Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Run run run. How come do they charge so much ?

Posted Jul 20, 2014
A nightmare! Dirty and slumpy. How dare do they charge almost $300 for this horrible tiny room. I will not go back again. I could not even use their sheets as I was afraid to catch anything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a lot of work

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Stained furniture and rugs. Bathroom was ridiculously small. Living room was had beat up furniture and a filthy piece of carpet. Very uncomfortable. Outside needs painting. Front porch looks like a second hand clothing store during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Astoria, ny

Cozy Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, cozy rooms, nice breakfast, located just by Main street...
Cons: Adjust the shower temperature, it is not steady warm.
Location: Nice restaurants and bank around the corner
We loved staying at the Grassmere. The service was great: since the booking of it until the check out! The staff accommodated us as I had previously booked a room for two and later on changed to 3 people in a room. We had to leave at 3pm, so we checked out and left our bags there to pick up later. Upon arrival we were hosted by a friendly receptionist who offered us a glass of wine. Our room was so cozy and spacious facing the back, and the bed very comfortable! The breakfast was included, and I tell you, there no stinginess there. There was plenty of food with a staff refilling it often. We seat outside to eat breakfast by long tall shadowy three where we could feel the breeze and smell the nature. They also have a basketball area, a swing and sold exercising clothing! The hotel is just half block from Main street where you find major restaurants and CVS, so it is in a great location. We all left there with a feeling of leaving a grandma's house which you never want to leave: clean, cozy and caring! We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Decently priced hotel close to charming town cente

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I had a good experience at this hotel, the staff (owners I believe) were very friendly. The owner actually called me to help me with directions and gave good advice for local restaurants and sights. It was very conveniently located next to the town center, were there are multiple quaint shops and restaurants. The beach is also very close by, about a 5 minute drive. It is an old hotel/inn but clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pauline from London

Nice B&B, with extremely friendly staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The staff is very helpful and can be reached at any time
The B&B is just around the corner from main street and walking distance from the beach. Although the place is clearly at bit older, its friendliness and staff are wonderful and very helpful in providing information or going to extra mile to make your stay worthwhile
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Brooklyn NY

Just OK.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Clean. Staff accommodating.
Cons: Bedding. Overall appearance of structures and grounds.
Location: Really nice shopping and dining right there.
Nothing terrible but nothing exceptional. Location good. Charming Main Street a very easy five minute walk. Grounds nothing special. Architecture OK. Looks to have some deferred maintenance. Bedding modest. Nothing luxurious. I hesitate to really say anything bad but there is nothing great to say either. The room in the rear cabin was certainly impeccably clean and that does matter a lot. Staff was fine. I was there on a "blow through town" kind of trip but did spend an evening there in my room ordering in dinner and watching a baseball game. Television was positioned facing in a way that there was no way to watch it from any sitting position. I had to angle it to watch it from the bed and since it was very large and very heavy, I was concerned it would tilt off the wicker dresser it was on but it didn't.
2 out of 5
by Judy from New York, NY

Run-down and overpriced

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance, common areas.
Location: Center of Westhampton Beach.
The location in the heart of the Village is excellent. But otherwise I would avoid this property, which seems to be for sale anyway. The room barely contained the bed. The bed creaked, the toilet dripped, the AC was very loud, etc. The common areas are bare-bones.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Tina from Norwalk, CT

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The home is extremely old and could use some minor maintenance. Location is perfect thou and the staff is extremely friendly. Wasn't expecting a ton for the price and would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by H.W.

Shocking

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The beautiful outside, and its location. The very nice owners.
Cons: Everything needs to be re-build and re-furnished, if at all possible. (Hotel seems to be for sale).
Location: As we were there in the peak of the winter, there is absoluabsolutely nothing to do. We wanted to get away for a day or two, and that's what we got.
When looking at the picture and the description, this seems to be a jewel. When arriving it looks stunningly beautiful. When entering, you think you are in the wrong building. This is a very worn out and run down place. I want to make clear that I am hesitating to write this negative review, because the owners are so very nice people, but since travelers who pay a lot of money for this hotel need to know what they are going in to, I have to share our experience. We had 2 rooms on 2 levels. My room was attached to the back of the building, the inside wall towards the original building was actually the raw outside wall of the hotel with vinyl sidings. The heater (which they called aircondition) did not work. Floors unfinished, furniture like the one in the room are called trash in our world. The room-door did not fit into its original locks and hinges and was locked with an added on lock, that left the door 2 inches wide open. The shower was 60 plus years old, the only shelve above the sink in the bathroom was a metal shelve that was completely rusted. The other room had a tiny bathroom and the heater was on superhigh and could not be regulated. In the cold morning however, it was off. The "living room" had a carpet where the word "stained" is not strong enough. The dining room had worn out furniture and a huge rusted refrigerator. And so on. The price should be no more than 25% of what they are asking.