Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Great amenities for kids: playground, open field to play in, warm indoor pool, 2 outdoor pool and tennis courts.
Cons: The staff at the breakfast restaurant in the hotel is very hit and miss. Our first breakfast there was absolutely terrible service.
Good hotel with lots of kid friendly amenities - so good we decided to stay a second night. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Overall a wonderful experience! Staff, food & room accomadations were great. The only complaknt I would have was having to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice place to stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, staff, location.
Location: Many restaurants close by, less than 10 min drive into town and nearby beaches.
Although private beach was small, generally close to everything. Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steph from ct

Nice hotel with lively marina views and access

Posted Jun 13, 2014
The hotel upgraded us to a water (marina) view at no extea cost. Our room had a deck with a lounge chair, two Adirondack chairs so we could sit and watch the boats and enjoy a peaceful evening. It was lovely as it wasn't a busy time of year. I imagine the club gets to be very lively in the height of the season. The rooms were nautically inspired. The grounds looked clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations locally in montauk. We did not eat at the hotel except for one breakfast which was fine. Service was quick and very friendly but the breakfast room was not busy so hard to say what it would be otherwise. I would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from New York, New York

A Wonderful Jewel in Montauk

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above review, photo of the view outside out Bungalow is attached below.
Location: We rented a car for the trip. Next time we will use the LIR, and make use of the resort shuttle which goes to all the major destinations.
First of all, let me say that I was not looking to stay at a hotel this past weekend. Actually, staying at a hotel was the last thing on my mind. It was Memorial Day, and my partner and I needed some time away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are just not hotel kinds of guys, we much prefer independent bed and breakfasts and using the websites which cater to them. However, it was late Thursday evening and everything, everything, on Long Island was booked solid. We were just thinking about going up the Hudson instead. However, at the last minute, I gave Expedia a shot and found the Montauk Yacht Club. I was a bit nervous because the rates were a bit higher than other places we had been looking at, the photos on the website were not spectacular, and the reviews were very mixed. However, I must say, that we were totally blown away. We booked a Bungalow room, and at first, by the website, I could not really understand what that meant. However, once we arrived, I realized. It's basically a room, with a private balcony, right on your own private beach front. In addition to the room there are many other amenities such as the indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, bikes and water equipment for rent; all included in the price of the room. They also have great kitchens and room service. Again, totally blown away. If you get a bungalow its basically feels like having your own beachfront cabin, but with the amenities of a larger hotel; it just doesn't feel like one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wsj from Boston

Everything we needed.

Posted May 26, 2014
Great stay, everything we needed - beach, paddle boats, kayaks, entertainment. Fitness room needed attention - no disinfectant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gerry from Scotland

Short break from New York

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel is set at the water's edge and if you have a room with a sea view you are in for a treat.
Cons: Out of season, the range of food offered.
Location: It is a destination hotel, Montauk is a good 5 minutes drive from the hotel. On site there is a full range of activities.
We visited the hotel in mid May, which is out of season for this area. It was very quiet for the first two days and the limited dining offered reflected this. Despite advertising three different dining areas, the hotel only offered light dining, which was basically a bar supper menu. This is our only complaint in which was otherwise a great stay. The rooms were lovely,spacious and clean. The staff friendly and courteous . We will stay again; but if it is out of season we might bring some sandwiches :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place with friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: View and siting of hotel
Cons: Upper rooms need carpeting or padding on floors to mitigate transmission of sound.
We had a lower level room with marina view. Visually, a very pleasant especially for the morning sun and a walk on the beach just outside the door. The people in the room upstairs paced about all night long. It made the overall experience feel cheaper and less luxurious than it could have. Else, the service and the staff were impeccable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Timeless Ambience, Twentieth Century Functionalty

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The location was lovely.
Cons: The room layout and the functionality of lights and outlets.
Location: Eat at Manucci's!
Although the Yacht Club is charming, the hotel rooms need some restructuring to improve their functionality and the comfort of guests. There's so little counter space in the bathroom that you can't even put down your toothpaste to brush your teeth. The only mirrors are in the very large bathroom, making it difficult for a family to get ready efficiently. The hotel staff members were friendly, but someone needs to go through the rooms to check for burned out lights and outlets. We had three rooms and all of us had several lights and outlets out of service. I would recommend this hotel, but mostly because there aren't many other choices in Montauk. Expedia also incorrectly lists a $16 per person breakfast fee. It's actually a resort fee and doesn't include breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy food

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Menu was boring. Staff was pleasant but not helpful. I had a do not disturb sign on my door and housekeeping banged on the door to clean. Mediocre hotel .