Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Our stay at Carmel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Location: The location was close to the shops and the day and night entertainment. We were close to the beach and had some great walks there. Great location.
The hotel is very comfortable. It has a good location close to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ripon, UK

Hotel in good location close to Santa Monica Pier

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internal decor is drab and a bit tired looking
Location: Good for the beach and Pier, also close to a good selection of restaurants and the main Santa Monica shopping area.
Stayed here for a few nights after completing Route 66. The location is good for the beach and Pier, and very close to the main Santa Monica shopping area. Lots of eating options and public transport links to the wider Los Angeles area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Hotel close to the beach and shops

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The proximity to shops and attractions.
Cons: The hotel was a little musty smelling. Air freshener could have helped.
Location: Close to the mall and beach.
Hotel met expectations without exceeding them. Room was clean and had the basics that we needed. There was no bar fridge which was disappointing but we managed. Perfect location, we were able to walk to the shops, beach and the Pier. Most restaurants were also walking distance which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Location, you can walk or bike ride to e

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the sinks out with bleach to remove foul odor.
Location: Can walk or bike ride from Venice to Malibu.
Loved the location close to the Pier and Promenade, can walk ro bike ride to everything!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, grotty hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Only thing this hotel has going for it is location and a nice reception. The rooms were grotty, dark and gloomy and many if them look out at an air conditioning unit. The 'continental breakfast' consists of you getting yourself a muffin and a coffee from reception!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australis

Old and run down with minimal facilities

Posted Jul 4, 2014
No hairdryer in room. No power outlet in bathroom. Lights and fan turn on by themselves. Room was extremely smelly. Continental breakfast was a danish and coffee. Only one towel per person supplied. Very ordinary hotel for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ray from Pa

great location rooms okay

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location good prices for location. rooms are gloomy and a little bit of a smell. Would not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jack from SF

OMG!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Place was incredible, I've never has such great service and the room...well let's just say the Ritz can take a few lessons from this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ken from Australia

Beautiful period and well maintained hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The lift is small and slow but fits the period
Location: Close to restaurants
Although we arrived early for our check in the hotel manager cheerfully found a room for us. This hotel is just beautiful and excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Vegas

pretty good although....

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a fantastic location in Santa Monica and the pier. For the age of the hotel its in great condition from what i saw. I was very satisfied with my room considering the price but it is Cali after all. My only issue is i valet my car ($17 a day, park next door at the public parking cheaper) when i got there and when i picked it up in the morning i noticed 2 dents in my passenger front door. I brought this to the attention and he said that they must have already been there. They weren't. It was a rental car (luxury) and i did a full inspection prior to picking it up. . They weren't to helpful in filing a report or giving me any information to pass onto the rental company. They also stated 'They wont notice that.' Well they did so now i'm in an issue with the rental co. my insurance and the hotel. Customer service is everything and this hotel fell flat and left a bad taste after a pretty good start.