Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Great location. Close to restaurants, shopping, beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Would come back again!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Perfect location, clean, and staff were great!
Cons: Less expensive so I could vacation more often :0)
Location: Close to everything... Pier, my favorite restaurants, shopping. Even longest distance I went was only $10 for cab!
I didn't expect luxury but the accommodations were very nice. I really appreciated the friendliness and quick response to my requests by all the hotel staff. They sent up the refridgerator I requested very quickly, fixed the air condition right away and even had the taxi waiting exactly on time per my request. I came and went throughout my stay many times and staff were always polite and greeted me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Crappy hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location..that's it.
This hotel is badly in need of renovations..the carpet is musty, the furniture in the rooms--gross and uncomfortable. The wi-fi is impossible to get on--at least in the room. I was able to get on only in the lobby. No hair dryers. Ice machine is in employee-only area so they have to go get it for you..not worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely staff, close to the beach

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, and it's minutes to the beach/Santa Monica pier. Lots of nice restaurants in the area, lots to see and do. I want to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the muffins!
Cons: Maybe soundproofing of the windows
Location: Santa Monica beach and pier is very very close by. So is the promenade for shopping and restaurants. You can also hire bikes down by the pier
I couldn't believe how lucky we were with the location of this hotel. Santa Monica pier is a very short walk away and you pretty much have the Promenade shopping complex right behind you, which is great for shopping, bars and restaurants. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and they helped us book our day trips and travel back to the airport. My room was cleaned every day and the air con was left on for me which was very welcoming after a long day in the California sun. The hotel provide complimentary coffee, juice and pastries in the lobby every morning which is a nice touch. We were obsessed with the lemon muffins! Bring a water bottle and stock up on the ice water every morning, you'll need it in the heat! This was a lovely start to the day but if you want a bigger breakfast there are plenty of deli's near by. I've read a lot of reviews from people moaning that the hotel decor is "dated" but I personally loved the decor. The hotel has real character. If you want a bland plush hotel go stay at the Hilton. In fact, when we mentioned to the locals whom we met that we were staying at the Carmel they all told us that the Carmel was a "cool" hotel. The one and only downside was that my room backed on to a huge Airconditioning unit outside which was very noisy. It was impossible to have the window open as the noise was too loud. Perhaps soundproofing of the windows would help. But, with the ceiling fan on in the room the noise kind of drowned out the air con.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Our stay at Carmel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Location: The location was close to the shops and the day and night entertainment. We were close to the beach and had some great walks there. Great location.
The hotel is very comfortable. It has a good location close to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ripon, UK

Hotel in good location close to Santa Monica Pier

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internal decor is drab and a bit tired looking
Location: Good for the beach and Pier, also close to a good selection of restaurants and the main Santa Monica shopping area.
Stayed here for a few nights after completing Route 66. The location is good for the beach and Pier, and very close to the main Santa Monica shopping area. Lots of eating options and public transport links to the wider Los Angeles area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Hotel close to the beach and shops

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The proximity to shops and attractions.
Cons: The hotel was a little musty smelling. Air freshener could have helped.
Location: Close to the mall and beach.
Hotel met expectations without exceeding them. Room was clean and had the basics that we needed. There was no bar fridge which was disappointing but we managed. Perfect location, we were able to walk to the shops, beach and the Pier. Most restaurants were also walking distance which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Location, you can walk or bike ride to e

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the sinks out with bleach to remove foul odor.
Location: Can walk or bike ride from Venice to Malibu.
Loved the location close to the Pier and Promenade, can walk ro bike ride to everything!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Greg from Amarillo

Very dated

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was a 10, everything else was lacking. A bit dated, hotel needs some serious updating. For the price overall it was fine.