Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amherst, NH

Comfortable, convenient, and clean.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Reasonanably priced, clean, not fancy smamchy.
Cons: It's in a 135 year old building. Things creak, the rooms are small, radiator heat, leaky windows, all part of the charm of an old building.
Location: Near beach, walk to town, tennis.
Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Because it was post season and a Sunday night there were few guests. People who book on-line generally are placed in the annex in the back, but because of the few patrons on our night, we were upgraded to the main house 3rd floor. It's a hike up the stairs, but the corner front room was sunny, clean, with an attached bath and large closet. The inn is old (1880's) and has its own charm and character. Wi-Fi and analog TV worked fine. The inn is easy walking distance to the Main Street of the village. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was simple consisting of bagels, yogurt, juice, and English muffins. At $89, the price was a lot less than in other area lodgings. We would stay here again if we come back to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, North Carolina

Very Disappointed

Posted Oct 1, 2014
It was my first time staying in West Hampton and I was highly disappointed with the Grassmere Inn. Although, the staff were all very nice and accommodating there were many things that could be done to update this hotel such as remove the duck tape from the shower head and replace, purchase a mattress pad to go over the most stiff mattress I have ever slept on, and possibly add a few items to the choice at breakfast. The Inn is readily accessible to downtown West Hampton and the beach which was nice. Overall, very disappointed!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom The Hague NL

Worst hotel ever

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: close to the beach
You sdon't get what they advertise with ) completlely refurbished ' Not true.Look at some photo┬┤s on the site!! I paid for 2 nights but left after 1 noght- I asked for money back with the owner and he refused. So I make a claim for one noght return of my money $ 200-night through expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Douglasfrom Greenwich

Excellent

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great building with Victorian charm. Friendly and helpful owners. Close to Westhampton's shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn

Historic & well located, needs a complete makeover

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs a complete makeover. Everything.
This is a very historic building and the location is great. It is an easy walk from the Westhampton shops. One really wants to like it. I could not. I am fine with a little flaking paint in a B&B - that is not uncommon. I don't need perfection when I stay at a B&B. This B&B, however, crossed over the line from charming to delapidated and by quite a bit. Maybe in the main house it is different, but in the outbuilding in which my room was situated, the windows were rotted shut and the carpets filthy and appallingly so. I really try to give owners of B&Bs the benefit of the doubt but I can't this time. I paid top dollar over the Labor Day Weekend and just did not get value-for-money. Also, the breakfast was forgettable. I don't do a lot of reviews but feel obligated to do so for this place. Stay away until they do some serious upgrading. I completely understand that the economics of B&Bs are different but here there is just too much deferred maintenance to overlook and it was an overpriced and very disappointing stay. Sad - this place could be so amazing with some TLC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nick Ffrom Melbourne, Australia.

Peter service was exceptional!

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Coming all the way from Australia to finally see the Hamptons, l couldn't have found a better place to stay the night. Thanks to Peter at the Grassmere lnn, I highly recommend it to all! Very personal and an intimate feel of home it gets my thumbs up for recommending it highly to everyone! Nick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gregfrom mahopac

Nice Time

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect for biking to beach or stores. Everyone was friendly. We will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MKfrom New York

Very nice stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for no frills accommodations this place is for you. Nothing fancy but comfortable, close to everything , stores, restaurants, all around the corner. Beach is about 1 mile away. The house is very old, of course needs some work, but whatever it lacks in appearance it makes up in service. The owner and the staff are very nice and helpfull. Overall very enjoyable stay.