Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice funky hotel in vencie

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Aside from a quickly fixed billing snafu pleasant experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel in Venice Beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: position
Cons: The host skills of the staff at the Reception. The guests should be told in advance about the parking price.
Location: the hotel had a good position, close to Santa Monica and Marina del Rey.
Although we arrived after 3 pm the check in time, we waited about 1 hour to get to the room. We booked through Expedia a room with beach view, they did not have it and when I threaten to leave after one hour of waiting, we were given a suite with a view to the next building. However, the rooms were clean and cleaned every day. Unfortunately, the A/C had the cooling unit motor in the bedroom, extremely noisy. The price/night is very high (more than $US300), however it is only a 3 stars facility. We had another surprize when we checked out, we were charged ~$35 for parking, not told in advance, this was terrible, misleading on purpose because a public parking place is right near the hotel, probably cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: location
it was fine no complaints, great rate thru expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice hotel by the beach and Venice Beach Boardwalk

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: All of the above including clean rooms, comfortable beds and free movie channels!
Cons: Add a swimming pool and improve the lighting on the Rooftop Lounge.
Location: Walking distance to the beach, the boardwalk and restaurants. Easy driving distance to Santa Monica, the beautiful coast drive.
The staff was excellent and gave preferential treatment to the hotel guests. A "happy hour" cart came around daily with free drinks! Although the hotel is located to the busy boardwalk, the sliding glass doors to the balcony that "partially" overlooked the beach (and boardwalk) were soundproof. The a/c was not a box by the window. Even on the top floor (6th) no noise was heard from the Rooftop Lounge. The valet staff were courteous and helpful. But there is only one elevator (show your room key and the staff will let you on it before those going to the Rooftop Lounge. The lighting on the roof was not optimal (check the online menu before going up). And the biggest disappointment was no swimming pool. Otherwise, everything was primo! Thanks to the staff...we will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving us this great review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed our roaming happy hour cart and our friendly team. We can’t wait to welcome you back! All the best, Team Erwin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view in LA

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Rooftop bar voted best view in LA - don't miss a sunset visit Staff very helpful , informative and friendly Right on Venice beach 😊
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the Five Star Review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit our fabulous rooftop. All the best, Team Erwin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Not the best, not the worst

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel is old and it looks like they have done some recent renovations. The renovations make it a little nicer but still the overall feel of the hotel is old. The air conditioner didn't work when we got there and it took the maintenance guy forever to get there. The room seemed to be missing outlets to plug in a phone charger too. Why didn't they add these next to the bedside when the did the renovations?? Shower was okay- pretty tiny. The bedding was very nice. The restaurant downstairs was terrible for dinner. Poor service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your visit. We’re disappointed to hear that your Erwin Experience was not what you had hoped for. We have taken your comments to the respective departments for future improvements. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and your business as we know you have a choice when choosing hotel accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The best hotel on Venice beach.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Clean, great location.
Location: Surfing,skate boarding park, shopping, restaurants and bars.
My husband, 2 kids and me stayed in Ervin in July 2014. In my opinion it is the best hotel on the Venice beach - small boutique, very clean, friendly staff, very close to the beach (1-2 minutes walking). We stayed on the 5th floor in 505 - this room does not have a balcony like others which was a little upsetting (you want to throw your swimming suits outside to dry up). Our room wasn't getting cleaned up soon enough so we just asked for clean towels and trash to be removed but it really didn't spoil our experience. Nice stay overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: How close it was to Venice Beach, how clean it was, the food and staff were great!
Location: Venice Beach, Santa Monica peer.
Staff was friendly and experience was awesome. Room overlooked alley, though, and smell of dumpsters was in the air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathroom door is NOT PRIVATE.......
This quiet hotel is very well located near the board walk and skate board park for the teenager. Do not rely on outside appearance of the building that seems to be neglected since the interior is new and clean with good services. You do not need your car to walk on the beach or board walk as the hotel is located one block from the beach.   There has numerous souvenir shops and chip stand. You can also rent bikes and other equipment to have fun on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our great location. Wishing you all the best, Team Erwin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, large room and amazing staff!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very enjoyable stay! Only complaint I could possibly think of would be having only one bedside table due to the room setup.