Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Only 1 negative limited parking however owner recommended a carpark 5 mins walk $5 a day really cheap. Perfect location bathroom was clean a modern update would be nice but what's there is really good. Walking distance to plenty of restaurants & the beach :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Good experience, be aware that check-in time is 4pm, sometimes they can get you in earlier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra

Great value, clean hotel at Santa Monica beach.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Low rise, clean, beachy hotel, comfortable, friendly staff. Good value for money in an expensive area of LA.
Cons: More coffee sachets and a kettle for making tea would be nice. This is maybe an Aussie thing we found lacking in other US hotels.
Location: We are in our 60's so the high intensity physical gymnastics available on the beach not for us but good to watch. Short walk to the Pier.
We chose this hotel to transit in due to late night flight from LAX to Sydney. Better to enjoy our last days in the US exploring Santa Monica compared to a long day between our flight from Sacramento and the Sydney leg. We also had to connect to Canberra after that. It proved to be a good way to go. Bayside is not five star but excellent value for our purpose. We asked for a Ground Floor room to avoid stairs with all our bags, got it. Asked for late 1.00pm check out, got it. They stored our luggage so we could explore further and lunch at M Street restaurant, excellent, just round the corner and up a block. Called an elite taxi for us, 5 min wait. Highly recommend Bayside Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: You are at the beach
Cons: Parking
Location: Sorry I can't There for family in hospital didn't sight see .
Parking sucks and 20.00 a night don't drive anything big small car only ! But you are at the beach rooms small but clean ! I would go back but with a small car for sure pickup truck never again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rob S.from Philadelphia

Great Value and Location

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bayside doesn't look like much from the outside (more like an old motel), but the rooms feel like a studio apartment with IKEA furniture everywhere. Free wifi, snacks and drinks available (for a charge) and easy access to the beach make this a great place to stay on a budget. The hotel is a few blocks from many great brunch spots as well. The one downside is the limited parking, but we found metered spots within 100 yards. I would stay there again if I happen to be in the Santa Monica area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paso Robles, CA

Nice Hotel with a retro feel. Great location.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff and how quite it was.
Location: Walking distance to the Beach,Pier, shopping and restaurants. 3rd street Promenade and the outdoor mall.
My husband and I booked this online, not really sure about the location. We were pleasantly surprised. We were within walking distance of the pier, restaurants and shopping. It was very quite and clean. Smaller hotel but very comfy. We liked all the windows that open letting in the fresh ocean air. We will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J. Ricefrom Atwater, CA

Close to beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking on property....handicap parking used by none handicapped hotel staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CDC-Maryland

Cute hideaway

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The folks at Bayside were very accomodating. Room was smallish but attractive. A cute place, conveniently located with ocean view. Would happily go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow, Scotland

Nice find in Santa Monica

Posted Aug 1, 2014
My friend and I couldn't get a room for the night in our usual hotel so we came here. We weren't disappointed. Lovely clean and fresh room which looked recently decorated. Lovely beach towels and bag to take just across the road to the beach were provided. Third st promenade is only a short walk away too. Had a very comfortable night there and would stay again. Appreciated booking with Expedia for this hotel and paying all fees and taxes up front.