Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Stunning hotel in an excellent location

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Bar and lounge area, location, facilities, quality and style of the room decor, extra thick bedroom curtains so no light snuck in
Cons: The walls aren't sound proof, we could hear noise above, below and in the hallway. Staff should be made to keep their voices down.
Location: Great location, close to many shops and restaurants, right on the beach, you can't get any closer.
We stayed in this gorgeous hotel on our last night in the US as a special treat. The cost of hotels in LA/Santa Monica were considerably higher than everywhere else on our trip, but we wanted to splash out on our last night. We're glad we spent the extra money. We enjoyed using all of the hotel's facilities, bar and restaurant areas, there was even a jazz band on the last night. Location is excellent, car parking was reasonable as well given the location. We arrived early and our room was made ready within 30 minutes which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Prime location

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very confortable room. Lobby decor and ambiance is excellent. Size matters.
Cons: Considering overall hotel quality; the gym is quite poorly equipped. However, no big deal.
Location: Biking paths are excellent. Shopping very good. Restaurants: mediocre.
Excellent room with sea view. Impeccable cleanliness and friendly service. AAA in every way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautifully decorated.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Location: Location is great. Near all the attractions and restaurants we wanted to visit.
This hotel is so beautiful but we found that our room had many pieces that were falling apart. Shelf doors were falling off the hinges and other objects attached to the wall were barely hanging on. We didn't need to use these items so it didn't bother our stay but felt that staying in a 5 star, these small fixes should have been taken care of. Hotel staff were fine but not overly welcoming. Agreeing with some reviews before, it would have been nice if there was at least one staff member by the pool. I would seem a staff member deliver food but no one ever came over to take any food or drink orders. It was not until we searched around that we found a phone to order lunch. Again this is a beautiful hotel but do not believe it was worth the price. There is beach access but no hotel designated areas to lay out. At least when we attended in late March.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hollywood CA

Too expensive for what they are offering-

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The rooms had very nice bathrooms and the beds were comfortable and the front lobby is very nice.
Cons: The spa- More choices for food- Staff needs to be more pleasant- overnight valet is way too pricey-
Location: The location is very good- Close walking distance to everything you would need and to shops and restaurants
I was quite disappointed in this hotel. There is only one resturant on the premise. The food is okay but over priced. The service was hit and miss. Some of the staff was really pleasant and the others were not so nice. Went to the pool and wanted to order drinks and food- There is no staff attending tot he pool area so you have to call to room service and then 2 hours later your food arrives. Which wasn't the most disappointing part of our stay. The hotel lobby was loud and and over crowded at night. Sounded and looked like a night club. That was not the vibe my husband and I were looking for on our weekend away from the kids. The spa is overpriced $225 for a 90 min and and the spa does not have a sauna or jacuzzi or any facilities in which you can utilize. Once your treatment is finished there is small area to get dressed and basically leave. The room we booked said King Ocean View however we were not told till we arrived that there is Partial ocean view and Ocean view then front ocean view. We felt that was a bit misleading. We ended up on the 7th floor with half of the view of the ocean and then the parking lot to the hotel next to us. There are no rooms with Balconies which I find very disappointing considering most people that go to a establishment like this want a balcony overlooking the ocean. The best rooms have a small terrace but lacks privacy and is located surrounding the pool area which does not offer a ocean view. All in all I was not that pleased with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redding, CT

Respite in Santa Monica

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The room, the location, the quality of the food, and the staff service.
Cons: Wi fi is available, but I kept getting error messages when entering my name and room number. I had to use my mobile phone hot spot instead.
Location: The Santa Monica Pier, Muscle Beach, the terminus of Rte. 66 and many restaurants are all within walking distance.
Comfortable luxury in a convenient beach side setting characterizes this well appointed hotel. From reception to check out the service is impeccable. The Casa Del Mar is not for those on a budget, however. With a variety of venue options for events, the hotel has many offerings, and the food service is outstanding. Everything served is top grade, well prepared and fresh. Celebrity sightings are notable here as many live in the area. Our room was clean, comfortable and well sited -- we had a view of the ocean and the very active beach front area. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Casa Del Mar and recommend it for special occasions when money is no object.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Beautiful hotel with tiny rooms

Posted Mar 19, 2015
We enjoyed our short stay. The public spaces are lovely and well maintained. Every staff person we met was charming and very helpful. Our only complaint was our tiny room. While it was beautifully decorated it was the size of a shoe box.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad, CA

Great Remodeled Hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: It was all excellent
Location: Walking distance to all the Santa Monica shops and restaurants, on the beach and very near the Pier
It was great from the time we arrived at the front door through to our departure. The public spaces are all great and the room was great as well. The staff was attentive and friendly in all departments of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Perfect hotel at the beach

Posted Jan 29, 2015
We loved our night at Casa Del Mar. The room was beautiful, staff friendly, and a view that I could look at forever! Truly perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome beach getaway in a beautiful classic hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel in a fun filled part of SoCal. Being on the beach was perfect. We rented beach cruiser bikes and rode the entire bike path down to Palos Verdes, up to Will Rogers State Beach and back to the hotel. Our room was very comfortable. The bed is super comfy. The rooms had double windows so we didn't get any beach noise at night. The air conditioner was extremely quiet. Good shower. Enjoyed the happy hour in the afternoon. We didn't eat dinner here but the breakfast was delicious. We'll definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

Fabulous hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Customer service second to none. Room was larger than expected, comfortable and luxurious.
Location: Unlimited choices of great dining within walking distance. Miles and miles of beach bike trail. Santa Monica Pier a stones' throw away.
One of the best experiences at a fine luxury hotel we've experienced throughout the world.