Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible room

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to a local craft brewery but nothing else.
One night was one night to many here the AC smelled like cat urine so we could not use the toilet ran all night long and the German tourists that screamed in German all night made this place very forgettable. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay in Torrence or Pasadena or a high end hotel but never in downtown LA in a place like this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel fine, but they charged us TWICE

Posted Aug 29, 2013
I was happy with my stay until they - after charging my boyfriend's debit card for the full amount when we checked in - also charged my credit card that I used to make the reservation after check out. Completely unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by Abbyfrom Phoenix, AZ

Decent rooms, TERRIBLE manager.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Rooms were relatively spacious. Beds were queen sized (most double rooms only have full). Room was clean.
Cons: Needs a new manager. There was unused furniture (empty TV cabinet shoved in a corner-TV was mounted on wall) as well as broken desk in the room.
Location: Sketchy locale, near MacArthur park. Centrally located though, so fairly easy to travel to POI's. LA Derby Dolls venue only 2 miles away for example.
From the moment we walked through the office door, my travel partner and I were harassed by the hotel manager. We were on a trip with a few friends and had carpooled (5 of us in the car) though only 2 of us were staying in the room. Upon check in, the manager asked how many were staying in the room, and when we told her 2, she argued with us, asking "are you sure there aren't more?" We replied that there were more with us currently, but that they would not be staying in the room, to which she responded that our friends were not welcome to set foot inside our rooms. [REALLY?!?!] After much debate, we finally got her to agree to allow them in the room with the provision that if any neighboring guests called and complained about noise our guests would have to leave immediately AND we would be charged 10 per additional guest. [No complaints filed] The next night, we assumed the same arrangement, but within 20 seconds [no exaggeration] of us entering the room, we received a phone call from the office demanding to know how many people were in the room. Once again, we had guests, [she had watched them enter on her CCTV monitor]. She demanded that we go to the office immediately or face charges of 30 per guest and hung up on us before we could explain. After much arguing, we ended up having to pay anyway, though we did get her to lower the "fine" to 15 per extra person. This was by far, the worst hotel experience of my life. Honestly, that manager should be fired!!!
3 out of 5
by Rickfrom Central Coast, Ca

Ok Hotel, would not recommend

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Cons: Had to pay for Ice....
The hotel was ok for the price and considering the location. It was disappointing that you had to pay for ice. Although the overall rating is a 3, I would not stay at another American Best Value Inn..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chells

One night stay in downtown, great!!!!

Posted Nov 5, 2012
We stayed a single night here, and for the price, area, and quality of the hotel, it was great. Coming from the area and name brand of the hotel you don't expect the BEST. So for what its worth, it was great. We stayed one night like i said, and we went to an event at the State historic park 3 miles away, we caught the metro there and back, very close to public transportation. Which is a huge plus.....
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside, CA, USA

Not kid friendly

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Cons: The beds were hard and the bedding dated.
Location: At night it was noisy and the helicopter was hovering all night. It was scary to return to at night.
This hotel charges 10 extra for children over 12. The bedding looked like it was from the 1970s. There is no pool or elevator. It was scary to return to it at night. The helicopter was hovering all night. Lots of street noise through out the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great motel

Posted Aug 9, 2012
I stayed three nights. One night was very noisy outside, but the rest nights were good.
1 out of 5
by Anonymousfrom Chatsworth, Los Angeles, CA, USA

WORST HOTEL, DIRTY, AWFUL AGGRESSIVE SERVICE.

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Pros: IF THIS HOTEL EVER GETS TOWN DOWN
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: AWFUL, SHADY PEOPLE, HOMELESS, DRUG ADDICTS ALMOST AT YOUR DOOR.
WORST HOTEL EVER. THIS PLACE SHOULD BE DESTROYED, IT IS AWFULLY DIRTY, THERE ARE STAINS ARE ALMOST EVERT PIECE OF LINEN, TOWELS, EVEN WALLS. WHATS WORSE IS YOU CAN HEAR THE PROSTITUTES NEXT DOOR HAVING SEX, BANGING AGAINST THE WALLS SCREAMING ALL NIGHT UNTIL SUNRISE. SERIOUSLY, I JUST ABOUT CALLED THE POLICE. WHAT IF WE WERE A FAMILY? I DIDN'T GET EVEN AN HOUR OF SLEEP. WHEN I COMPLAINED TO THE FRONT DESK, HE SAID I WAS MAKING IT UP. THIS IS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HOTEL ROACH WAY INN YOU COULD EVER STAY AT, I HOPE THEY GET SUED.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Stayed with my boyfriend for 2 night stay with King/Jacuzzi Tub for a concert at the Club Nokia. We personally had a great time, came to the hotel expecting what we paid for, the hotel was under construction so it was a bit noisy, parking after 2am is horrible, especially for a truck (which we own) had to park on the street =/ No alarm clock, but we used our phones, and floors weren't vacuumed, so def bring socks or slippers! Good thing I am from Los Angeles and already know the area. If you are not from the area, I suggest trying to stay in the LA Live area if going to any event near there. My boyfriend is from San Diego and his comment was "LA is closer to Mexico the San Diego!" All in all we had a great time, I always do, this is my hometown. We tried a few places to eat, but I do recommend Uncle John's Cafe for breakfast for Asian Fusion, yummy!