Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel not far from beach. Under construction.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Hotel staff and car service.
The hotel lobby was in the basement so not very welcoming. The staff receptionist had a very very heavy accent and I wasn't able to understand her during most of the conversation when checking in. This wouldn't have been so bad expect when I needed car service to come pick me up I couldn't confirm the car coming to pick me up. After waiting two hours and multiple phone calls I took a taxi. This was unfortunate because the hotel was acceptable but when you pay an above average price you expect things to be taken care of and that was very poor service.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Facilities Fiasco

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable and we had a fabulous deck with fireplace!
Cons: The receptionist attitude and better communication, some of the other workers were quite nice and off-set the front desk gals.
Location: Location is nice and close to all Of Santa Monica.
This was a birthday event for my husband....Arrived to find the hotel was going through major renovations and no place to park. After calling the hotel to find out what to do, We were told to park in a parking garage down the street. So my husband dropped me off with our luggage in the alleyway and I pulled all the luggage around the outside of the building only to be told by workers that I had to go back. There were no signs, no open doors. Finally a worker came out the back and stumbled into me and took me in. The check-in was in a hallway and the gal told me I had received an email about the construction but I didn't. She was very accusing and less than gracious. They finally agreed to a reduced rate but it was not all that much for all the mess and time we had to use up in getting in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Secure and very comfortable, currently remodeling if a late or light sleeper wait until that is over, but really nice will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but better after remodel is done.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Very quiet hotel. A bit outdated - old style television. Very clean room. They are undergoing remodeling so hopefully they will update the rooms. Don't order room service. I should have gotten fast food cause it was pretty bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Under Renovation.

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The location for us was great, which was why we selected it. Free shuttle to nearby areas.
Cons: Rooms need renovation and modernizing.
Location: Close to Montana Avenue.
The hotel was under major renovation, which you could not tell from their website or through your site. First floor was completely closed to traffic, check-in was through the garage entrance. Gym was unavailable but they had a remote gym available. Jackhammering from 8:30 am to about 4:00 pm. Rooms were OK but relatively outdated. No offer of a reduced rate or free parking or any other consideration. Would have helped to know this prior to arrival as we could have found alternative choices for similar rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obispo CA

Very nice staff. Was a very limited inconvenience

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Great location, pleasant staff, nice rooms.
Cons: Finish the reconstruction.
Location: Great location. Since I used to live in the area, I know it to be a very convenient location for many activities an easy to get to.
Very nice staff. Minor very minor inconvenience because of construction work being done in the interior of the Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Hotel is being remodeled, but did not effect our stay. Based on the details given on the remodel, we are looking forward to returning to enjoy the new amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location Nice size room Free wifi Charging for electric cars
Cons: The rooms and hallways seem very dated. The hotel is undergoing a remodel so hopefully this will take care of that.
Location: Car required but close to beach, Santa Monica Place
The hotel is a very average hotel that is basic, no frills but clean. I found it overpriced for what it was but I guess the Santa Monica location dictates the price. It is fine for someone doing business in the area but not the place a couple would want to spend a weekend. My biggest complaint is that it is in the midst of a remodel and neither Expedia nor the hotel mentioned that to me. I would recommend it to someone doing business in the area only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonfrom Portland, OR

One of my favorite hotels

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is a small place without the amenities such as restaurants and pools but it is tastefully appointed, intimate and well located. Noticed that the TV is a bit old and there is no movie menu but I am fine with that. Some people may be bothered by this. I do not need to be in my room watching movies when Santa Monica is right outside my door. Great neighborhood, nice baked treats in the morning buffet, friendly check-in staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hugofrom avianto

Really nice hotel, perfect for relaxing

Posted Mar 10, 2014
I just unhappy woth the price, why the hotel didn't give the same deal like expedia gave to me. Kinda cheating to me. The booking price was $305 and hotel charge $ 370. What a deal?!