Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Walking distance to the beach but quiet area!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Close to beach/activities/quiet
Cons: They should really give away more cookies
Location: Beach, bike paths/running paths, parks, shopping, resturants
We stayed at the Double Tree for four nights recently. It was a perfect get away for a family with a young daughter! The hotel was quiet and well maintained but not too stuffy for our one year old. There is an absolute lovely park down the street (across from the Starbucks/town hall) with a great splash pad and equipment. The whole family loved it. Close to the beach and lots of great restaurants too (Buddha's belly on Broadway is our favorite). We walked everywhere from here. It is also adjacent to the freeway and high school but we never noticed the noise. The hotel said we "had to" do valet parking. It is $28/day (plus tip). We felt that was a little outrageous (would rather spend that money on eating out and fun activities). There is a parking garage across the street (covered parking-our car was always cool even though it was hot out)-$5/day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great hotel, close to everything.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location was close to shopping & pier. Easy to get to.
Cons: A few more lounge chairs by the pool
Location: Walking distance to the pier and shops. lots to do & see.
We enjoyed the hotel. The staff was friendly. Although we were the only one's in the restaurant, we thought it was fabulous. Excellent service, large portions and very tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great location -no surprises- but $28 for parking

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location and room size
Cons: scrap the parking charge
Great location to stay in Santa Monica, within easy walking distance to the 4th Street Quartier and the St Monica Pier. The breakfast is good but overpriced and in a soulless dining room, you get better value and local atmosphere with a 5 minute stroll to one of the places on 4th Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Everything that you would need to enjoy your vacation
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Very good to go grab a bite or go to the beach even driving to Hollywood was just30 minutes by car.
You would be going about your business passing by the front desk, the concierge, the parking staff and you would get a good morning etc. and a welcome back on your return.It was central to everything we wanted to do and go.I would go back and recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I agree. With our attentive and always smiling team combined with our incredible location and generously sized comfortable rooms you have all the ingredients for the perfect stay. And yes the sofa beds are comfortable as we are ‘perfect for a family’. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Brian Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice option for traveling with kids

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location, all services, not the best ones, could be better
Cons: Food, bathroom privacy
Location: beach, pier, shopping
For the price the facilities should be on better shape, is an old hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We shoot for four and five star results at our hotel. We are so sorry we did not impress you enough to receive that rating and will continue to improve so that on your next visit you will feel good about rating us 5 stars! Thanks so much for your business! Looking forward to your return. Warm regards, Brian Murphy General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood

Don't Bother

Posted Aug 17, 2014
There are so many more nicer places to stay in the Santa Monica area. I made reservations here for my wedding night in April and booked two rooms: a king bed for my fiancé and I and a room with 2 queens for my parents and their friends who traveled all the way from Australia. I even called in advance to let them know it was our wedding night and they promised to make our stay special. My parents check in at check in time and the hotel gives him a room with one king because they oversold the two queen category. We had to shamefully send our friends somewhere else in an uber. Also, my parents room had a huge red stain on their carpet. Disgusting! And in terms of my room, no promises were kept. There wasn't champagne or a nice view. I was looking at a baseball feild. Really romantic guys. Also, we had a DND on our door and the housekeeper barged in at 8 AM in the morning. Honestly, spend the extra dollars at a place like Shutters because this place is just awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate your feedback as this is a fantastic tool for us to constantly improve our guest’s experience. I have shared your concerns with my team and all have taken this to heart. Please know that this type of experience is extremely rare for us as the hundreds of other reviews speak to but we own this and will be making appropriate changes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us a chance to take care of you in the future. Brian Murphy General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Very good hotel, very expensive

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Great location, near the 3rd Street Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. Very comfortable bed. Nice two-room suite. Friendly staff. Free Internet.
Cons: It's very expensive. Parking was $28 per night—pretty typical for an upscale L.A. hotel. The room cost over $400. I booked it as a splurge.
Location: 3rd Street Prominade, Santa Monica Pier, many upscale and less expensive restaurants, including a Denny's for breakfast.
I stayed one night in Santa Monica's Doubletree hotel. The hotel is great—very clean, comfortable, and quiet. My room was a suite on the seventh floor with a nice view of Los Angeles and the mountains. I stay at hotels in this price range only occasionally. This one matches up well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide this five star rating. We do have a wonderful location and our team genuinely cares about every guests stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back again soon. Brian Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

An excellent location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The hotel's location is within a walking distance from the beach and from the Promenade. Very friendly staff except the lady at the bar in the upper lounge. Rooms are very clean. The air conditioning had a mind of its own. An overall great experience!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
George; Thanks for your business and for taking the time to write this nice review! Both are truly appreciated. I will follow up with my bartender to see what happened. Please accept my sincere apologies. Looking forward to your return. Brian Murphy General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Location: great coffee shops up main st, close to pier, third street promenade all short walking distance. also close to freeway when your heading out.
don't let the distance from the more expensive hotels fool you, this hotel is an easy walk to the santa monica pier or third street promenade where theres great shopping and restaurants, also if you have a car you don't have to get stuck paying valet fees there, across the road its all day parking for $5, only downside to that is theres no in-out privileges in other words you have to pay every time you leave carpark, but its free first half hour, then like a dollar or two for a couple of hours to a max of $5 and yes you can leave your car there overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very fortunate to have such a fantastic location, yet quiet, restful and relaxing, and when you combine this with our wonderful staff and huge two room suites, we have all the ingredients to make your visit to Santa Monica unforgettable. I do understand your sensitivity to valet costs. With our great location, just a quick walk to the beach, 3rd street promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier, parking is at a premium and difficult to find which is why we protect parking spots for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Warm regards, Brian Murphy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I was on a short vacation and this hotel was recommended to me. It was easy to find and very convenient to everything. The valet staff and hotel staff were always extremely helpful and pleasant. Great dinner recommendations from the front desk staff for places off the beaten path.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you were able to experience our friendly staff as they all go out of their way to take care of each and every one of our guests. And yes, we do have a wonderful location next to the beach, 3rd street promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier so when you arrive, you can just relax and take a quick walk to all of the wonderful sites in Santa Monica. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Warm regards, Brian Murphy General Manager