Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Ambrose is very friendly

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The staff at the ambrose were across the board for my two night stay amazing. Allowing me and my guest to even bend the rules and take their shuttle outside the 3 mile radius they normally service. The hotel also held our bags for us after we checked out so we didn't have to haul them around all day. The hotel was also generally very nice, I have no complaints on any front (other than maybe price, but for a nice vacation it's worth it)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside County

Enjoyable experience

Posted Mar 18, 2015
We stayed there for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nice but nothing special. The location was good with restaurants and shopping near by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Great experience, friendly staff, good location. Breakfast and shuttle were really nice additions.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel not far from beach. Under construction.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Hotel staff and car service.
The hotel lobby was in the basement so not very welcoming. The staff receptionist had a very very heavy accent and I wasn't able to understand her during most of the conversation when checking in. This wouldn't have been so bad expect when I needed car service to come pick me up I couldn't confirm the car coming to pick me up. After waiting two hours and multiple phone calls I took a taxi. This was unfortunate because the hotel was acceptable but when you pay an above average price you expect things to be taken care of and that was very poor service.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Facilities Fiasco

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable and we had a fabulous deck with fireplace!
Cons: The receptionist attitude and better communication, some of the other workers were quite nice and off-set the front desk gals.
Location: Location is nice and close to all Of Santa Monica.
This was a birthday event for my husband....Arrived to find the hotel was going through major renovations and no place to park. After calling the hotel to find out what to do, We were told to park in a parking garage down the street. So my husband dropped me off with our luggage in the alleyway and I pulled all the luggage around the outside of the building only to be told by workers that I had to go back. There were no signs, no open doors. Finally a worker came out the back and stumbled into me and took me in. The check-in was in a hallway and the gal told me I had received an email about the construction but I didn't. She was very accusing and less than gracious. They finally agreed to a reduced rate but it was not all that much for all the mess and time we had to use up in getting in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Secure and very comfortable, currently remodeling if a late or light sleeper wait until that is over, but really nice will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but better after remodel is done.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Very quiet hotel. A bit outdated - old style television. Very clean room. They are undergoing remodeling so hopefully they will update the rooms. Don't order room service. I should have gotten fast food cause it was pretty bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Under Renovation.

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The location for us was great, which was why we selected it. Free shuttle to nearby areas.
Cons: Rooms need renovation and modernizing.
Location: Close to Montana Avenue.
The hotel was under major renovation, which you could not tell from their website or through your site. First floor was completely closed to traffic, check-in was through the garage entrance. Gym was unavailable but they had a remote gym available. Jackhammering from 8:30 am to about 4:00 pm. Rooms were OK but relatively outdated. No offer of a reduced rate or free parking or any other consideration. Would have helped to know this prior to arrival as we could have found alternative choices for similar rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obispo CA

Very nice staff. Was a very limited inconvenience

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Great location, pleasant staff, nice rooms.
Cons: Finish the reconstruction.
Location: Great location. Since I used to live in the area, I know it to be a very convenient location for many activities an easy to get to.
Very nice staff. Minor very minor inconvenience because of construction work being done in the interior of the Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Hotel is being remodeled, but did not effect our stay. Based on the details given on the remodel, we are looking forward to returning to enjoy the new amenities.