Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the Lobster Festival Fair Grounds

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly and quiet
Cons: Breakfast Room should be bigger
Location: Aquarium, Los Angeles
We arrived early but the room was not ready yet. Receptionist was very friendly and did all the check in paper work. It was good so we could do our things and come back later.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire

Just an overnight stay

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Good location. Not far from the things to do near Shoreline dr.
Cons: The A/C never really got the room very cool. Why is there down comforters in this motel?? It's not Alaska, it's Long Beach. Lite blanket maybe.
I would stay there again. Great location, lots of shops and places to eat. Clean room with everything you could ask for. Extensive batroom goodies, no worries if you forget anything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hottest hotel I've EVER stayed in in 20 years

Posted Sep 8, 2014
To cut costs, in the hot summer week I was there the hallways and elevators had to be 90 degrees ...no air conditioning in the halls or I'm amenity areas.... So bad u had to get to your room quick to not sweat your dress clothes -- I literally sweated in the hallways ...turn the AC on cheapskates ...it was a hot week, hottest in some time, but they left all indoor hall AC off... Terribly hot, and elevators down right miserably hot. Expect $10 a night parking don't be surprised. Rooms hot, AC switch on the a/c unit funky and picky needed repair... Room clean but did I mention it's a sweat house? Very decent breakfast included, with that room having the AC on, thank goodness but still probably at 78, not a decent 72, go on a hot week and the hallways are a Drag!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Better options

Posted Sep 3, 2014
We reserved a room with two beds and as it turned out they were doubles not queens. (Looking at my confirmation, looks like I should have paid closer attention) made for close quarters. Room was smallish in size which is a tad surprising since the beds are smaller also you'd think there might be a tad more elbow room. Parking is in garage underground and as we checked in later in the day, we of course were left with a spot at very bottom in difficult corner farthest from the elevator. Went into the fitness center to work out and in oder to get there you have to walk through the pool area. The pool area is very poorly ventilated so I was met with a very strong chlorine smell. No way would I want to swim in there and not the best way to start a work out. Breakfast was average continental breakfast fare. Only bad thing is the room they served breakfast in was way too small with far too few tables almost like it was an afterthought. All in all, room was clean and worked ok for a one night "stop & flop" but theres better options for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

I thought my stay was good.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I think it's a great place location was good. I think they need to expand breakfast room.maybe were you have two tables by bathroom make a bar table go around the wall and put chair there that will make room for people to seat. And more parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very convenient to downtown old Long Beach, underground parking was a good surprise (though I had to get over some personal phobias...underground....a little claustrophobic) but at least there was parking!!!! All round great stay!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel for us!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Very easy to walk to the shore and the shops and restaurants all around. Very convenient!
This hotel was perfect for our house hunting trip. The room was so clean. The bathroom was spotless with a wonderful selection of toiletries and a scale! The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable. Checkin was quick and easy and we got a parking ticket to use the underground garage. Yes, some have complained about this fee but other hotels we looked at were charging $15 per night and didn't even mention that until you book! Our room was quiet. Our window faced a wall but we didn't spend much time in the hotel as we just needed a clean comfortable place to sleep as we were out all day. The staff were very helpful and friendly! Also they have a computer with printer located in the lobby so it's very easy to print out tickets (airplane,Disney,etc) before you leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible staff had to leave

Posted Aug 8, 2014
1st they overcharge us, said will refund difference but still have not. Horrible smell in room I had to leave, staff refused to call manager to help and then just stopped talking to me and would only use hand signals. Just horrendous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from el dorado hills, ca

Great hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Great location and very clean.
Cons: breakfast room needs to be larger!!
Location: we drove to the queen mary, the uss iowa (within 10-15 min. drive), and the california science center (30 min. drive). we had a great time!
Overall we had a great stay. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to multiple restaurants. We had a car so really didn't need to walk to any sightseeing (i.e. queen mary, long beach harbor etc). The hotel parking is limited but we never had a problem finding a parking spot. The hotel gym was small (weight machine, 2 treadmills, one stairstepper, one bike.) unfortunately i could never get one of the treadmills to work but since there was never anyone in the gym that was not a problem. The breakfast area is my biggest complaint! The room is so small that it was standing room only every day we were there. One day we ate in the hotel lobby and the other day we ate in our room b/c we could never get a table. That being said, the food was kept fairly well supplied based on the demands for it! One day they were out of coffee but I came back a few minutes later and it was refilled. One day they were out of bacon but w/n a few minutes i checked back and it was refilled. The rooms were very comfortable but rated them a 4 out of 5 b/c they have doubles in the rooms, not queens and that definitely makes a difference when you are sharing a bed w/someone. The room appears to have plenty of space for queens so maybe they can work on upgrading that! The front desk staff was very responsive and friendly! The hotel is kept very clean and it is in a good neighborhood. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
First, let me explain about my rating of the hotel. The desk staff was very professional and friendly, no complaints. The housekeeping staff would not keep enough towels in the room, the bed linen was dirty with stains on the bed. We had to bring our complaint to the attention of the desk in order to get enough towels. Housekeeping just ignored our needs!!!!