Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Nice Lobby, but...

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff at the hotel was very knowledgeable and helpful. The lobby was nice.
Cons: In terms of cleanliness for a hotel with a level 3 rating, they were not up to par. The rooms were also very dated and were in great need of updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny/nj

very nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: no
would recommend this hotel. specially if you are from out of town and do not want to drive at a later hour
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, Ca

Convenient and close to where I need to visit.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Clean and smoke free.
Cons: Referred to a smokers room when I requested a smoke free accommodation. The situation was corrected but I never should have been sent to the room.
Location: I am unfamiliar with the area so friends and family picked us up and took us where we needed to go. Shopping and restaurants were a plus.
Close to relatives and friends, yet convenient for get a away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Only If You're Desperate

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: You desperately need to upgrade the facility in just about all aspects.
This place is now a smoke-free facility, but the furniture, carpeting, and ventilation system in my room still reeked of old tobacco smoke from the time when it was apparently a smoking room. Had to set the thermostat to 65 with fan constantly running to be tolerably comfortable. Really glad I was only staying one night by myself. My wife would never have been able to tolerate it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Media, Pa.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
We were there overnight only. Had a quiet comfortable night's sleep. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast.
2 out of 5
by amy

Air conditioner didn't work. Room smelled smoke

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Air conditioner didn't work and room smelled like cigarette smoke. Rooms need big time updating and freshening up
2 out of 5
by Frank from Virginia

Terrible

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: almost everything
Location: near 495 entry and exit this is great
I feel sorry for the staff that has to work harder and compensate for the deplorable status of the hotel. From the parkin to the GYM it all needs a refresh. I'm gald it was only one night.
2 out of 5
by Kim from St Petersburg FL

DIRTY!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Some of the staff were very nice. The female shuttle driver young straight brown hair in a pony tail thick Long Island accent was very rude.
Cons: Clean it update it and if the shuttle is available to take someone within the 10 mile range you sure better take them not make them spend $60 on cabs!
Location: Nothing. There are two malls but be sure to take the shuttle it is an expensive cab.
It used to be a fancy Sheraton in the 1980s. Obviously no maintenance has been done since then. I was appalled at the lack of cleanliness and maintenance. The carpets were dirty the front entry way was disgusting. They are trying to be an upscale hotel but are failing terribly. The shuttle is there to take you within 10 miles of the hotel. Nobody at the hotel mentioned this. Then when we asked them to call a cab that never showed the shuttle pulled up. I went inside to ask the young female shuttle driver for a ride and she said no we had to wait for our cab. Then the male desk clerk came out he is very nice and the only pleasant thing in this hotel. He told her to take us and she did but was not happy. She told us she would pick us up and when we later called for that ride she answered the phone and said no she could not get us! We were stranded at the mall and had to take an expensive cab ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Dean Sandbrook, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank your for taking time to review our property. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay and for the conditions you encountered. I have addressed them with our team. Our property hopes to embark on a refresh of the property in the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again should your travels bring you back our way. Warm regards, Dean Sandbrook, Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by Cuong from NJ

TERRIBLE is the only word to describe experience

Posted May 27, 2014
Had 5 confirmed rooms, each with 2 double beds. Called day before to make sure they are close together and to request a crib. Told it would be fine. Upon arrival, rooms were scattered, not a single room had 2 beds, no crib, and staff with an attitude problem!! Never again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Dean Sandbrook, Hotel Management
Dear Cuong, On behalf of our team at the UpSky Long Island Hotel we regret we were unable to accommodate your request for rooms locations upon your arrival. It is often beyond a hotel's control as to when a room will become unoccupied as travel plans often change for guests when on the road. We always strive to honor requests but in this situation we apologize it was not possible and for any inconvenience this caused. I appreciate your taking time to share your feedback which I have shared with our team. We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future as our guest. With warm regards, Dean Sandbrook, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight business stay

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Seems to have retained some of the look and feel of the previous hotel chain owner.
Arrived late... staff cheerfully checked me in and let me know about facilities and the Internet password. Room was quiet, got a good night's sleep and checked out early the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Dean Sandbrook, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our cheerful staff! We are delighted you found the room quiet and had a good night's sleep. We appreciate your choosing the UpSky Long Island and look forward to your next visit! Many thanks, Dean Sandbrook, Front Office Manager