Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

just ok, not worth the money

Posted Jul 15, 2014
It's so expensive to stay here and I didn't feel like it was worth it. The grounds are beautiful and so is the building itself, but the hotel is just okay. The check in process was quick and easy but our room had a random fridge in front of it. Then when we walked in it just felt a little dated and not worth the expensive price. The pool was nice but a little dirty. Would be nice to have a bar outside that is actually open or some music. However I would recommend to someone who wants to have a nice night away, its definitely more interesting of a hotel vs. regular chains in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachael Keeling from London

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sadly not up to expectation. Lovely position, nice staff but in no way professional, It needed to get it's act together - it felt very uncoordinated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on the Gold Coast

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The wonderful grounds of the hotel are its absolute plus
Cons: Even though it is listed on the hotel' s site as an amenity, complimentary transportation is only there on a 'subject to availibility' - basis.
Location: It's a nice spot to explore the old Gold Coast heritage, but one must have a personal car to do so.
We had a lovely relaxing stay at this hotel. Its plusses are comfortable rooms and lush, gorgeous grounds; plus a nice location on the Gold Coast not too far from the city. The hotel also has a lot of amenities on the grounds, two swimming pools, tennis courts, basketball, hiking etc. All this comfort comes at ca. half the price of an average cramped motel room in the Hamptons, so it certainly feels like a worthwile deal in the high season! Some of the downsides are the fact that the hotel hosts a lot of weddings, (three during our three night stay), and this comes with unavoidable extra noise, plus a feeling that 'other' hotel guests are somehow second-tier, as all the attention of staff, plus e.g. the use of the restaurant, will be reserved for the wedding party. There is also some wear-and-tear on the rooms and amenities, and staff could have been a bit more friendly / helpful (see issues with priority for weddings above).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adamsdae

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by latoya from New York

Nice hotel. I felt royal

Posted May 5, 2014
We went for our anniversary. We had a great time. Buffett breakfast with pleasant friendly staff. We will return. Thanks all
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was comfortable, convenient and interesting since the mansion belonged to important historical figures. We were disappointed that the pub closed at 11pm as we would have liked to have relaxed and had a few drinks after a long day. I would stay there again if the opportunity presented itself.