Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont go motel 6 is better

Posted Dec 8, 2014
found mold, hair, have no idea when the floor was cleaned. Probably never
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it allows us to continually improve our property. Please know that your concerns have been addressed with our staff, in hopes of wowing our future guests. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Havasu AZ

Better on the inside

Posted Dec 6, 2014
The room was nicer than the outside of the building. Very spacious and clean. The room was a bit noisy, due to the freeway being so close so i would not recommend if you are a lite sleeper, however after a long day at Magic Mountain falling asleep was not difficult. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent but ends promptly at 10 so get there early as they start to take the food away.y
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Valencia Inn. We are delighted to hear that our rooms were “very spacious and clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near famous attractions and are so pleased you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to Valencia. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Valencia Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

simple but clean motel beside the highway

Posted Nov 27, 2014
stay was ok, though they wanted a 20$ deposit and couldnt explain why and didnt give any receipt for that...strange...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. As you mentioned, there is a $20.00 deposit that is used to cover any incidentals and is released back to you after your stay. There is no receipt, because it is a pending charge. Please accept our sincerest apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The place needs to be torn down and rebuilt. It's very old, things are falling apart and the physical layout of the place is bizzare. The only good thing was that it was inexpensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Convenient and pleasant place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Very close to Six Flags Magic Mountain. I don't know why some people complain about the noise with rooms facing the freeway but I stayed in one of these rooms and slept like a baby. Friendly and courteous staff. Lots of restaurants around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear DennisT, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Valencia Inn. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel is a “pleasant place to stay”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several eateries and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip Valencia. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Valencia Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
expensive for the quality of room. has ants on floor. itch after sleep on bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexicali, BC.

Comodo hotel cerca de Six Flags

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Lo cercano que queda de Six Flags
Cons: Un estacionamiento un poco mas amplio.
Location: Hay varios restaurantes cercanos al hotel.
La habitación fue muy comoda, amplia y tranquila, ademas de que hay internet gratuito.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Estimado Aurelio, Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para revisar el Best Western Valencia Inn ti. Estamos encantados de saber que usted era muy cómodo en nuestro hotel. Trabajamos duro para proveer a nuestros clientes con una propiedad en buen estado y tocados que tomó aviso. Como usted ha mencionado, ofrecemos conexión Wi-Fi gratuita y están tan contentos que se haya podido disfrutar de ella durante su estancia. Esperamos verle de nuevo, durante su próximo viaje a Valencia. Una vez más, gracias por revisar el Best Western Valencia Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lincoln, ca

Large, very clean rooms

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: They allowed dogs!
Cons: It is close to Hwy 5 and thus noise level is high.
Location: We were just passing through.
All was well. Room was large and service was very good. The free waffles in the AM were delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Valencia Inn. We are delighted to hear “all was well” during your stay with us. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast to our guests and are thrilled you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to Valencia. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Valencia Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TBD

It was terrible here.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Loud parties in the entire hotel. Scary place and felt fearful of our safety. Had to leave and find another hotel. Very disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Any, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom B

Pet Friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
While we enjoyed being able to bring our pets, the room smelled horrible (like stale cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room). I had to leave immediately upon arrival to get air freshener. It's so close to the freeway that as soon as the door opens, you feel like you're standing on the freeway. Surprisingly, it's pretty quiet when the door is closed. The bathroom towels are old and rough. I wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Vegas Family, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.