Ratings based on 1,888 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Rooms under construction

Posted Jul 28, 2014
A lot o rooms are under construction. We moved from the Cabana rooms that are really dark to the supposedly newly renovated rooms in the tower, but the air-conditioner didn't work. Repair man came in, fixed it, but it inly worked for a couple of hours before it broke again. We moved the the W Hollywood hotel for our third night stay which was way better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from toronto

Ok hotel in the heart of Hollywood blvd

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was on Hollywood blvd so convenient location
Cons: To make all your guests feel welcome and take their requests seriously
Location: It's on Hollywood blvd so it's close to everything
I was expecting a really nice room like in the pictures but was sorely disappointed. The pictures are of cabana rooms which are extra money ... Obviously. The room was very basic and the washroom had nowhere to put anything but a few tiny wall shelves . It was my husbands birthday so I asked front desk if they could do anything like a free drink maybe... Something .. Anything ... The girl that checked us in said she would find out and let me know... Of course that didn't happen and then when I rang again to find out they didn't really care to offer anything but just put me through to the concierge who offered some things they could do but didn't once say it's complimentary... So I didn't bother. The only nice thing about this hotel is the pool area it's more for younger people and it's in the heart of everything. Our room was under the big sign you see and they were working on the roof and making so much noise at 8.00am ... I thought the ceiling was going to come down ...Did anyone bother to mention there will be noise or people working etc .Of course not and we didn't bother mentioning it as we would be ignored like last time . The hotel staff at front desk are not that great.It's a blah hotel.I would not stay here again. If you are18-24 or single and looking for a good time then this place is great for you . For the money you can stay somewere a little further out with better staff and hotel amenities .Nothing at all was free in this place, not even wifi!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vic

Don't stay near pool bar.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Every night the bar is cleaned between 12am and 2am during this time banging bottles and glasses is all you hear. But the rest of the hotel is really nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mapleton Australia

Definitely a place to stay for under 30s.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It's history, lobby and bar and close position to attractions.
Cons: Rooms appointment and cleaniness . Beds and pillows where really comfortable. It was the only hotel in our 3 week holiday that charged for room coffee
Location: Close to Chinese Theatre, Walk of Fame, Metro and El Capitan Theatre. You really need a car in LA to get around and would strongly recommend hiring
Room cleanliness and appointments was disappointing for the price. The hotel has a grunge feel which will probably appeals to the under 30s. The hotel is in a fantastic position for Chinese Theatre and Walk of fame and is central to most other attractions. Hotel staff were young and helpful but not too knowledgeable. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Hollywood

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Pool
Cons: Everyone after a tip
Location: On Hollywood boulevard, great for a dander soaking in activities. Gotta do a bus tour to the sign and to see celebs houses in Beverly Hills pay$25 max
Excellent location for Hollywood attractions. Lovely restaurant on site 25 degrees. Fab cocktail bar. Room bit dark, and all extras charged for. No tea/coffee facilities in room. Pool great. Parking very convenient but $40 per day. Overall very nice, but not cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Classic and Convenient

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Classic, historic hotel
We stayed here to be close to the shuttle for a Hollywood Bowl concert, however if you're into the touristy side of "stargazing" the Walk of Fame, historic theaters, wishing you were invited to the Oscars, staying in a Hollywood "classic" hotel, this is the right place too. The Hollywood and Highland mall across the street was fun. Were placed in a quiet, renovated room on the 3rd floor, which was perfect for us. For those desiring peace and quiet, booking a poolside cabana room on "Pool Party Night" would quickly turn this place into a Disney park "Tower of Terror"
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grim Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Hollywood Boulevard is a tourist attraction but no decent restaurants and better to stay somewhere else
The poor experience starts with arrival and attempting to get into the hotel. If you arrive from Hollywood Boulevard at the front of the Hotel prepared to be lost within a dark gloomy environment. We walked around with large suitcases and did not meet anyone who helped . There was a wedding at the time and felt we were also intruding on this. There was no syn-age showing where to go to reception. Coming out of the hotel we eventually found the entrance in the car park and entered into another dimly lit area. The staff on the desk were good and we arrived at our room via a poorly decorated, gloomy and intimidating corridor. The room itself was extremely poor far too small, no storage space and again in the dark brown colours used elsewhere. The room was described as superior so dread to think what less superior would look like. The pool was out of bounds as was being used for the wedding party and the following day for a private pool party with a very small area on this day for a handful of guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach

High cost for a motel stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I do not understand how the Roosevelt Hotel has 4 stars. The room felt like a motel. There were old brown rings on the table and scuff marks on every possible surface in the room. Everything just seemed old and unkept. You do NOT get what you pay for at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H from Gold Coast, Australia

good location, nice pool

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: to be informed of the renovations and have an opportunity to be moved to another floor
Location: hollywood walk of fame at your doorstep
There was some sort of renovations going on in the rooms on our floor...we got woken each morning at about 8.00am after a big night out so you can imagine it wasn't very nice. It was also quite small compared to other hotels we have stayed in
2 out of 5
by J from Toronto

Very well located and trendy.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location is great if you don't mind being in a tourist area.
Cons: Staff attitude and daily valet parking rate.
Location: Very well located and close to major Hollywood attractions and restaurants.
If you're hoping for a good nights sleep, try another hotel especially from Thursday to Sunday evenings. The trendy pool side bar and parking lot at the back of the hotel tend to be very noisy until the early morning hours - often, things don't calm down until around 2:00 or 3:00 am. Try to get a room facing the Hollywood Blvd. as it's not as noisy. When letting the front desk staff know in the morning that I had found it very noisy the night before, they simply said "this is the Roosevelt and it this is the way it is" Not very respectful of their clients/patrons and seem to give more attention to the "A" listers that their hotel guests. I would not stay there again as there are better hotels nearby.