Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from providence, Rhode Island

Fantastic hotel and great location on the beach.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Friendly Staff, elegant room and location on the beach cannot be marched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

A true gem located on the Santa Monica beach front

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were an absolute delight.
Cons: No!
Location: Right on the Santa Monica beach. It was a ten minute walk to the pier and all of the attractions on the pier. Twenty min drive to LAX
The Casa Del Mar is by far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything about it was just fantastic. We arrived by around 1.30pm, and even though check-in was not until 4pm, we were able to get into our room straight away. The door staff were great, and sorted out our luggage and took it up to our room for us. We had an ocean view room overlooking the pier. It was lovely. You could see the view from the bed and it was lovely waking up to that view! The room itself was huge. We had the most comfortable four poster bed with lovely linens and bedding. We had gorgous full size coffee mugs with the machine and a very well stocked (and reasonbly priced) mini bar. The bathroom was amazing. It had a window into the main bedroom, and it had a whirlpool bath all set out with a surfer rubber duck! A really nice touch. There were also robes and slippers were placed along side the bed in the turn down service. The food at the terrace restaurant was fantastic, and we also had brunch on our departure day. If you want to completely relax and have everything done for you then this is the hotel for you. It was also very convenient for those wishing to visit the pier - it was about a ten minute walk along the boardwalk. Thank you very much to all the staff at the Casa Del Mar - it was an amazing stay on our last night in California.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from encino

Birthday trip

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Lovely experience , great staff . Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mal from 90275

Lovely retreat

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is our second year staying at Casa del Mar for a quick getaway. We became aware of the hotel when we dined at Catch where we enjoyed our dinner that evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana

Will definitely return

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Wonderful hotel! There were antique books in our room :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Seattle

Treated ourselves to comfort

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Stayed one night close to our venue in Santa Monica. The house car drove us to our party, but we had to take a taxi back since we stayed out past 10:45. Excellent, relaxing weekend. In California you need to stay by the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with unbelievable view of the ocean

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wish we could've stayed longer. It was one of the most beautiful and relaxing getaways we've ever had. The entire staff was personable and attentive, and our room was immaculate and we had the most amazing view of the ocean. It's also conveniently located near the Santa Monica Pier and Promenade. "Catch" the restaurant in the Casa Del Mar was simply amazing. The mustard miso black cod is a must try. Thank you Casa Del Mar. We will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not a family destination

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Casa del Mar with our little baby, and, unfortunately, we very disappointed. It is a beautiful property with great beach access, and is probably great for those who party all night, but not for those who want to sleep at night.The hotel has multiple events on its 1st fl and we were there at the time of a wedding that was supposed to end at midnight. The Deluxe rooms are located on the same floor as the banquet room and there was noise from the music, dishes, and people walking in the corridor all nigh long. Obviously, it did not end at midnight, as the dishes have to be washed and people have to collect the dirty plates for a while. We complained to the hotel desk and they told us that they wont be able to do anything because its a wedding. We argued that they should have disclosed that our "deluxe" room would be impossible to sleep in, and we would go to a different place, but, obviously, that was already irrelevant. Overall, we strongly advise against staying in this place, because you will get a small room with hard to sleep on mattress, and even if you can handle that, you still risk of having to listen to music and knocking sounds until 2am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Salsa from Edinburgh

Fantastic Hotel

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Casa Del Mar was the perfect choice for our 2 night stay in Santa Monica. The hotel staff were lovely and couldn't have made us feel more welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated with huge comfy beds, and the views of the beach wonderful. The hotel is located yards from the ocean bike path along the beach, and only a short stroll to the pier. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.