Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Diane from Madison

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a nice stay at the Shearwater. Hosts were friendly and the breakfast was good. The sitting/ breakfast room was bright and airy. Altogether very pleasant. My only recommendation would be softer beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rich from Boston

Quiet Bed and Breakfast off the beaten path

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Cons: Just two things. A bigger, brighter sign out front and a little music at breakfast.
Location: Only about 20-25 minutes from Southampton. Plenty of seafood restaurants overlooking the water with outdoor dining. Great lobster dinner specials.
Quiet bed and breakfast at the gateway to the Hamptons. A little off the beaten path but a short drive to all area beaches and restaurants. Breakfast was delicious and beach chairs and umbrellas are provided along with a parking pass to a lot of the area beaches. Parking pass was key as some of the beaches charge upwards of $40 to park for the day. Overall an excellent experience. Sunset at The Dockers was spectacular along with a delicious dinner.
2 out of 5
by Cynthia from Cary, NC

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Quality of the room.
Cons: Staff responsiveness to guests' needs.
Location: Near the beach.
Room & private bath were beautiful -clean, beautifully decorated, with comfortable bed. Bath had Jacuzzi tub. However,our room wasn't made up nor did we get clean towels the 2nd night. When I asked the only person I could find why, I was told that he had to go out & didn't have time after 11:30, when he had knocked on our door. We left the room at 12:15, returned for 45 min. at 2:45 & then were gone until after 11pm. It seems as if somewhere during that time, someone could have made the bed & provided fresh towels. We did not have the included breakfast, but from what we saw it was nothing special - Entenmann's doughnuts & coffee cake, nothing home made. For the price, we expected much more. We've stayed at other B & B's that were less expensive, but had staffs that were much more responsive to their guests' needs & where the food served was a point of pride, not just something thrown together from the grocery store.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Westchester

perfect for romantic weekend.

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are very few choices for inns or hotels in this area, and the Shearwater exceeeded our expectations. Very, very clean, relatively spacious rooms, gracious proprietors, very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

A rare find

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location, ambiance, excellence of the owners, warmness, and overall charm was over the top. I & my local family will recommend this establishment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Finger Lakes of NY

Good stay in the Hamptons

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Well run in all respects
Cons: Sign on the road is hard to read - we passed it by the first time. Cost seemed a little high, but we do not know what the comparables are
Location: A little difficult to find - it is in the middle of a neighborhood of private homes and off the main highways
very friendly and helpful innkeepers - fine stay in all regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike C

Posted Aug 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Just fine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway location.

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Location: Easy access to beaches and all Hampton towns.
Perfectly clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast. No complaints at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Very Charming and Comfortable!

Posted Jul 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay very much. Maureen was very friendly, accommodating, and offered many great tips about the area. The location is nice since it really is a gateway to the Hamptons area and the common area and our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. We had a little issue with the coolness in our room but Maureen was helpful in trying to resolve the issue. The breakfasts were very tasty and the cool drinks and snacks throughout the day are a nice touch. We look forward to coming back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2010 on Hotels.com