Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

beautiful and new

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: new, spacious and cheap parking
Cons: personally, the reason i would not book again would be location. for me, it's not very close to the areas in LA that i need to be.
new and very nice. lots of parking and super cheap (only $7). the rooms are very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great hotel in central location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
First of all, understand that this is not some fancy 5-star resort. Once you do, you can appreciate this little jewel. From the beginning of our stay, we were treated with warmth and humor by the staff. Our room was an Executive King and consisted of an extremely comfortable bed with nice bedding, a desk, lounge chair, and a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was nice, with new sink fixtures and a clean tub/shower. While we didn't have a spectacular view, we did have a nice view of the mountains beyond the houses and businesses in the area. I saw many reviews stating that people didn't feel safe in this area, but the neighborhood is simply full of businesses that cater to automobiles. I would not feel uncomfortable here at all. Just be smart and aware as you walk around as you would anywhere. Our room itself was clean and quiet. And I can't state enough how nice it was to have convenient, safe parking that only cost us $7 a night (as opposed to anywhere from $25 to $45 a night elsewhere). We are able to leave our car in a clean, well-lit lot that was easily seen from the lobby. This hotel also has a small, but very nice, swimming pool and sun deck. We were a bit sad that it closed so early (8pm), but we managed to use it one of the nights we were there. The complimentary breakfast was great as well--many options including bacon, eggs, pancakes and fruit. It helped save us money and kept us full til dinner! A truly nice chain hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Very enjoyable stay.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: New facilities, clean and good location. Knowledgeable staff.
Cons: Possibly addition of a hot tub. Longer pool hours, earlier in the morning.
Location: Very close to the subway line which gets you anywhere in LA. Nice restaurants nearby.
Location was good since it had easy access to the subway line. Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Good free breakfast included. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Decent hotel with easy access to major attractions

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location within easy access to major freeways. Friendly staff from all that work there.
Cons: Quieter AC systems. I would have liked a hot jacuzzi but not essential
Overall a great experience for my dollar. Hotel was clean, quiet inside. Nonsmoking is a plus for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Close to universal

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great hotel only 10 minutes from universal,great free breakfast,room was clean and comfy,staff was great and helpful,would recommend this hotel to everybody especially if you want to be near universal studios and don't want to spend a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Surprisingly quiet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The parking under the hotel was very clean and quaint with the movie posters.
Cons: The only downside might be that it's not exactly a neighborhood you'd want to walk around at night.
Location: If you want to have an excellent meal, Don Cuco's is a great Mexican restaurant a short drive away.
I had read about the renovations and I was not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the staff were very kind. I was surprised at how quiet our room was, especially since it was just on the third floor and was facing the street. It was a bit uncomfortable, however, when the clerk informed me on checkin that I'd prepaid for the room with Expedia, but that the hotel would not be paid until I checked out the next day. Um, okay dude it's not really any of my business how you've set up your business transactions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Brand new hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Hotel was great and brand new. Room was clean and spacious. Easy check in. Only drawback was the neighborhood was a bit rough. Would not go walking around. Stayed there for a trip to universal studios and it was perfect for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Overall great location!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff.
Location: Universal Studios is just down the street and North Hollywood dining and shopping in the vicinity. Is not too far from Mann's Chinese Theater.
We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express not knowing what to expect. The hotel was very nice and the staff could not be more helpful especially, Elayne. This hotel just opened December 31, 2013 and was so clean and new. We stayed during the 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful view of two fireworks shows. This place is conveniently located close to Universal Studios and other attractions. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It's such a beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly. The morning breakfast was very good. I truly enjoyed my stay to the max. I will definitely be coming back. ☺
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
the air conditioner is working noisily. The staffs are very touching. It's our first time experience that we can have breakfast at 4:00 in the morning.