Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location Nice size room Free wifi Charging for electric cars
Cons: The rooms and hallways seem very dated. The hotel is undergoing a remodel so hopefully this will take care of that.
Location: Car required but close to beach, Santa Monica Place
The hotel is a very average hotel that is basic, no frills but clean. I found it overpriced for what it was but I guess the Santa Monica location dictates the price. It is fine for someone doing business in the area but not the place a couple would want to spend a weekend. My biggest complaint is that it is in the midst of a remodel and neither Expedia nor the hotel mentioned that to me. I would recommend it to someone doing business in the area only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonfrom Portland, OR

One of my favorite hotels

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is a small place without the amenities such as restaurants and pools but it is tastefully appointed, intimate and well located. Noticed that the TV is a bit old and there is no movie menu but I am fine with that. Some people may be bothered by this. I do not need to be in my room watching movies when Santa Monica is right outside my door. Great neighborhood, nice baked treats in the morning buffet, friendly check-in staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hugofrom avianto

Really nice hotel, perfect for relaxing

Posted Mar 10, 2014
I just unhappy woth the price, why the hotel didn't give the same deal like expedia gave to me. Kinda cheating to me. The booking price was $305 and hotel charge $ 370. What a deal?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
This hotel knows how to treat there guest, they could use an updating in the in- room media area though. The TV was older than my 2006 Toyota Tacoma..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't make me leave!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location, accommodations, EVERYTHING!
Cons: N/A
Location: Pier, great dining, lots of great things to do in walking distance.
My Mom booked this room for my birthday and honestly I did not want to leave - hotel is fantastic! Staff outstanding - friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephenfrom Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The Ambrose is a boutique hotel located 5 minutes drive from Santa Monica beach. It is nicely decorated and run by good staff.
Location: Close to Santa Monica beach and shopping strip, and an easy drive to other locations such as Rodeo Drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Location: Good location.
Lovely hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. Driver who will drop and pick you up from local spots was a great service. Staff were very professional and trust worthy when handling a problem we had. Beds very comfortable, nice continental breakfast. Would stay there again. Handy to Whole Foods supermarket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Burrlambfrom Somerville, MA

Stylish Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and very tasteful decor.
Cons: The hotel could use some paint and maintenance, it's starting to show its age.
Location: The location is OK, a quick bus trip to the center of Santa Monica. There are some restaurants nearby, but they aren't outstanding choices.
This was our second stay at the Ambrose, and again we weren't disappointed, staying 3 very pleasant nights. We apparently had reserved a room off the back alley, which my wife was disappointed with, and the staff upgraded us to a very nice room on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard with no change in fee. We were very pleased with the room and used the balcony. i wish we had known about where the room we had reserved was located; Expedia should include more information about the rooms reserved. The hotel has a good continental breakfast, with croissants that could have been from France. The downside of the breakfast is that there are no real tables to sit at, and the coffee isn't great, but i've had a hard time finding good coffee anywhere in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, excellent room, outstanding staff

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Cons: Separate with a door the large bathroom to isolate the shower and toilet.
The hotel is conveniently located, a short drive to the Santa Monica Beach and Pier. The rooms and amenities are better than most "on the beach" hotels. The staff was outstanding, they gave us a free upgrade to a king suite with a large balcony/patio. Will stay there again.