Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great Location, Older Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location is great!
Cons: Hotel could use some updates
Location: Hotel is right next to 3rd Street Promenade which has shopping, restaurants, street performers, nightlife. It's also 2 blocks from beach!
Santa Monica is not the cheapest place to visit! I chose this hotel because it was much less expensive than some of the others nearby - Marriott, Wyndham, etc. The location is great! It's right next to the 3rd Street Promenade and about 2 blocks from the beach access. You can't beat the location for this price. The room views weren't great but who stays in their room much while visiting Santa Monica?! It's too beautiful to sit in your room. The hotel is older, had a slight musky smell and could use some updates to be a bit more modern but I would stay here again and I would recommend it to a friend as a less expensive hotel option in Santa Monica. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The valets were excellent when I needed to get a cab back to the airport. They set me up with a driver who charged a flat fee back to LAX regardless of time/traffic.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Needs vacuuming ! It was filthy.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Vacuum the carpets and tidy the peeling paintwork.
Location: Many bars and restaurants nearby. Definitely a fantastic location.
Great location and a hotel with character, but I could not believe the filthy carpets which had not been vacuumed for weeks. I had to ask them to come and vacuum my room !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oceanside, CA

Just another hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is about all it has going for it
Cons: The shower drain was a little slow so it turned into a bit of a bath.
Location: There are plenty of bars right around the corner, the mall is across the street, and the pier is a short walk away.
When I look for a hotel, I don't look for a 5-star all out hotel because this is not where I plan to spend a lot of time. When I do require a hotel, it is usually in an area I haven't been or somewhere that I will be out and about touring the area. I picked this hotel because of it's location and cost effectiveness. It was the cheapest hotel I could find for the location in which it sat. It was close enough to the pier for us to walk there and had plenty of bars even closer. It was a decent place to come back to after a night out at dinner, the pier, and the bar. I can't really complain about it other than the fact that the place was really old and my 3rd floor window faced the air conditioning units on top of the 1st floor. Those poor souls on the second floor had a nice plastic green shrub placed in front of their window so they wouldn't be looking at the a/c units. hah! If you need a taxi, don't go around the corner, they are waiting for people to come out of the mall wanting to go a long distance. They will push you to the next cabby until someone finally takes you to your destination in close proximity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Great location. Close to restaurants, shopping, beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Would come back again!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Perfect location, clean, and staff were great!
Cons: Less expensive so I could vacation more often :0)
Location: Close to everything... Pier, my favorite restaurants, shopping. Even longest distance I went was only $10 for cab!
I didn't expect luxury but the accommodations were very nice. I really appreciated the friendliness and quick response to my requests by all the hotel staff. They sent up the refridgerator I requested very quickly, fixed the air condition right away and even had the taxi waiting exactly on time per my request. I came and went throughout my stay many times and staff were always polite and greeted me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Crappy hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location..that's it.
This hotel is badly in need of renovations..the carpet is musty, the furniture in the rooms--gross and uncomfortable. The wi-fi is impossible to get on--at least in the room. I was able to get on only in the lobby. No hair dryers. Ice machine is in employee-only area so they have to go get it for you..not worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Lovely staff, close to the beach

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, and it's minutes to the beach/Santa Monica pier. Lots of nice restaurants in the area, lots to see and do. I want to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the muffins!
Cons: Maybe soundproofing of the windows
Location: Santa Monica beach and pier is very very close by. So is the promenade for shopping and restaurants. You can also hire bikes down by the pier
I couldn't believe how lucky we were with the location of this hotel. Santa Monica pier is a very short walk away and you pretty much have the Promenade shopping complex right behind you, which is great for shopping, bars and restaurants. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and they helped us book our day trips and travel back to the airport. My room was cleaned every day and the air con was left on for me which was very welcoming after a long day in the California sun. The hotel provide complimentary coffee, juice and pastries in the lobby every morning which is a nice touch. We were obsessed with the lemon muffins! Bring a water bottle and stock up on the ice water every morning, you'll need it in the heat! This was a lovely start to the day but if you want a bigger breakfast there are plenty of deli's near by. I've read a lot of reviews from people moaning that the hotel decor is "dated" but I personally loved the decor. The hotel has real character. If you want a bland plush hotel go stay at the Hilton. In fact, when we mentioned to the locals whom we met that we were staying at the Carmel they all told us that the Carmel was a "cool" hotel. The one and only downside was that my room backed on to a huge Airconditioning unit outside which was very noisy. It was impossible to have the window open as the noise was too loud. Perhaps soundproofing of the windows would help. But, with the ceiling fan on in the room the noise kind of drowned out the air con.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Our stay at Carmel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Location: The location was close to the shops and the day and night entertainment. We were close to the beach and had some great walks there. Great location.
The hotel is very comfortable. It has a good location close to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ripon, UK

Hotel in good location close to Santa Monica Pier

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internal decor is drab and a bit tired looking
Location: Good for the beach and Pier, also close to a good selection of restaurants and the main Santa Monica shopping area.
Stayed here for a few nights after completing Route 66. The location is good for the beach and Pier, and very close to the main Santa Monica shopping area. Lots of eating options and public transport links to the wider Los Angeles area