Ratings based on 989 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington, UK

Nice hotel next to Queen Mary

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Style and comfort. Nice harbour side location.
Cons: Air conditioning unit...... was the noisiest I've ever had, sounded like a plane landing in the back yard. I did mention it to the reception but they
Location: Queen Mary and Russian sub. USS Iowa. Reasonably good base for exploring LA if you have a car... Venice / Santa Monica beach 30 mins away.
Good location for Queen Mary and harbour, across from Long beach where there were plenty of places to eat / entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I Loved It!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Very nice rooms with a great view and the staff was the best. Receptionist Jessica was friendly and accommodating making us feel very welcome. All the staff was great at making our stay here very comfortable. I can't wait to go back:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We booked this place last min, it was not that bad! Stayed for 1 night with my fiancé and she loved the view and everything. Enjoyed some hooka at night and it was a great night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Arvin,CA

Real nice hote

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The view
Location: Walking distance to the Queen Mary Boat, water taxis to take you to other areas in Long Beach
We liked everything except for the fact that they turn off the fire pit too early. We were there enjoying a drink and they got there at 10pm to turned off.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Decent Hotel...but

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff
Cons: Obsure location, quite pricey, no access to reasonably priced snacks, restaurant food or drinks.
Location: Not much. Was there for a conference anyway.
The 6 day stay provided comfortable rooms. I do not recommend staying without a vehicle. If so, make sure you bring ALL of your toiletries and snacks. A 6 oz bag of pretzels costs $4. AvTheyerage dinner was expensive and bar menu limited. They also charge way too much for parking....daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Beautiful hotel by the water

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Ambiance and room.
Cons: The Maya doesn't have a dedicated shuttle driver, so getting to the other hotel was sometimes hard. The free local Passport bus was not reliable.
Location: Right on the water. Nearby was the Queen Mary and across the bay was the boardwalk, aquarium and beach, and plenty of restaurant choices.
Had a great stay. Loved the look and feel of the resort. I was in Long Beach for a conference (at a Hilton across the bay). The Maya was our overflow hotel, but I was much happier staying at the Maya. It was right on the water, had a tropical feel, and my last day there had the added bonus of watching an episode of NCIS film there in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Weather, restaurant, view
Cons: Extended pool hours
Location: Water sports, fishing, swimming, boating, and shoreline village are all near by
Little getaway so close to home yet gives you all the elements of a vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redwood City, CA

Lovely Hotel on the Marina

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous lobby and artwork, very nicely appointed room, fantastic pool, great views of the marina right outside the window
Cons: new carpeting and air conditioner; blackout curtain
Location: A free shuttle ride from downtown Long Beach, with its great restaurants, arcades, aquarium, and other amusements
The Maya is a nicely decorated, thoughtfully laid-out hotel located on the marina across from Long Beach's downtown. The highlight of the hotel is the pool. It's visually appealing, with cabanas on one side "floating" in water, and a modernist color scheme. The pool itself is perfectly heated to 80 degrees -- just warm enough to walk into comfortably but not too warm to obviate the refreshment of a dip. The rooms are spacious and the furniture is very appealing. The only things that lowered this from a five-star to a four-star recommendation were the carpet in the room and the air-conditioning unit. The carpet was worn and discolored from too much traffic, and really needs to be replaced. The air conditioner is a wall unit that is noisy and not very efficient. It's very old-school and needs to be replaced as well. Other than that, the room was faboo. As to location--there isn't much immediately around the Maya, but downtown Long Beach is but a three-to-five minute drive away. We took the free shuttle there one evening (about 10-15 minutes) and walked back (about 25 minutes). The walk was lovely--mostly around the harbor, and over a bridge providing great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great views, comfy and clean room but the a/c units are loud! Ours started 'screaming' at 2am and had to be turned off. We proceeded to boil and called the front desk in the AM. They fixed it but it's still sounds like a train. Paying $21 a day for parking bites, too. Overall it's a cool place but won't stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com