Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Remember the saying. .."You get what you pay for". This is an older hotel and it shows. That said, it is in great shape. The staff is phenomenal and the included hot breakfast two doors down is at a great 'hole in the wall' restaurant "House of Tacos". The location is all you could ask for, hence the price. We look forward to staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

OK for the price

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The location in Hollywood was very convenient. The parking lot was convenient as well, although at night it filled up quickly.
Cons: Our room desperately needed a new paint job as well as some decorations. The mattress needed replacing as well.
Location: Walking distance from the Walk of Fame and Grauman's Chinese Theater. Convenient to all other LA/Hollywood attractions.
As soon as we arrived at the Downtowner in LA (a stop on our road trip down the coast) I was disappointed by the condition of the facilities. The exterior, including the pool, as well as the lobby seemed shabby and unattended to. The woman at the reception desk seemed friendly enough, however she neglected to tell us that Hollywood Blvd would be closed for most of the next day for several blocks surrounding our hotel for a parade. Luckily, we left for the day before the parade started, but when we returned to the hotel we couldn't get close to it and had to park about half a mile away. Several guests at the hotel were stuck there with their cars until the parade ended. It seems the front desk neglected to tell most, if not all, of their guests. I felt that this was bad business practice and disrupted many people's vacation plans. Otherwise, the hotel room was minimally decorated and kept to only the basic level of cleanliness and comfort. The mattress was definitely cheap and the air conditioner very noisy. The bathroom was small and provided no counter space. There was parking available but it tended to fill up at night. I'm not sure if there were enough spots for all guests. We were on a tight budget and this hotel was a great location, but I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location and value for money

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, affordability and use of private driver Bachir. He has local knowledge, is very nice and cheaper than a cab.
Cons: New coat of paint to freshen up the room and make it look cleaner. Air conditioning that is quieter. New tv.
Location: Short walk to main sights on Hollywood Blvd. Close to Ralph's supermarket for groceries (only half a block away) and Starbucks.
I read the reviews myself before booking here but decided to based on its great location on Hollywood Blvd, and great price. It is not down the main end of Hollywood Blvd, but only a 10 minute walk to see the stars on the sidewalk, and about 15-20 mins to the Chinese Theatre (depending on your walking pace). The woman at the front desk was pleasant, and allowed us to check in early, although she made us aware that the room had not been cleaned. This was fine for us as all we wanted to do was dump our bags, change into new clothes and go. The room smelled initially, and I blame the prior guest as it smelled like cigarettes (although a non-smoking room). This smell eventually dissipated. The room itself has old furnishings and the walls are a bit dirty. We were given clean towels daily, the water pressure was fantastic and water always hot. We also had use of a coffee peculator and microwave (which we didn't use), as well as a fridge. There was also air conditioning which worked but was very noisy so we turned it off to sleep. I would definitely stay here again. If all you want is a place to sleep and shower, then this is fine for a good price. It also has a pool (which we didnt get to use) and the room has an old tv.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hollywood Downtowner

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: free parking free wifi location
Cons: Breakfast, Noise,
Location: Holly blvd, runyon canyon, Santa monica
The location of the hotel was fantastic - Was only a 15 minute walk to Hollywood which was great. Facilities were ok - Nice place but in need of some renovation i.e lick of paint - Saying that our room was nice and spacious. There wasn't much soundproofing in the rooms as quite often you would get woken up by the other guests - But this didn't always happen. Breakfast was average although it was appreciated as it came with the package. The gentleman that ran breakfast was sometimes a little rude. It was supposed to be ready for 7.30 however on a couple of occasions it didn't start until 8.00 which was a bit of pain especially as you would of planned your day around having breakfast early. Free parking and free wifi was excellent and the hotel staff were always very polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in convenient location!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This hotel is great as it's right near the subway line. We were able to get to the main area (Hollywood and Highland) by subway as it was just two stops away and super easy. The hotel staff were also friendly and very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent hotel with great breakfast.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The gentleman who checked me into my hotel was very nice and helpful. However the woman working the desk in the morning not so much. Breakfast is nice. Lots of options to choose from. Pool area is a little small but still nice if you just want to go for a quick swim. Parking is a little annoying as the spots are a little tight. all in all a decent hotel for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

It's doable!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The room was nothing fancy, but it wasn't terrible either...it was doable. Equipped with an old air conditioner unit, microwave, and mini frig. NO BUGS.. a PLUS! It's conveniently located to the hollywood strip, but you will need transportation to get to other attractions a little farther out. The motel also has a pool and offers free breakfast daily at the house of tacos 2 doors down. The housekeepers come daily to change towels, trash, and make your bed. Make sure if you need 2 beds that you book 2 beds, as they will not change it once you get there! Other than that if you don't plan on staying in your room, you'll be just fine. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves! Can't wait to return!
2 out of 5
by Tina

Meh

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Check-in time was later than most hotels at 4 PM. The receptionist was very nice; however, the lobby area was encompassed in herbal incense smell that is not pleasant and prompts me to have watery eyes and itchy nose. My room also had a musty smell and was quite nauseating. Bed sheets, pillow sheets, and the like were incredibly itchy and thin. They need new supplies for the bedroom. Wifi worked well. I did like the free parking too.
3 out of 5
by john from melbourne australia

hollywood

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: good for a budjet. place was old but clean.
Cons: better access to 1st floor. no lift
Location: nothing much nearby and no info what was near by. caught metro to hollywood main area and spent most of our time there
bit far from the hollywood atractions but can catch metro. $5 for all day pass or $1.50 single trip. found staff a bit rude and abrut but we were allowed into our room as we arrived before check in and allowed to used pool after we had checked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Close to places we wanted to go, I liked the retro style.