Ratings based on 1,826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from yorkshire

Nice hotel next to Hollywood Walk of Fame

Posted Apr 17, 2014
An ideal hotel for those whose wish to visit the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Hotel staff excellent and very friendly. Room pleasant with all that you need for a short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie from North Canton, OH

Great location for the TCM Film Festival!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: I liked the history of the hotel, the location and the service.
Cons: It's too bad that the rooms were remodeled in a modern style and not to reflect the age in which it was built. However, the bathroom was small!
Location: It's right in the middle of the action on Hollywood Blvd, very near the Dolby Theater, the Hollywood Museum, Grauman's Chinese theater, etc.
I was very pleased with the assistance from the front desk. The location was ideal for the TCM film festival and my room was quiet. The shower in the bathroom needs more than just 1/2 a door. When I showered, a lot of water escaped onto the floor. Room service was way too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Comfort during illness.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Old school charm.
I was duly impressed by the helpfullness of the staff of the Roosevelt Hotel during my stay. I became ill my first night of stay. I contacted the concierge and he was very helpful and assisted me in my recovery. Offering to shop for medicine and allowing me to order any item from room service menu. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to LA and hopefully I will be in better shape to see the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Temecula

Perfect for attending a concert at the Dolby Theat

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: We loved the food, ambiance, furnishings.
Cons: Clean the floors
Location: Great location - across the street from the Chinese Theater and the Dolby Theater
This hotel was perfect for us. We were attending a concert at the Dolby Theater and wanted to be close by. I love old hotels with a history. The room was nice (in the sunlight I could see all the dust on the wood floor - reason for only a "4" rating). We were pleasantly surprised by how delicious the food was at the Public Cafe in the hotel. It was pricey (we expected that), but wonderful. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie M from Scotland

Downtown Hollywood

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness and central location.
Location: Right on the walk of the Stars and directly opposite the Dolby Theatre (venue for the Oscars) and Grauman's Chinese Theatre.
Excellent, very comfortable stay right on the doorstep of Hollywood Boulevard. No better location for the downtown Hollywood experience. I had a very relaxing 5 night stay in the Roosevelt and would definitely come back again on any future visit. The hotel itself is steeped in a little bit of history, very nice indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BCook from Sydney, AU

Cool hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Rooms were cool enough
Cons: Business facilities - suitable desk/chair etc Under renovation and pool could not be accessed for a period of a few days.
Location: close to all of the hollywood tourist stuff
Noisy hotel in the evenings - I was poolside (sort of) though so I guess it was to be expected. Didn't get to see any ghosts! :( The hot water in the shower was very difficult to get a comfortable balance. Either boiling hot or too cold - only managed to get this right once or twice. Window did not open at all which was disappointing. No computer chair and desk in the room which made my stay very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not enough to consider going back

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Cons: valet parking service
I lost my flight because the valet took about 25 minutes to give me my rented car even though there was no waiting line and the pick up was at 5:40 am
3 out of 5
by Ed D. from london

Average

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Our cabana room was very nice and spacious, however we were diappointed that the bar noise was so loud until 2am. I don't mind some noise, but the entire room was shaking from the bass! It's a shame the bar customers seem to be prioritised over the hotel customers. Also, both the pool and historic lobby bar were out of action (pool being repaired and lobby booked for private event) when we stayed, and it would have been good to have been notified ahead of our stay as these were major reasons for our booking. I would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere. Overall very disappointing for the money, I'd recommend staying elsewhere in Hollywood
2 out of 5
by GiGi from Saratoga, CA

Old Glory- gone bad

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The Staff-Great! From front desk to valet, bartenders and bell staff all great. Front lobby is beautiful in contrast to the entire drab, rundown place
Cons: Reclaim the old architecture (like the lobby-it's the only nice part of the hotel) and refurbish in a traditional Spanish style. Lose mid-70's ugly.
Location: Hollywood- In all its glory & gore is right outside your door! Stay one night=that's all you need- then head to Disney & then San Diego- all more fun
Thank goodness for the stellar staff at the Roosevelt- The property has been so oddly remodeled, and ill-maintained. They killed the gorgeous Spanish splendor of the original architecture, covering most of it with ugly pseudo-modern façade and did not maintain it. everywhere there were cracks, scuffs, dirty windows and drab, colorless décor. It was a great location, but not a nice place. The staff was lovely, but sadly, they can not make up for the drab, sad environs. I will not go back :( .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hollywood

Posted Mar 15, 2014
The hotel is beautiful. The historic architecture and interiors are well maintained. The rooms are tastefully updated. The A/C is a bit loud, though my normal climate doesn't require A/C. The staff was courteous and helpful.