn't in any way intrusive. They also serve breakfast there - again what a setting ! The breakfast is very good - cereal, yoghourt, eggs, bacon, toast ,juice, coffee, tea,and if that's not enough they will cook you a fresh omelette !- OK so it's $13 a head but it's worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel , amazing view of the bridge

Posted Jun 13, 2014
I stayed 3 nights it were comfortable, and our reservation had a full breakfast included in the roof. <3
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Viviana from Queens, NY

Nice hotel close to the city.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Bathrooms need to be more private,
Location: Great! Good restaurants to eat. Near the city by car or train.
It was an ok experience. I didn't like the noise from the upstairs lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nancy from Springfield

Boutique hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Ravel is off the tourist path but accessible to Manhattan and Queens locations. Our room was large and even had a balcony to enjoy the view of the Queensborough bridge. Bathroom had both tub and shower. Coffee was available in the lobby. Free parking in hotel lot or on street was a plus.