Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Weather, restaurant, view
Cons: Extended pool hours
Location: Water sports, fishing, swimming, boating, and shoreline village are all near by
Little getaway so close to home yet gives you all the elements of a vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Lovely Hotel on the Marina

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous lobby and artwork, very nicely appointed room, fantastic pool, great views of the marina right outside the window
Cons: new carpeting and air conditioner; blackout curtain
Location: A free shuttle ride from downtown Long Beach, with its great restaurants, arcades, aquarium, and other amusements
The Maya is a nicely decorated, thoughtfully laid-out hotel located on the marina across from Long Beach's downtown. The highlight of the hotel is the pool. It's visually appealing, with cabanas on one side "floating" in water, and a modernist color scheme. The pool itself is perfectly heated to 80 degrees -- just warm enough to walk into comfortably but not too warm to obviate the refreshment of a dip. The rooms are spacious and the furniture is very appealing. The only things that lowered this from a five-star to a four-star recommendation were the carpet in the room and the air-conditioning unit. The carpet was worn and discolored from too much traffic, and really needs to be replaced. The air conditioner is a wall unit that is noisy and not very efficient. It's very old-school and needs to be replaced as well. Other than that, the room was faboo. As to location--there isn't much immediately around the Maya, but downtown Long Beach is but a three-to-five minute drive away. We took the free shuttle there one evening (about 10-15 minutes) and walked back (about 25 minutes). The walk was lovely--mostly around the harbor, and over a bridge providing great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great views, comfy and clean room but the a/c units are loud! Ours started 'screaming' at 2am and had to be turned off. We proceeded to boil and called the front desk in the AM. They fixed it but it's still sounds like a train. Paying $21 a day for parking bites, too. Overall it's a cool place but won't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver B.C.

Great cozy hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel has character, loved the decor.
Location: Everything was close by, by car you were minutes away from the aquarium and restaurants. The beach was also very close.
Loved this hotel, our room had lots of space, it was nice having a balcony overlooking the pool and Marina. The pool was also great! We would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from All over the world

Suffered from overbooking at a prepaid hotel...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: What I liked about this hotel is the day I left...
Cons: Reservation policy shouldn't be allowing overbooking which makes the customers suffer.
Location: Queen Mary is worth to see.
This is a really frusturating incidence. We made a reservation to Hotel Maya Long Beach through Expedia, which we also validated by calling the hotel. The reservation was made for 22nd to 28th of July, all prepaid with an option of late arrival. On the day of July 22, after 21 hours transatlantic travel time I arrived with my family at the hotel at 11.30 PM. The front desk said the hotel is overbooked. He kept us waiting until 2.00 PM. And finally he told us that he found a similar hotel just for the night. And he sent us with a taxi to this hotel where we found out that he actually sent us to a wrong hotel. At the end we were dropped out at out of standard motel at Bueno Park. We had to wait another hour at the 'night window' of this motel, to clear out the situation with Hotel Maya, as they weren't booked. The receptionist of the motel was more understanding that he started processing to give the room on a deposit on our credit card rather than keeping us waiting 'however it suits to Hotel Maya'. We couldn't believe they made us stay at such a place. The next day we had to repack again and go back to Hotel Maya loosing half day of my son's theme park time. The hotel management thought giving breakfast for free resolves all the burden, but it doesn't. It should be our decision to spend the night at a creppy motel versus free breakfast, don't forget the motel's opportunistic price was still one third of the Hotel Maya's price. Is this a new way for the hotels to make money?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Miami, FL

Beautiful modern hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Great hotel with a really interesting design located on the waterfront of Long Beach's port area. The rooms are very spacious especially those with the high ceilings and the bathrooms are fantastic. The hotel could use a paint job on the white walls but otherwise it's beautiful. Great relaxing secluded location while still being close to a lot of attractions. Staff are extremely helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mckenna from sm

Amazing

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Amazing experience . I will come back .. Everyone is very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved It!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Everything.... it was like being on vacation! So much to do and didn't have to leave the hotel. Very relaxing & kids had a blast!