Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dos Palos, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
This is a nice place to stay to experience Long Beach. It is within walking distance of the pier and many eateries. The restruant down stairs is very good so is the deli across the street. I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay Area

Not bad but not like before...

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Appreciated the water in the lobby. Staff members were all friendly. Technician came and quickly fixed a bath tub clog that a maid had ignored.
Cons: More open space/landscaping in which to stroll.
Location: Pretty convenient. Right by the Art Walk. The Green House Bistro/Cafe on Linden is really good.
There used to be a great deal that included breakfast and parking. Now we're told this isn't a "full-service" hotel but one that caters more to business clientele. How are those incompatible? Parking is expensive, and there's no break for guests or even multi-days. The restaurant looks like it wants to draw in more foot traffic, which is understandable, but there are no guest-friendly options, from what I could tell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older building, updated rooms

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Older building but room was updated. Bathroom was particularly nice. Curtains were a bit older, and AC unit was a bit noisy. Check in/out was smooth and speedy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location and how quiet it was
Cons: Rooms need some renovation.
Location is perfect in the downtown LB area. The lobby and bar area are really nice and have been updated however the room we had on the 8th floor was old and outdated. It was clean but not nearly as nice as the other Courtyard by Marriott hotels we have stayed at. Nice and quiet and the beds are comfortable. The walls, doors and bathroom are showing their age with dings and nicks and the tub did not drain well when taking a shower which is my biggest pet peeve when it comes to hotels. Nothing worse than standing in dirty water when showering.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Covina, CA

The hotel was nice, staff courteous.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The location was close to all the main attractions in Long Beach. It was very beautiful inside and the rooms were very clean.
Cons: Free parking and Jacuzzi available all year round since it was cold.
Location: Shoreline Village, Restaurant row, Convention Center, Queen Mary
The hotel was very nice, staff courteous and explained things well. I was however unaware of a $ 18.00 Parking fee that was automatically added to my bill. Perhaps I missed it on expedia when I booked the room and all the information that is on the website. It could be prompted some place. Only one complaint and that the Jacuzzi was cold and not heated for my use during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, VA

Best bathroom lighting ever & very comfortable bed

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: There's only one improvement I could suggest and that is a small business center with color printer.
Location: Famous 555 Steakhouse next door. A quick 10 minute walk, and you'll find amazing sushi at Octopus. Go from 5-7 for happy hour pricing.
Surprised by how convenient the hotel location was. You can comfortably walk to everything. Quaint property, very helpful staff and outstanding restaurant. Coffee was excellent and breakfast was delicious. Famous 555 Steakhouse right next door for dinner. I will definitely stay at this property again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

What a terrific hotel, location and super staff!!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The staff if excellent. Lobby looked new, or recently remodeled, with sleek look and design, yet comfortable for guests to enjoy.
Cons: The rooms are older, in particular the bathrooms could use to upgrading.
Location: Super location. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Aquarium, Catalina Island Express, and Queen Mary all a 10 minute taxi drive.
While recently staying at the Courtyard by Marriott down town, we enjoyed a great stay, with a wonder room, great location, and excellent on premise restaurant. All restaurants were easily within walking distance from the hotel as we ventured out to enjoy the long beach area. But the most memorable of the hotel was the staff. Quinn, in particular was fantastic (ask for her, she is awesome). But the entire staff was helpful, courteous, always smiling, and quite friendly. Most of all they were accommodating, and just made the trip enjoyable. The rooms were nice, clean, and well appointed. This is not a new hotel, definitely older, but well taken care of, and again, outstanding staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Van BC

Dirt and ants

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Wonderful new lobby get to the 1970 room to find ants and dirt everywhere. No wonder upon checking out the didn't both asking how the stay was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our new lobby concept. We apologize if in any way your guest room was not up to our high cleanliness standard and will review with our team at once. Wishing you the happiest of travels in 2015 and hope we have the opportunity of serving you one day again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Overnight stay before Cruise vacation

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness...nice room
Cons: Parking was too steep a charge....include w/room or ?????
Location: Boarded Cruise ship next day, NA.
A little trouble with the AC/Heat control, but everything else was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorba Linda, CA

Great Location

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We had a great time in LB staying here. Walking distance to the beach and great restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.