Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid but needs more updating

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Solid hotel, but expected more for the money. The breakfast was a carb loaded meal of desert cakes and breads. It would have been nice to provide some eggs too, and maybe some other protein like bacon and or salmon lox. Pool was actually more pleasing than it looked, and comfortable. It was a unique experience though, because you felt like you were part of The Great Gatsby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great: location, management staffs Bad: price does not reflect amenities, cleanliness, extra charge for breakfast...
3 out of 5
by david from new york

Convenient location, but in need of a makeover.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, and the grounds are peaceful.
Cons: Bathrooms are old, tv is ancient. Paint job would help.
Location: Close to beaches and town.
Older facility that would be better with a makeover. Equipment is old and set in 80's.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Old Mansion

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an old house that is falling apart. Too bad because it was a fun place to stay at one point. We had a leak in the bathroom. They offered to switch rooms we preferred to stay in the room with the leak over the room with the mold. Overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by The Owners, Hotel Management
Our Gatsby style hotel dates from the early 20th century and is over one hundred years old. We have a full staff of carpenters, plumbers, painters who work full time to make our unique buildings better each day. In the age of sameness, our hotel is famous for its sophisticated, eclectic ambiance. We are acclaimed for our ambiance not only in the US, but in Europe and South America. As the owner, I want all my guests to have a good experience. So it is frustrating to read that guests who had a leak in the bathroom and were offered a different room by our accommodating staff declined the offer. Especially if they believed there was mold (which we checked and did not find). We have been in business for over 40 years with a high percentage of returning guests year after year. We are proud that most of our housekeeping and office staff have been with us for more than 10 years. Some more than 20.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by barbara from W.P.B. , Fl.

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
wonderful experience!
2 out of 5
by Doreen from Chicago

Overpriced hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The room was very expensive, so I expected more. It was a tiny room, and the bathroom facilities were dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: location, staff
I'd stay there again for sure. Close to everything. Smallish room, but very clean and quiet. Very friendly staff. Very short walk to center of town
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jerry H. from New York City

Like staying in a Handyman's Special at Ritz Rates

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice property, and great location with plenty of parking. And that is it. No outlet in room to charge your phone (the two in room are fully occupied). TV is from 1980's -- a 19 inch box (but at least it's color). Radiator grill is rusty, as is drain in bath. Old curtain rod holders sans curtain rods or curtains in window frame. Sitting down on toilet risks chipping your teeth on the too close sink right in front of it. Some electrical conduit running along the top of the wall (above the bed) is held up by the wires within it. Uneven brick path outside building. And the door in hall with lighted Exit sign above it is locked. All this at outrageous rates, with minimum stay requirement.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julie from NY

close to the villiage but so outdated and dirty

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating, however this hotel MUST be renovated. The rooms are dirty and old. I found a spider in my bed in the first room and then I was transferred to another room which was a bit better but it was a dirty motel style room with a tv from the 90s. The bathroom has fixtures from the 70s and it just feel dirty and old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect romantic summer getaway

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have done the Hamptons party scene in the past, but I wasn't sure that it would be a good place to go for a romantic getaway. Well, this place was perfect. We had such a great time that we booked it for July 4th weekend as well and we just got back. It's not posh like the Ritz or the Waldorf, but it's the ideal romantic country getaway. We live in Manhattan and felt so relaxed out there! They shuttled us to the beach, which is gorgeous. We played tennis. We were able to walk to town for dinner (75 Main, Le Chef). They serve a wonderful breakfast (Zabar's bread, fresh fruits and yogurts, almond croissants, muffins, cereals, etc.) and they also put wine out in the evening for guests to help themselves.