Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
If I had to choose again, I'd choose somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Great location. Could use some improvement.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location. Close to train/bus lines.
Cons: I had to buy my own soap. The room and towels were worn.
Location: Griffith Park and Observatory. 20 minute train ride to downtown.
I chose this hotel primarily for the location. There's a train line and several bus lines nearby, which made it pretty easy to get around the city. The staff was friendly and professional. The room, furniture, and towels were all pretty worn, but usable. There was a lot of street noise at night including sirens from the fire station a couple blocks up the road, so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

You get what you pay for....

Posted May 19, 2015
When we arrived we had problems parking because other guests took 2 spaces in each of the open garages areas. The cigarette smell in the small lobby almost overwhelmed us. The hostess was very pleasant and had our room ready for us. The room, however, was extremely dated. No mirror in the bathroom, no sound insulation in the walls and our room was on the third floor. Lots of traffic noise and noise from other rooms. Fortunately the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast at the taco shop two doors down was very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom lima, peru

Will never come back

Posted May 2, 2015
dangerous zone, unfriendly staff, dirty rooms. The person in the front office was obnoxious and bad temperred. Room smelled bad. Dirty bathrooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lille

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Lille indeklemt i den "usikre" del af LA. Ok morgenmad på cafe ved siden af
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
It was close to everything and their hot breaskfast is really good. Parking is a little limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, OR

Older hotel with character and charm

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Courtyard around the pool with potted flowers. Comfortable bed in comparison to Motel 6 and Hojo stays.
Cons: Newer windows would help reduce noise from Hollywood Blvd.
Location: Near Hwy 101 on ramps and a short distance to Walk of Fame, Sunset Strip and Santa Monica Blvd.
We spent two nights in LA. We reserved a single queen room. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We were given room 12. It's a first floor room over the parking area on the side of the building. When we first checked in a fire engine was dispatched (fire house is located just a couple blocks west of the hotel) and the sirens were quite loud. (Newer windows would do wonders) I was concerned that this was setting the stage for our stay but surprisingly sirens didn't disturb our sleep at all. The room was clean, the TV new and surprisingly large and the bed surprisingly comfortable (comfort of beds is always subjective, of course). The bathroom could have used a little more vanity space but not a huge issue. I read reviews including comments about the towels, they were perhaps not five star quality, but certainly adequate, and plentiful. The wifi wouldn't consistently connect but I'm not sure if that was my computer or the wifi. It was fine when I was connected. The neighborhood, while rough appearing in the immediate block had many great stores, restaurants, banks and such just to the east a very short walk away. Parking while tight at times, was free - a huge bonus- and we always found a spot in the lot. I love the courtyard feel with the pool and cheery flower pots all around. Hollywood Downtowner, a diamond in the rough. Excellent value for amenities, character and charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indio, CA

LOVED IT!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: the room was great! spacious and very clean.
Cons: nothing, loved it!
Location: Close to everything.. Food, shopping and theaters
Great room, pricing and location. Staff was very friendly and room was very nice. Will definitely be staying again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
But the environment is generally near Hollywood studios
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our trip to Hollywood

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Great place to visit now if you are staying here make sure you don't drop the pole in the shower from holding on to the curtain it fell 3 times it's a lil cheap push in that hold to the wall when extended. Trbl opening window but beside that the bed was comfy. TV was nice the smell of the room goes away after 20 min in but if you leave and come back in it will smell a bit bad