Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Elegante hotel vicino al mare

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pulito, elegante, stile deco, palaestra pulita, roof terrace con vista a 360° su Santa Monica
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay area

Art deco gem in a great location

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Period furnishings and details, professional staff
Location: Walk to many favorite locations in Santa Monica
A fine old 1940's hotel that has been updated but retains its period charm. Across the street from the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great hotel, great staff, great location....beds??

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: BEDS!!!!!
Location: right close to 3rd street and on Ocean Ave. Cant beat the location!!! Restaraunts, bars, beach, bike and running paths and all the action within steps
Amazing location with one of the most helpful and amazing staffs we have ever dealt with. The hotel is very cool with a boutique kind of feel and very well kept throughout. There is an amazing pool area out back and can only imagine how busy it would get during the hot season(we were there in Dec so it was a short dip for us). There is a really neat roof top patio/grill with an amazing view of the ocean which is great but the only problem was that is was a hot spot Thursday - Sat meaning the nights we didn't want to enjoy up there we ended up hearing the party anyways. I would go back again and recommend it to any friends looking to go to Santa Monica. The noise on the nights off can be easily overlooked!!! Only other complaint was the beds. They felt like a fold out couch with springs sticking out of them and only added to the lack of sleep we experienced....sleep is important to me when on vacation but if not this is the place to be!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It's an old historic hotel....it was very clean but some items (like the windows are original). This did not bother me, rather added to the history an
Location: Beach, food, bars, shopping and more shopping!
Great location, old art deco style hotel. Fun, small, hip roof top bar...lots of locals watching the sunset. We had a nice time and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus ohio

A great hotel in a great location.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We had a great time at this hotel. Great rooftop bar that has an awesome happy hour. You can walk to the pier, or many wonderful restaurants, or to shopping in just a few minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Art Deco Style
Location: Santa Monica Pier / Third Street Promenade / Santa Monica Place (Mall) all within walking distance.
Stayed one night and had a wonderful experience. Staff is very nice and professional. Room had beautiful Ocean View - Very comfortable space and nice Art Deco interior design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Perfekt beliggenhet!!

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi var fire venner (to par) som reiste sammen. Hotellet har perfekt beliggenhet, fint bassengområde og flott takterrasse med bar. Veldig god service, og hyggelig betjening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tanyafrom London

Fantastic Service

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The personnel was really friendly, we arrived at 6am but the check in was at 3pm but as soon as a room was free, we could use it. We had it by 10am and we didn't pay an extra. The suite are great and cosy but some renovation need to be done, specially the windows!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly helpful staff -

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Only size of room was the issue but not much can be done about that
Location: Location was excellent , close to beach , the pier and the 3rd st promenade
Room we stayed in was quite small for what we paid and without view. Overall satisfied with location and staff very helpful and friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

샹그릴라 프렌차이즈

Posted Oct 18, 2014
여기는 샹기리라호텔이라 할 수 없는곳이다. 골든써클 마일리지 적립도 안되는 옛날 호텔을 약간 리모덜링해서 이름만 붙인 곳이다. 절대 선택해서는 안되는 비싸고 이름만 빌린 샹그리라 이다.