Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by john z from Monterey ca

Noisy

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Noisy from traffic and people on sidewalks people outside room no carpet on concrete floors
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fine

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: more AC outlets in room
Location: excellent position, Paramount studios, La brea tar pits, farmer's mkt, etc
excellent location, price and coffee shop DO NOT INCREASE PRICE TOO MUCH AFTER THE RENOVATION PLEASE!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs major renovation and cleaning.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
We checked out right after checking in. The room smelled badly and was in dis-repair. There were tears in the carpet. The bathtub fixtures were in bad shape. The list goes on.... This may have been a great place in the 1950's but not today.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, old and dirty

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor, noise, grounds and cleaning products. Also beds! Too soft.
Location: Great Location
The noisiest place! No sound proofing at all! Diner downstairs had loud music playing at 4:30 am. Housekeeper was on her cell phone talking for 30 minutes right outside our door! If you want to sleep...do not stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Conditions, but they are completely gutting the place as I write this
Location: Near the Grove, CBS studios, tons of dining.
Condition rated low only because there was constant major renos going on right now. Our room was very old as they had not updated it at all. That said, we absolutely loved it. Had a kitchen which is key for us, lots of room. Staff was fantastic. Great area of Hollywood to stay in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beverley Laurel GHtel Rating

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location! Prices!
Cons: Maintenance
Nice hotel. Great price. Great location. Easy and reasonable parking. Needs to be a bit better maintained but current ongoing contruction may help that in the long run. Totally recommend this hotel for LA on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: I liked the funky sixties vibe and I hope they don't change that in the remodel.
The hotel was near several nice restaurants and galleries. There were several bars that catered to a younger crowd within walking distance. The hotel is undergoing a renovation so there is some noise during the week. It was nice to have a coffee shop attached for a quick breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from San Diego

Great location, nice place, a bit dated

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Needs to be updated but they're working on it.
Went for a nice run from here. It's in a great location, lots to do around there. It is being updated at the moment so a little construction to walk around but not a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tourista from Canada

Bring your earplugs!!!

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Location and it was very clean.
Cons: Anything to minimize the noise.
Location: The Grove, several restaurants within walking.
Cute motel. Clean and comfortable, but the noise was awful. This is located on a busy street, so of course there is the expected noise of the city cars and sirens. However the walls were so thin I could hear the smashing of glasses in the below diner at 4:30am, the neighbouring units a/c sounded like a generator turning on constantly and the noises from the room above I could hear through my earplugs. If you are a heavy sleeper you will have no trouble here, otherwise spend the money and stay elsewhere. The wifi fee is also per device, just an FYI I thought that was a bit sneaky. Neighbourhood is safe and the construction during the day is very loud, but was kept to between 9am and 5pm. So as long as you expect to be out and about this really is not an issue, but you certainly would not want to hangout by the pool while the construction is occurring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kg from St.Paul, Mn

Location was great for NBC

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Swingers restaurant was the best and open long hours Felt safe Hotel helped book our bus tour.