Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from sydney

Convenient, relaxed and welcoming

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Cons: The premises is a little old, but we overheard staff at the front desk talking to a customer about an upgrade coming soon.
Location: Great location!
Don't be put off by the 2 star rating, this was a friendly, welcoming and very clean/comfortable stay. Close to lots of restaurants, attractions, supermarket and great shopping. Good breakfast in the morning, quiet street, good sized rooms. Good for a family, lots of young people there as well. Overall highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Scotland

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent Art Deco themed hotel. Very clean. Staff excellent, especially cleaners who helped us out several times. Continental breakfast OK.
Cons: Toasters very slow.
Location: Just round corner from Hollywood Boulevard. Plenty to do and see.
Great hotel and staff. Good location. Comfy beds. Table and chairs so continental breakfast is taken to room, 'fridge, microwave. Very roomy. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iris from Lompoc, CA

Nice hotel closer to Hollywood Blvd

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We liked the hotel a lot. Parking could of been better. . We were afraid to leave in the car and lose our spot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from New Jersey

Nice hotel...retro but updated and immaculate

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My experience was good...stayed there bc it was the most reasonably priced hotel in the area for the Hollywood Half Marathon, which I was participating in and it was my bday! Only problem was, one parking spot per room. Their parking lot is SO small and hard to maneuver once u are even parked. It was exhausting to get my car out of the lot. It was $10/day...and, my friend couldn't park there so they sent her to the mall around the corner and that was even more of a headache, but only cost $10/day too ... Such a hassle... Prob the biggest issue...but I'm used to parking issues...overall it was a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Urmila

Very close to sights

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location, service, breakfast & tea/coffee service.
Cons: Carpets need thorough cleaning & beds need to upgraded
Location: Very close to Graumann theatre, Dolby theatre & other Hollywood sights
Very good location, very good service, great breakfast & always available coffee & tea service. But the carpets could be cleaner (maybe get them washed?) and beds were not very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Birmingham, AL

Nice hotel close to many attractions in LA

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Clean. Close to attractions
Cons: Parking space
Very good location in Hollywood area. Staff were very responsive and respectful. Rooms were as described online and appropriately cleaned daily. Major negative is the parking. The parking lot is extremely small and opens on a very busy street. We had to park in the closeby mall's parking deck which was not a major issue by itself
2 out of 5
by Flavius from Edinburgh, UK

Poor hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Free tea and coffee.
Cons: Staff members can be a bit more welcoming and get rid of that unhealthy breakfast.
Location: You got the Hollywood walk of fame right around the corner with some great restaurants and shops. Griffith Park is right above and great for hiking.
One out of the four staff members we met was nice and smiled at people, the rest didn't seem to like their job very much. The "continental" breakfast was a few sliced bagels you could toast, some apples and oranges, and snack pack versions of Froot Loops and other ridiculously unhealthy cereals. There was free coffee and tea at all times though, which was nice. The hotel car park was very small and narrow and if you were unlucky enough to arrive late you had to park your car in the middle of the car park, blocking every other car from getting out. This meant you had to leave your car keys at the reception. At some point the whole space was full and we had to park the car some distance away in a public car park. The hotel paid for it though. There was no safety deposit box in the room. They offered a few very small boxes behind the reception counter, but that wouldn't do for anything larger than money, passports, etc. The beds were fairly hard, uncomfortable and difficult to get used to. The air con unit was loud and took a few minutes before it would blow warm air. There was also a small fridge in the room, which was useful to have. It would, however, emit a loud noise every 30 or so minutes, which made falling asleep a bit difficult sometimes. The location is great and if you don't expect much from the hotel it will do its job. You will hopefully spend most of your time outside anyway. I don't know how it got the rating it has though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex joannides from toronto

Excellent for what it is

Posted Mar 14, 2014
This is a perfect spot if you want to be close to the action. It's clean and comfortable for a very old facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT location and HOTEL STAFF IS THE BEST!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Location: Literally on the back side of the Chinese Theater block. Safe neighborhood. Bus stops on Hollywood Blvd by McDonald's. Hotel parking lot close by.
AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL HOTEL STAFF!!! Cute, clean rooms. In the 2 queen deluxe w/kitchen, the fridge had enough room for 2 take out small pizza boxes, another styrofoam takeout container, waters, with some space left over. Microwave and stove, also. Cozy beds, plenty of towels, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by candice from Melbourne, Australia

Close to Hollywood

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Little bit dated but very close to Hollywood and friendly staff. room was spacious. well worth the price paid. breakfast is average but given it is included, no complaints from me.