Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2014
I was put into a room next to an elevator. I explained to the front desk that I needed a quieter room. They told me that the rooms for the room type I booked are all next to the elevator. I explained that there is no "next to the elevator" room type listed and that I wouldn't have booked it if there was. They moved me to a quiter, and actually smaller, room but charged me to do so! While the hotel is pretty on the outside it is basically a very old hotel that offers its history as the key feature and not the comfort of its guests. The rooms were small and the hotel noisy. I would never return. The bellmen and valet were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, comfy room, cool location. Parking is a drag, but I didn't have a car while I was there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by M+M from ELMHURST,IL

great hotel, but a little pricey

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kris from NZ

Great location but...

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is awesome and the style of the hotel and rooms is great. The rooms are a touch small but not too bad. However they are very noisy - feels like there is no sound proofing and next door feels like they are in the room! Also the laundry shoot - while cute it is the original, is very noisy - like a price of corrugated iron is flapping around on the side of the building - sometimes you want an afternoon nap when traveling and this was next to impossible! When we asked what the noise is we were met with smiles about the authenticity of it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by visitors2LA from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great setting and location, good selection of restaurants and shopping nearby. Very clean hotel, service was very good and historical, art-deco aspects give it a very nice feel. Breakfast on the verandah overlooking Ocean Ave was a great way to start the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by rich from san diego

Business

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in Santa Monica Downtown area. It has views of the ocean. It a classy old hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Azeem from Los Angeles, Ca

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: The view was beautiful and expansive even from the 3rd floor. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Better, modern bath. The peep-hole in the door didnt shut properly. Better air conditioning. And also updated elevators. They took forever!
The location is the best thing about this hotel. Everything else was just so-so. If you feel that a view of the ocean and pier is worth the price then go for it. If you prefer comfort, go with another hotel. The room had all of the basics but lacked that extra something. No Jacuzzi tub, No in-room air conditioning. Speaking of air-conditioning, I stayed her on Christmas eve this year and had to have the fan on all night because it was so hot! The central air did not work in my room (#301). I could not open the window because of all of the street noise from Ocean blvd. Otherwise this is a well located hotel with everything one needs to make them comfortable. I personally expect more amenities for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall very nice.

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Great location. Beautiful art deco building. Nice charm. Unfortunately I was charged for beverages I never consumed. Check your bill carefully. Veranda service was slow but it was crowded on Christmas morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com