Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel review.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Just horrible the staff was extremely rude. No microwave ! No ice no water no nothing. In my room no hot water to shower with my housbad doughter & I weren't happy what's so ever. Never coming here again.!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice area but horrible room service

Posted Apr 16, 2014
We stayed five nights in total but no one bother to change the sheets and towels at all!
3 out of 5
by Burton from Bethlehem, PA

Cliche stop in Hollywood

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Value for money.
Cons: The room could have done with a few more plug sockets that are conveniently accessed, rather than having numerous plug adaptors on top of each other.
The most notable thing to say about this hotel is that none of the drain holes in the bathroom had plugs. My wife read a previous review on this same hotel where someone had requested a plug to take a bath, however the hotel staff refused to provide one. I didn't go to this effort because it was obvious to me why plugs had not been provided. I guessed the hotel just didn't want something to lose and then replace. This forces some guests to waste water, which is ironic because most hotels I have stayed in practically beg you to re-use towels to avoid wasting water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam

Great Value & Location with Nostalgic Experience.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
I was in town for a conference and am actually from the area. I really enjoyed my stay here. It is an older historic hotel and a great value. Easy to get anywhere from here. Highly recommend for a true local California experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Akex Pimentel from La Quinta , Ca

Great location to visit Hollywood

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The staff was helpful , I liked the room , it was clean . I'd stay here again .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Please pardon our dust.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The Hollywood Historic Hotel served the most basic needs of a hotel guest-a bed to sleep in with a bathroom nearby. We arrived at our already late 230 PM check-in to be told there were no rooms available yet. We checked in around 4 PM. Parking was free and easy. We got one of the "better" and "bigger" rooms, per the attendant. Our room was on the corner, was quite big, and did have a good view of the Hollywood sign. It also overlooked busy Hollywood traffic in a residential area. It is not within quick walking distance of any restaurants, bars, or sights. The room was fairly noisy at all times due to its sitting on a busy intersection. It has a window AC unit that did a passable job at cooling. The bathroom was clean but is very small. The room smelled strongly like cigarette smoke, even moreso with each passing night. I seriously suspect the maid was smoking while "cleaning" our room each day. I say cleaning in jest because, while the coffee was replaced each day and the carpet was vacuumed, the sheets were not changed in six days. Sleeping on the sand you dragged back from the beach night after night is not fun. The bed was also atrocious. I am a firefighter and am used to sleeping in cheap borrowed beds but this bed was literally like sleeping on a cardboard box laid over concrete. The staff were friendly, but after the second time I returned from a long day to find my key no longer worked, I was not pleased about returning to the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from d

LA vacation

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Great location. Easy access to highways and short trip to many great locations and attractions. Free parking. Quiet hotel. Not a lot of extra amenities but the price was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabe from riverside ca

Room with a kinda view.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Location: No good food place with walking distance. NO ICE MACHINE IN HOTEL!!!!!!
The person at the front desk was on youtube as soon as we walked in and came off with rude with an attitude maybe since we disrupted him to check in. He was not friendly at all!!! The hotel it self was cool and it kinda took you back in time. The cool selling point for this hotel is that you can open your window and see the Hollywood sign. we wanted another blanket because we where cold and we had to use our personal cell phone to call the front desk at 12am but NO ONE ANSWERED! so bring some extra blankets. things to note about this hotel. - NO PHONES IN THE ROOM. - NO ICE MACHINES -AN $25 PARKING CHARGE FOR AN EXTRA CAR PARKING Hope this helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brenda from Sen

Love historic places

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Great place! It is historic old hollywood and I loved it ! The lift was cool! Very clean! Great parking and beds were comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from swindon

Friendly staff and good value for money

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The staff were really friendly and helpful at the front desk and have us great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We had a view of the Hollywood sign from our window. Fantastic :-)