Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Bed uncomfortable and noise from bar below from quiz night kept a tired couple up later than we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pippa from York

Great bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
For the price paid, stay was a bargain. Straightforward bed and breakfast. Enjoyed a delicious Thai curry from the pub menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic friendly staff and lovely food !

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: "
Location: .
Possible negatives : We didn't mind the noise from the bar which goes on until about midnight, but you do need to be aware that it is loud. The bathroom was very tiny indeed, and the location of the shelf over the sink made it difficult to use the sink to clean your teeth without hitting your head, so great care is needed - and yes, the carpets and decor of the public spaces are pretty tired and in need of a good sprucing up, no doubt about it. Positives: So,provided none of the above worries you, then we would recommend it, as the people (staff and locals alike) are friendly and welcoming, the food is good, the cosy open fire is lovely - and the king size bed was super-comfortable too :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Rep on the road

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
This is a typical village inn, pleasant staff with a pleasant manner. The room was a bit on the small side but adequate for a single occupancy, the restraurant was ok and the food well served with generous portions. The bar area was very relaxing with a well stocked bar with a good local brew
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Northumberland business trip

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent food.nice rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from macclesfield

Good

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cosy room, excellent food , nice real ales , nice breakfast, good value overall , nice location too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Felicity from Leicester

A good place to stay.

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
Room advertised as having a sofa-bed along with a double but this was not the case, however they provided another room free of charge which was very good of them. Food was decent and although the bar was open until 12 I didn't find it too noisy. I would recommend this establishment for good food, good service and decent value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Rather shabby

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: One member of staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful
Cons: New carpets,fresh coat of paint, clear instructions in the room for operating heaters. Coffee machine ,individual pots of jam and marmalade
Location: Otterburn, Craigside
The room itself was clean ! There were no instructions about the heated towel,never got it to work nor the room heater, I did mention it but nothing was done. The general abience was shabby and rather sticky ie table tops,stair hand rail, stair Capet and hall carpets were fairly thread bear. Only instant coffee available and I would have thought it would be worth having some sort of coffee machine in the dining room . Miserable little sachets of jam and marmalade for breakfast. Also the door between the bar and the accommodation was locked overnight until 8am, there was a key for emergency exit, but I felt trapped and couldn't get out to my car before 8am. Bearing in mind I paid less a few days before to stay at The Hilton in MK I consider this to have been poor value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice country village inn.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Close to really good butchers where I could get great home-made pork pies.
Cons: Double glazing to deaden traffic noise.
Location: Visited relatives.
Enjoyed my stay there visiting relatives. Nice country Inn feel, friendly atmosphere, good food, good menu, best value for money accommodation during my trip to UK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northumberland

Just a village pub

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Having stayed here before 2 years ago this have rapidly went down hill , service was very poor room was ok ,resturant menu , selection very averge prices I thought to high £18 sirloin then £3-50 for a sauce , asked for a table told just sit anywhere and when your ready order at bar when in a resurant at them prices I what waiter service so we got up and left and had food up elsewhere and a lot cheaper and fantastic when we returned there was a rock band on and our room was above , no sleep ,should have been told about the noise and I would nt have booked it no way worth the £79 I paid wont be back !