Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

disappointed in the Hamptons

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The garden was pretty and it was close to town.
Cons: Could not begin to explain. It would take too long. Certain arrogance. We were in Southampton and therefore should be happy with what they gave us.
Location: The location was good=close to town and mansions.
We spent $450 for a room in this room. We never have spent so much in our lives even for villas and castles in Europe and New York City as well. Since we are elderly, we decided to have a splurge. From the advertisement we thought we would be somewhat pampered. Instead we had the equivalent of a cheap BandB. First of all the room was very small==just enough for a bed and tightly packed wicker chairs. Little room for our luggage. The bathroom had a sink 15" by 14"--no place for our bathroom needs. When we arrived we were told that we would not get breakfast. Since there was no ice machine the staff brought us our ice at five, for that is when they left and the office was closed. There was no computer access. They did fix one pot of coffee in the morning-regular, no decaf and no water for tea. There were no recommendations for restaurants available to us. The living room was decorated with total kitsch. We tried to leave early but they said Expedia already paid and that it would be too difficult to pay us back. All in all a real cheapo in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was super; excellent and friendly and willing to go the extra mile.
Location: Perfect location, walking distance from everything in town, including all the great restaurants and shops.
Quick, 3-night stay overLanor Day weekend. Very good amenities. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Walk to Southhampton village

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location; but the common areas and room smells musty. they could benefit from having a refurb to get rid of the smell and the 'old chintz' type decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carlfrom Southampton

Convenient and charming

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've driven by the inn many times but, since I owned a home in the area for many years, I never had any need to book a hotel until now. The staff is most cordial, the room spotless and the amenities perfect for my needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid but needs more updating

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Solid hotel, but expected more for the money. The breakfast was a carb loaded meal of desert cakes and breads. It would have been nice to provide some eggs too, and maybe some other protein like bacon and or salmon lox. Pool was actually more pleasing than it looked, and comfortable. It was a unique experience though, because you felt like you were part of The Great Gatsby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great: location, management staffs Bad: price does not reflect amenities, cleanliness, extra charge for breakfast...
3 out of 5
by davidfrom new york

Convenient location, but in need of a makeover.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, and the grounds are peaceful.
Cons: Bathrooms are old, tv is ancient. Paint job would help.
Location: Close to beaches and town.
Older facility that would be better with a makeover. Equipment is old and set in 80's.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Old Mansion

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an old house that is falling apart. Too bad because it was a fun place to stay at one point. We had a leak in the bathroom. They offered to switch rooms we preferred to stay in the room with the leak over the room with the mold. Overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by The Owners, Hotel Management
Our Gatsby style hotel dates from the early 20th century and is over one hundred years old. We have a full staff of carpenters, plumbers, painters who work full time to make our unique buildings better each day. In the age of sameness, our hotel is famous for its sophisticated, eclectic ambiance. We are acclaimed for our ambiance not only in the US, but in Europe and South America. As the owner, I want all my guests to have a good experience. So it is frustrating to read that guests who had a leak in the bathroom and were offered a different room by our accommodating staff declined the offer. Especially if they believed there was mold (which we checked and did not find). We have been in business for over 40 years with a high percentage of returning guests year after year. We are proud that most of our housekeeping and office staff have been with us for more than 10 years. Some more than 20.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by barbarafrom W.P.B. , Fl.

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
wonderful experience!
2 out of 5
by Doreenfrom Chicago

Overpriced hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The room was very expensive, so I expected more. It was a tiny room, and the bathroom facilities were dated.