Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellmore new york

very nice hotel but...

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: the 2nd room charge can be taken off my credit card
Location: the area is excellent, lots to do nearby, walk to restaurants.
I book with expedia gave the check in clerk my information at check in and they billed my credit card for a one night stay. So now I paid for the room twice. very disappointed with that. also the pool and gym were under construction. I brought my granddaughter there for an overnight stay and we were going to go swimming:(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Overrated Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Food at Polo is excellent as is service.
Cons: See above
Hotel recently renovated. Apparently forgot to adequately light rooms, bathroom has no counter space for toiletries, air conditioner loud and inefficient, toilet flushes itself repeatedly, no wash cloths, no fan in bathroom, TV did not include stations to watch local baseball teams, pool closed for renovation, no complementary coffee in morning but you can pay $4.00 per cup, and new outdoor cafe right off busy street is just silly - they're on Long Island, not Puerto Rico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Very nice!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
This hotel is likely very pricey normally, but it was under construction during my stay (not disturbing at all!), so the price was half of Marriott. It was excellent! Clean, comfortable and very fancy. I hope I can get the same deal in the future. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from NY

Beautifully Redone

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms, staff, food
Cons: Renovations could be finished, but will be soon
Location: Beautiful Village with grand homes, unique shop and varied dining choices. Can catch RR to NYC or go to fabulous ocean beaches in short drive.
The Garden City Hotel has recently undergone extensive renovations. New rooms are very spacious with extremely comfortable beds, modern baths and a large seating area. Bar, restaurant are top notch. Can walk to many excellent shops and restaurants in Village of Garden City, a gorgeous upscale neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suz from nashville tn

Great hotel

Posted May 6, 2014
Great place. It was a good experience. Staff was very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms were recently renovated... Top notch

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Would recommend to anyone! Fairly priced. And now the site is along me to type more... So blah blah blah blah blah blah !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2014 by Jamessina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our brand new guest rooms. We look forward to your return and hope you will experience all our hotel has to offer.
2 out of 5
by S from New Yorker living in Vermont

In the middle of renovations...

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The renovations will be terrific.
Cons: See above.
Location: You can walk to downtown Garden City, which is home to terrific restaurants and stores. And the LIRR train station is...right across the street!
The Garden City Hotel is undergoing a badly needed renovation. That's good. The downside is that everyone and everything is quite disorganized right now. They didn't have my reservation in their system (and blamed Expedia) and then they double billed. They're quite good at apologizing right now...I guess they have had to do it often. A doctor who had just flown from Greece for a conference at the hospital (and unfortunately arrived at 9:00 AM) was told that HIS reservation wasn't in their system. I'm sure they will get things worked out, and the renovated rooms are terrific. But really...by rights, you should have shut down for sixty days. Warn people when they make reservations! The food at Polo, the new steakhouse, is terrific, if overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by CB from Suffolk County

Poor Billing and Remote Control

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was nice, but the billing leaves much to be desired. We received an invoice for Express Checkout on our last day that didn't have all of the expenses listed on it. Then we got a bill in the mail, even though we had left a credit card at the desk. Now we just saw that some items were billed to the credit card and need to figure out if we've already paid some of this already. Also, in order to change the volume on the TV you had to hold the button down on the remote like you were trying to crush a diamond with your finger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2014 by Jamessina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing rating and recent stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by geminidnl from Garden City, NY

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel lobby and restaurant was clean, room was smelly and very outdated... look like something from the 1960s, NO VENT in bathroom!!! wow that was a shocker. the lighting in the room was poor. Hotel needs serious major renovation on rooms!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2014 by Jamessina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We recently came under new ownership and management and are committed to restoring the original grandeur of the property, and this includes the rooms. We will be undergoing a revitalization of every one of our guest rooms. As you noted in your review the lobby and restaurant were recently redone, as well as all of our meeting and event spaces. Thank you again, and we hope you will return to experience all our hotel has to offer!