Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Hotel close to the beach and shops

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The proximity to shops and attractions.
Cons: The hotel was a little musty smelling. Air freshener could have helped.
Location: Close to the mall and beach.
Hotel met expectations without exceeding them. Room was clean and had the basics that we needed. There was no bar fridge which was disappointing but we managed. Perfect location, we were able to walk to the shops, beach and the Pier. Most restaurants were also walking distance which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Location, you can walk or bike ride to e

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the sinks out with bleach to remove foul odor.
Location: Can walk or bike ride from Venice to Malibu.
Loved the location close to the Pier and Promenade, can walk ro bike ride to everything!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, grotty hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Only thing this hotel has going for it is location and a nice reception. The rooms were grotty, dark and gloomy and many if them look out at an air conditioning unit. The 'continental breakfast' consists of you getting yourself a muffin and a coffee from reception!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australis

Old and run down with minimal facilities

Posted Jul 4, 2014
No hairdryer in room. No power outlet in bathroom. Lights and fan turn on by themselves. Room was extremely smelly. Continental breakfast was a danish and coffee. Only one towel per person supplied. Very ordinary hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ken from Australia

Beautiful period and well maintained hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The lift is small and slow but fits the period
Location: Close to restaurants
Although we arrived early for our check in the hotel manager cheerfully found a room for us. This hotel is just beautiful and excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Hotel Check out horrible

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff
Location: Santa Monica Pier, Promenade, and Beach
I drove from Lancaster Ca to Santa Monica to give my credit card # for an extra nite because I had already paid through Expedia for 2 nights the clerk behind the desk said ok everything is taken care of I got this Hotel near the beach for my terminally ill niece to enjoy a nice time with her daughter When my niece went to check out they told her she needed to pay for the third night ( the night I had come down in person to pay for) I was working on Mon when she went to check out The staff refused to let her leave until she paid for the room Which I HAD LEFT MY CARD TO PAY FOR. MY NIECE HAD to call her mom in Illinois to give them a credit card number as she did not have enough cash and no credit card. After 4 calls I sorted it out later that day and they finally admitted they should have charged my card But AFTER MY NIECE HAD BEEN HUMILIATED Moral of story pay through Expedia if you add an extra night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the price in an exceptionally spot.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Its old Stickley style furnishinings and fine lobby give it fine, smart character separating it from all the glossy places to stay just up the street.
Cons: Not without a loss of character.
I arrived thinking my front 3rd floor suite would prove noisy. But I slept on the extra comfy bed the night through hearing nothing. Second Street quiets right down after bedtime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The hotel wasn't much to write home about. Parking was $17 for valet. No pool. But amazing location for a decent price. Can't beat that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2014
New carpeting when finished will look great! Electrical connections for devices could be a bit improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kandye from Henderson

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only parking at the hotel was valet. I prefer to park my own car. So I used the valet the first night but parked in the parking garage next to the hotel the other two nights