Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Stay away from this place

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The exit.
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Location: A noisy part of town, so plan on it.
The whole hotel smells, the room was even worst. Early April and the room was 95+ degrees and no AC. The desk clerk called the ceiling fan an air conditioner. No Microwave, poor TV, and a very very small slow elevator. The forth floor felt like a fire trap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Bi Coastal NYC-SB

Great Location!

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Carmel Hotel is architecturally prewar in its details, high ceilings, elaborate moldings which are pleasing to the eye and make for an old world charm. The furniture in the rooms is basic new Holiday Inn Style. My only complaint was the AC wasn't functioning to well, but there was a ceiling fan which helped. Definitely worth staying here if you're looking for a moderately priced well located hotel with valet parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel close to pier

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The hotel is a little older, and you had to ask front desk for a hair dryer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from New Jersey

Charming but bare bones.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
This hotel is very charming, but be prepared to step back in time as far as amenities are concerned. There is no room refridgerator or thermostat to control the temperature. The hotel itself is very old, but well kept and very clean. The walls look like plaster on cement walls and the decor throughout reminded me of a Spanish rustic style. I was in an inside room, so it was very quiet and peaceful. There is only one elevator and that didn't always take you to your floor (I wanted to go to the 4th floor, ended up in the basement). There is a walk-in closet, plenty of extra pillows, and an iron and ironing board available in the room, as well as a small safe, but no hair dryer. Shower water pressure was awesome and the bathroom was extremely clean. It is one block from the 3rd Street Promenade and right across the street from one of the most beautiful outside shopping malls I've ever seen (Tiffany's, Louis Vutton, Nordstrom, etc....very high end). If what you are looking for is just someplace to hang your hat while you explore Santa Monica or Los Angeles, this might just be perfect for you. If you are looking for a bit of pampering, this is not the place you want to stay.
2 out of 5
by unsatisfied from fairfax, VA

Less than mediocre

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Hotel was unaware of stay booked through Expedia that was already paid for...had to wait for them to find an available room. As a consolation, I was given free wifi access, which they changed shortly thereafter so I could no longer use. Pricy king bed room had a view of a generator that ran all night. Only pluses - friendly valets and proximity to pier and 3rd street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by rich from san diego

Business and pleasure

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I brought my wife with me on a business trip. It was great. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Santa Monica. Lots to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Acceptable rundown hotel in superb location

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
nothing fancy or great to say about the hotel itself. it's pretty run down, stinks of air freshener, but acceptably clean. But the location is superb. I could see the pier and ocean from my room. Can't ask for much more for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but thats all

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Location was magnificent, 2 minute walk to pier and 3 St promenade shops, but that was all. Hotel was old, in need of renovation, and very costly. Wifi was ten dollars a day, when everywhere else was free, parking was expensive, and breakfast was barely breakfast. Staff were wonderful, which helped improve the experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was older than I was expecting and gave it a dirty feeling. Old walls/doors ect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy MacDonald from Santa Cruz

Great location in Santa Monica

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money and well located in Santa Monica