Ratings based on 596 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff and excellent location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: History, location;
Location: Shopping at 3rd St Promenade, restaurants (liked Pono for hamburgers), beach and pier.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful to us. Location by the beach was excellent, and close to some LA tours, plus shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Panama city

THANKS, we will be back

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: service, facilities, location, atmosphere
Cons: valet parking should be a little faster. seems you have a capacity issue.
Location: all great
it was very good, loved the location and the friendliness of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Hotel best for beach and shopping

Posted Oct 31, 2014
This was the best hotel we stayed at through our five weeks in America. Santa Monica is a very clean and safe suburb of LA. For our last stay prior to coming home the Georgian ticked all the boxes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great and close to the beach.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: location. Staff
Cons: Price of parking
Location: Pier, venice beach, venice canals
Lovely hotel, great location. Staff very friendly. Would say seemed a little overpriced especially as we had a room near lift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Your review is important to us, thank you for sharing. Additional room types and locations are available, to avoid a future situation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

run down and overpriced

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: location, hotel staff were all very nice. The rooms were very big and could sleep quite a few people if you need that.
Cons: A definite upgrade to the rooms and structure if you are going to charge boutique rates.
Hotel has a really nice facade, location is great and reviews in general seemed solid... but when we got there it was a bit of a letdown. So much noise from room to room. Woken up multiple nights to sounds of baby crying and someone having a serious barf sessions and couples arguing. Just had a weird uncomfortable feel overall. I would 100 percent recommend the Viceroy over staying here if you are after a boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the noise that we could not control, had we been made aware, your experience may have been enhanced. Updates and room appointments will begin in 2015. Please take a look and consider returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Australia

5 nights in ocean front room

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Its character. A perfect example of a beautiful art deco hotel. It has retained its elegance whilst maintaining some modern features.
Cons: Nothing - keep it exactly asis.
Location: Location is perfect - wonderful base to explore the pier, beach (across the road) and local shopping - 3rd St Promenade. The verandah is perfect.
Last leg of our west coast tour and The Georgian stands out superbly. Wonderful base to explore Santa Monica. Moderately priced. Ocean front is highly recommended. sunsets are exceptional. Verandah is the perfect place to relax for meals, drinks and watching the passing parade of people and the sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Fits right in

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: spacious rooms and location
Cons: dump the minibar monitor
Location: all of LA
Large, clean, and comfortable room. Pricey but par for the area. All employees extremely friendly and helpful. Nice café to sit and wake up in the morning. Location immediately adjacent to beach and across form Santa Monica Pier hard to beat. Pillows way too stiff for comfort, but no huge problem. Bizarre and annoying big brother system for nicking folks who use the mini bar - makes you wonder what else they are monitoring. Staff were quick to provide us a mini fridge for our personal use when requested. Need to trigger that have to push call button on each of the two lifts individually...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: almost all of the staff members were exceptionally happy and friendly, don't think I have ever felt this welcome before. loved the old elevators!
Location: bike ride on the beach is great. Misfit restaurant is a real treat, atmosphere is fun and food is unique and delicious.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay, and the chance to discover Santa Monica beachside for the first time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Pretty hotel with amazing sunset views

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Great location close to good places to eat, the Santa Monica pier, the beach, shops. Fantastic verandah bar/restaurant to watch the sunset from. Room was smallish but overlooked the ocean, and comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in fantastic location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very good hotel, large comfortable room and bathroom. Stones throw from the fantastic Santa Monica pier and 2 blocks from the shopping and restaurants on third street promenade. Very safe location and ideal for the beach.