Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2015
It was great.. hotel staff was friendly and attentive to the details.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Hotel war gut, jedoch muss man die Lage und das drum herum mögen. Die Beschreibung im Reiseführer passt. (am Ocean Walk treffen sich Menschen der Eitelkeiten oder Psychatrie) Bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit muss man Außerhalb des Hotels achtsam sein. Dafür entschädigt jedoch wieder die Roof Top Bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally overpriced, dated hotel behind the shops

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: almost everything in the rooms - couch, carpet, tables, chairs elevator
Location: behind beach shop parking lot that's pretty loud at night and early morning!
On the beach, with a view to nasty parking lot behind beach shops. 3rd floor looks like the 80s with gloomy colors. Horrible ugly couch and dirty carpets. Bed was ok and comfortable however. Simply put there a plenty of choices in the neighborhood, all overpriced considering the rough ugly parts behind the never ending beach shops. One old clunky elevator, that averages 1+ minute before going or down. This was my 4th stay at Venice beach. If you like cleaner rooms, stay elsewhere..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
From the welcome to the farewell the staff were excellent helpful and engaging even down to the door man handing me a bottle of water when I can back from my run. Sunset on the rooftop bar is a must
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Overpriced and everything is additional including

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The Hotel Erwin is a nice trendy hotel in a good location but is v overpriced and you are charged for everything. I was stung with a further bar Bill for $124 which was sent a day after I checked out and am still waiting to know what it relates to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2015
A very nice, clean, appropriately priced hotel very close to Venice Beach. Excellent accommodations, including a nice shower, but the bed was too soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Unique Hotel - Great Atmosphere and Close to Beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Loved the room balcony, rooftop bar, and beachy atmosphere!
Cons: Price of the drinks on the rooftop or providing a happy hour for guests. Also looking forward to construction completion.
Location: Location is great! A lot of great spots to eat and drink right around the hotel, one minute walk to Venice Beach, & a short uber ride to Santa Monica.
We really enjoyed your stay at Hotel Erwin! They upgraded us to a room on the sixth floor that had a balcony with a beautiful view! When we told them we were celebrating our one year anniversary, they sent up a bottle of wine for us to enjoy! Loved this personal touch. Great size rooms, bathrooms, and loved our balcony! We also loved that their rooftop bar, however drinks are very pricey and the tables are always reserved - still a nice addition and great views. There was construction/reservations on our floor, which made sleeping in a little difficult, but wasn't a huge bother and I understand must get done at some point. Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Love this place!

Posted Jun 19, 2015
My only complaint is the elevator is ancient and the slowest ever. The staff were all super friendly and polite. The facilities were clean. The rooftop bar was lovely. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge in our suite but overall, things were great and I would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little bit of peace on the road, at the beach.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nada.
I travel weekly for work. Sometimes I criss-cross time zones twice in a day. I now live in DC, but used to live in Venice Beach. So, when I go west i try to stay with friends or at least at the beach to check in with the ocean. On this last trip I chose to stay at the newly renovated Erwin Hotel. In a word, yes! The Erwin is situated at the sweet spot of Venice Beach such that you see the sunset, the skaters rock, the surfers plow, the boardwalk performs hustle, and the tourists marvel. The vibe is streamlined and clean. The room offers a layout that is balancing and reminds you of a place you recently left after making it your own. Hotel Erwin, I will be back...in July. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Amazing hotel right on Venice, stayed on recently upgraded 6th floor. Really nice rooms, staff was extremely kind, and rooftop lounge is amazing.