Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

A decent place to stay in Long Island

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: That it was consistent with what we expect when we check into a Holiday Inn Express
Cons: The eggs and "cheese omelets" though edible could be improved.
Location: located on the south service road along I-495. Centrally located
We had a funeral to attend in Babylon,and had never been there. We were looking for a decent place, as many lodgings in that area have bad reviews. H. I. Express is a place we often choose when we don't want any surprises since they seem to maintain consistent standards. One of our concerns was potential criminal activity since we were unfamiliar with the area.The lobby and interior of the hotel felt secure and for the next three nights there was no activity in the parking lot. Our room was ADA compliant - we didn't request it, but we also didn't mind. But it does mean that many surfaces - desks, tables counters etc are lower than normal. I don't know if all their rooms are this way, or we just got one at random. You may wish to inquire. The room was clean, though not thoroughly dusted. There was also some peeling wallpaper and signs of minor water damage, but there had been major rains and flooding in this area a few weeks ago and Hurricane Sandy a few years ago, so understandable I guess. Like I said, minor. Furnishings were nearly new and in good condition, the bed comfortable. Decent showerhead in the shower. Breakfast is pretty good by free breakfast standards - a wide selection of pasties, breads, cereals,etc but also hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs (frozen) and sausage or bacon depending on the day. Nice big room with lots of seating. Fresh little pancakes available from the pancake-o-matic. Tell it how many and a minute later out pops your pancak
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
It's OK hotel for OK price, little to far from the coast line.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

How Not to Treat Potential Guests

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: cleaning staff attitude, timely prep of reserved rooms.
Location: na
When I arrived 2.5 hours after check in time at the Holiday Inn Express our reserved room was not yet cleaned. When the desk clerk, who was courteous, inquired with the housekeeping staff on when it would be ready, I overheard a lot of negativity and bad attitude. This made us very uncomfortable and gave us a low level of confidence that we would end up with a clean room. We immediately CANCELED our reservation and went in search of another hotel. On the flip side when we went to the Hampton Inn in search of a room they had no rooms, however they showed us what service is all about when they helped us find one at the Home Wood Suites in Melville. And once again they showed what quality service is all about as when we arrived there all I had to do was to give my name and we were on our way to very clean and comfortable suite. And for less than what Holiday Inn was charging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel right off the Long Island Expressway

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: customer service etiquette over the phone with reservations
Location: Right off the Long Island Expressway.
The hotel is located right off the LIE so it's convenient to many locations in Suffolk County. The staff provided parking passes upon check-in, and then we headed up to the rooms. I had never stayed here before so i wasn't sure what to expect but the rooms were great! The bed was comfy, the room was clean, there were plenty of towels and i really appreciated the amenities in the room. The air conditioning was great, especially since it was warmer that weekend. We were very happy with our stay here and have since recommended it to others. If need be for a return trip, i'd love to stay here again, & we will continue to refer this hotel to others in the meantime!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for the five star review of our property! We are glad that you found out property to be conveniently located off 495 LIE expressway, to our ample size guestrooms and amenities. We look forward to your next planned visit and thank you for recommending us! Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the relatives

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We visit relatives that live within 1/2 mile of the hotel. It is a great central location for going to the city, the beach or out east to the Hampton
We have stayed here once a year for at least 13 years. It has always been above expectations. Wonderful friendly staff, good food, nice pool room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, What a wonderful review to see one of our most loyal guests continue to praise our property and our team! We have shared your feedback with them and we thank you for the compliments regarding our amenities! We look forward to your next planned visit and again thank you for continuing to be a loyal guest to our property, and we will have great news for you ahead as we prepare for a nice upgrade to the overall hotel which you will enjoy in 2015! Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four star review of our property. Your opinions matter to our valued readers and we look forward to your next visit! Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Thank you for the four star review of our property! Our guest opinions and ratings are very important to us and we thank you for sharing them for our valued readers! We look forward to your next visit.. Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by GB

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Thank you for the four star review of our property! Our guest opinions and ratings are very important to us and we thank you for sharing them for our valued readers! We look forward to your next visit.. Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager
3 out of 5
by Dorothy from Groton, MA

Convenient location

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location and the breakfast
Cons: Update bathroom Don't sell rooms online that don't exist
Spent one night with our family of 4 to attend a bridal shower. We booked this room as it was listed as a suite with 2 king beds and a pull out couch. When we checked in and went to our room there was one king bed and a pull out couch big enough for one. The front desk said the hotel didn't have a room with two king beds. This type of room is still being sold on Expedia. The front desk sent up a cot and this met our needs. However I paid for a king size bed, not a cot. That said, room was clean although needing updating. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is located on the South Service Rd of the LIE so is in a convenient location for travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joy from long island

Very clean hotel . Nice surroundings . Loved it !

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Saul, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review of our property! We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and the surroundings of the Hauppauge area during your visit! We look forward to your next visit and thank you for recommending us. Regards, Saul Castillo General Manager