Ratings based on 978 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We booked this place last min, it was not that bad! Stayed for 1 night with my fiancé and she loved the view and everything. Enjoyed some hooka at night and it was a great night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arvin,CA

Real nice hote

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The view
Location: Walking distance to the Queen Mary Boat, water taxis to take you to other areas in Long Beach
We liked everything except for the fact that they turn off the fire pit too early. We were there enjoying a drink and they got there at 10pm to turned off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Decent Hotel...but

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff
Cons: Obsure location, quite pricey, no access to reasonably priced snacks, restaurant food or drinks.
Location: Not much. Was there for a conference anyway.
The 6 day stay provided comfortable rooms. I do not recommend staying without a vehicle. If so, make sure you bring ALL of your toiletries and snacks. A 6 oz bag of pretzels costs $4. AvTheyerage dinner was expensive and bar menu limited. They also charge way too much for parking....daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Beautiful hotel by the water

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Ambiance and room.
Cons: The Maya doesn't have a dedicated shuttle driver, so getting to the other hotel was sometimes hard. The free local Passport bus was not reliable.
Location: Right on the water. Nearby was the Queen Mary and across the bay was the boardwalk, aquarium and beach, and plenty of restaurant choices.
Had a great stay. Loved the look and feel of the resort. I was in Long Beach for a conference (at a Hilton across the bay). The Maya was our overflow hotel, but I was much happier staying at the Maya. It was right on the water, had a tropical feel, and my last day there had the added bonus of watching an episode of NCIS film there in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Weather, restaurant, view
Cons: Extended pool hours
Location: Water sports, fishing, swimming, boating, and shoreline village are all near by
Little getaway so close to home yet gives you all the elements of a vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Lovely Hotel on the Marina

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous lobby and artwork, very nicely appointed room, fantastic pool, great views of the marina right outside the window
Cons: new carpeting and air conditioner; blackout curtain
Location: A free shuttle ride from downtown Long Beach, with its great restaurants, arcades, aquarium, and other amusements
The Maya is a nicely decorated, thoughtfully laid-out hotel located on the marina across from Long Beach's downtown. The highlight of the hotel is the pool. It's visually appealing, with cabanas on one side "floating" in water, and a modernist color scheme. The pool itself is perfectly heated to 80 degrees -- just warm enough to walk into comfortably but not too warm to obviate the refreshment of a dip. The rooms are spacious and the furniture is very appealing. The only things that lowered this from a five-star to a four-star recommendation were the carpet in the room and the air-conditioning unit. The carpet was worn and discolored from too much traffic, and really needs to be replaced. The air conditioner is a wall unit that is noisy and not very efficient. It's very old-school and needs to be replaced as well. Other than that, the room was faboo. As to location--there isn't much immediately around the Maya, but downtown Long Beach is but a three-to-five minute drive away. We took the free shuttle there one evening (about 10-15 minutes) and walked back (about 25 minutes). The walk was lovely--mostly around the harbor, and over a bridge providing great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great views, comfy and clean room but the a/c units are loud! Ours started 'screaming' at 2am and had to be turned off. We proceeded to boil and called the front desk in the AM. They fixed it but it's still sounds like a train. Paying $21 a day for parking bites, too. Overall it's a cool place but won't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver B.C.

Great cozy hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel has character, loved the decor.
Location: Everything was close by, by car you were minutes away from the aquarium and restaurants. The beach was also very close.
Loved this hotel, our room had lots of space, it was nice having a balcony overlooking the pool and Marina. The pool was also great! We would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from All over the world

Suffered from overbooking at a prepaid hotel...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: What I liked about this hotel is the day I left...
Cons: Reservation policy shouldn't be allowing overbooking which makes the customers suffer.
Location: Queen Mary is worth to see.
This is a really frusturating incidence. We made a reservation to Hotel Maya Long Beach through Expedia, which we also validated by calling the hotel. The reservation was made for 22nd to 28th of July, all prepaid with an option of late arrival. On the day of July 22, after 21 hours transatlantic travel time I arrived with my family at the hotel at 11.30 PM. The front desk said the hotel is overbooked. He kept us waiting until 2.00 PM. And finally he told us that he found a similar hotel just for the night. And he sent us with a taxi to this hotel where we found out that he actually sent us to a wrong hotel. At the end we were dropped out at out of standard motel at Bueno Park. We had to wait another hour at the 'night window' of this motel, to clear out the situation with Hotel Maya, as they weren't booked. The receptionist of the motel was more understanding that he started processing to give the room on a deposit on our credit card rather than keeping us waiting 'however it suits to Hotel Maya'. We couldn't believe they made us stay at such a place. The next day we had to repack again and go back to Hotel Maya loosing half day of my son's theme park time. The hotel management thought giving breakfast for free resolves all the burden, but it doesn't. It should be our decision to spend the night at a creppy motel versus free breakfast, don't forget the motel's opportunistic price was still one third of the Hotel Maya's price. Is this a new way for the hotels to make money?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com