Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Inexpensive motel near Hollywood and Korea Town

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant. Free parking. Price. Nice pool.. In room refrigerator.
Cons: They need new carpets, and general updating. If a coffee maker, microwave or hairdryer was available upon request, I would like to have been informed.
Location: The nearest restaurant/coffee shop was about four blocks away. We were close to Hollywood and The Farmer's Market (not walking distance however)
This hotel is a bit worn and lacks amenities such as a microwave, coffee maker or hair dryer. Coffee was available in a vending machine on the first floor. The bed was comfortable; we requested two additional pillows, as only two were provided. The carpets were clean but stained. The bathroom was had been updated and the shower was good. Old style TV. (ie not a flat screen). Our first night there was incredibly noisy due to a huge group of European 20-somethings who were there for the night (though not apparently to actually sleep!). Once they left, all was perfectly quiet. We were issued a single (actual) key and a TV remote. We requested a second key, which was given to us with a lecture about the penalty for not returning it.There is a nice pool with tables around it in the atrium, which we (and our grandchildren) made use of several times. Because the location was excellent (near family and Hollywood), the bed comfortable, and the price right ($110 per night compared to $200 per night for the motels we might typically use) we stayed. Unless we come into money, we would stay there again since it is so convenient to where our children live.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Good hotel in downtown LA.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: Great location for a business visit to downtown LA when you are on a budget.
Only spent a few hours of one night at this hotel. Called in for a late check-in and they were very accommodating, nice. Our room was clean and comfortable. It is clearly an old building that could use some renovations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Room was large. Pool was nice. Welcoming staff.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean pool, A/C, large room.
Cons: Needs paint and some cleaning. Coffee in lobby would be nice!
Location: ElRey Theater, LaBrea tar pits, Peterson museum.
Stayed 2 nights. Good location. Felt safe in neighborhood. Frig in room, microwaves in pool deck, no coffee. Parking spaces too small. Maid service good, front desk welcoming and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Clean room for a decent price.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Older hotel but kept clean. Staff were very nice and accommodating. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilshire

GREAT Customer Service and CLEAN Facilities!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Great Location, Location, Location! Front Desk Staff VARDAN was amazing and the Cleaning crew of women were sanitary and spotless!!
Cons: 1) Add Microwave to Rooms... 2) Get Cable or "Conventional Satellite T.V.
Location: GREAT Location Between 2-4 miles to landmarks! Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre, Hollywood & Vine, Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Paramount Studios, etc.
If you want luxury and amazing amenities, then this is not the Hotel for you. But if you want a fabulously sanitized room, AMAZING customer service from front desk staff VARDAN, followed by AWESOME customer service from Manager Noah, and THE BEST location EVER, then this is the hotel for you! I had an air conditioning issue and it was addressed immediately, professionally, and to my satisfaction from Front Staff VARDAN and Manager Noah. And because of the way they handled it, I will refer others to this hotel. Thanks for an amazing 1st visit to Los Angeles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

the

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: close to everything we need
Cons: if the place is remodel and updated, new carpet/tv/ac, i will recommend it because location is great.
Location: close to shops,eating places, griffin park
the bathroom is updated and cleaned, but the carpet is hold and dirty, AC unit does not work well, TV outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to our destination

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The fridge and the pool.
Cons: The rooms could use a fresh update.
Location: Close to Holleywood and Sunset Blvd. Close to Consulates on Wilshire.
This hotel was way cheaper than any other in this area. That is the reason people stay there. The hotel is dated. They still use real keys and check out the tv remote when you check in. The rooms were clean but old. Small old tv's, carpet, and linens. The bathroom had been updated but nothing too nice. The pool was pretty nice and was clean. It was a quiet place to sleep. We really had no problems with the hotel other than it seemed a little dingy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Noah, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing the review! I am happy to hear the hotel was clean and you had no issues while staying. I realize the physical appearance is not 2014, but good news is we are in the process of updating so perhaps next time when you come by, you can experience the newer version of Dunes Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

was just to sleep for one night

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: was convenient location to hollywood
Cons: everything
Location: within close driving to the Hollywood bowl and the walk of stars
was just to sleep for one night. the room was clean and the room served it's purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Noah, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad the room was satisfactory to your standards. Cleanliness is our top priority and we look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Jason from San Jose

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff, quiet and clean rooms
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EKW from San Diego

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old school hotel east of Hollywood Not the best ever Uses old key rather then the new key cards. Shower was unable to adjust the head and just shoots where it is set at. Tv was old school not HD and they give you the remote at the front desk. Smelled like old Vegas smokey hotel. Only stayed the night.