Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, VA

Best bathroom lighting ever & very comfortable bed

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: There's only one improvement I could suggest and that is a small business center with color printer.
Location: Famous 555 Steakhouse next door. A quick 10 minute walk, and you'll find amazing sushi at Octopus. Go from 5-7 for happy hour pricing.
Surprised by how convenient the hotel location was. You can comfortably walk to everything. Quaint property, very helpful staff and outstanding restaurant. Coffee was excellent and breakfast was delicious. Famous 555 Steakhouse right next door for dinner. I will definitely stay at this property again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

What a terrific hotel, location and super staff!!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The staff if excellent. Lobby looked new, or recently remodeled, with sleek look and design, yet comfortable for guests to enjoy.
Cons: The rooms are older, in particular the bathrooms could use to upgrading.
Location: Super location. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Aquarium, Catalina Island Express, and Queen Mary all a 10 minute taxi drive.
While recently staying at the Courtyard by Marriott down town, we enjoyed a great stay, with a wonder room, great location, and excellent on premise restaurant. All restaurants were easily within walking distance from the hotel as we ventured out to enjoy the long beach area. But the most memorable of the hotel was the staff. Quinn, in particular was fantastic (ask for her, she is awesome). But the entire staff was helpful, courteous, always smiling, and quite friendly. Most of all they were accommodating, and just made the trip enjoyable. The rooms were nice, clean, and well appointed. This is not a new hotel, definitely older, but well taken care of, and again, outstanding staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Van BC

Dirt and ants

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Wonderful new lobby get to the 1970 room to find ants and dirt everywhere. No wonder upon checking out the didn't both asking how the stay was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our new lobby concept. We apologize if in any way your guest room was not up to our high cleanliness standard and will review with our team at once. Wishing you the happiest of travels in 2015 and hope we have the opportunity of serving you one day again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Overnight stay before Cruise vacation

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness...nice room
Cons: Parking was too steep a charge....include w/room or ?????
Location: Boarded Cruise ship next day, NA.
A little trouble with the AC/Heat control, but everything else was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorba Linda, CA

Great Location

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We had a great time in LB staying here. Walking distance to the beach and great restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Ab

Back again

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: This Hotel is very convenient.
Cons: It might need some updating in the future
Location: There is everything thing near this hotel the Long Beach has to offer.
This is the hotel we always return to when we are in the L.A. Area. For fun,cruising or just a family trip we have enjoyed the atmosphere of this Hotel. The Hotel is located near the core of Long Beach downtown area and within reach of all available modes of transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your recent review and continued patronage! We look forward to welcoming you back when your family travels bring you back our way! Happy Holidays!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, Ca

Modest accommodations

Posted Dec 19, 2014
I gave a low review due to terrible smell in room and hallway. When I reported it to staff no explanation or change of accommodation offered. I prefer a more customer service focused establishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention and we are very sorry that you weren't extended the opportunity to moved guestrooms. Please know that outstanding service is our custom and we apologize for falling short in this area for you. We hope you will consider a return visit and wish you happy holidays!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Harbor view

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Room next door where having a party being to loud was about 2 to 3 in morning banging on walls trying to get into our room through the door between that connects the rooms together. Had my two little ones with me they couldn't see because they where scared of the neighbor room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and we are so very sorry about the noise disturbance. It was brought to our attention and we at once addressed it with the guests next door to you. Please convey to your children how sorry we are as well. We hope this unfortunate situation doesn't affect our opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to the Long Beach area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Ants and hair!

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Booked this hotel for a couple of co-workers based on the guest ratings. They were very disappointed in the quality and cleanliness. They found hair in the bathroom and ants in the room. We won't be booking here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate you bringing to our attention that the guest room reserved for your co-workers was not up to our traditional excellent standard. Cleanliness is of utmost importance and please be assured that we have addressed with our housekeeping and maintenance departments at once. We hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity of welcoming your associates back when business travels bring them back to Long Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RANCHO CUCAMONGA

NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: THE LOBBY IS VERY CHIC AND BEUTIFUL
Cons: THE ROOM COULD DO A LITTLE FACE LIFT SO IT GOES WITH THE REST OF THE LOBBY
Location: THE CONVENTION CENTER IS CLOSE SO ARE THE SHOPS AND RESTURANTS.
IT WAS A REAL PLEASANT HOTEL I WOULD BOOK AGAIN WITH THEM.