Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Stayed at the one in salinas expected close to the same was more expensive not as nice under construction terrible breakfast loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Good Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Didn't spend my time in this hotel wandering around, just to rest and sleep. Pros: free wifi, free parking, gated parking, clean room, slept good, everything functioning in room, vending machines, cvs next door, variety of tv channels, universal studios not too bad of drive. (Plan ahead for traffic) Cons: Breakfast was not good (bagels and pastries) plan to eat out in morning, not the best neighborhood we heard sirens few times, parking spots are small (designed for compact cars mostly) If you visit cvs store be prepared to pay for each bag they give you for your items.(10cents) I heard few stores in area also have this policy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value, all around.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Staff at all times was pleasant and helpful. Room was clean, well maintained. Morning breakfast was fast, fresh, and plenty sufficient. Parking was plentiful and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Great hotel at a good price.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Staff was friendly, the room was clean, the bathroom looked new. Everything worked well. Appreciated the locked parking. I would suggest better tasting room coffee, definitely needed a microwave in the room and a pancake maker at the breakfast lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Fast check in and check out, clean, comfortable room, secured parking.
Cons: Continental breakfast not worth the calories also tiny area off lobby. Parking tight.
Only one night stay. Pool closed for maintenance (wasn't going to use though). Unfounded concern about negative reviews.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom montreal, qc , cdn

Be aware !

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pay attention ! Hotel do not refund even if you are sick and could not go !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great hotel for an over-night stay/weekend get-away. A friend & I made last minute plans to go to universal studios halloween horror nights & were scrambling to find a clean reasonably priced hotel close to our destination. We found a diamond in the rough! I spent a few hours on Expedia looking at high-priced flea-bag hotels.. I am so grateful that I stumbled upon the Howard Johnson. We checked in at 8PM, they did apologize because their system was down but I always print out my confirmation so it wasn't an issue. Check in was painless. We requested a non-smoking room & I have to say from past experiences that usually doesn't mean anything because they still usually smell like stale cigs. This room was very clean!!!!! It also came with a coffee pot & iron! All outlets worked, lights all worked, AC worked. Had private parking in front of hotel & parking structure behind hotel that was gated. Neighborhood seems a little seedy but that wasn't an issue for us during our stay, however we didn't wonder about. Bottom line is I will be adding this hotel to my list of places to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Nice hotel room was clean, parking is a little tight only complaint is no elevator
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lesliefrom California

Dirty old hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Do not stay here it is not worth a dime. Bad experience from the Unfriendly staff at check in, old musty, dirty smelling room, bedding, and towels all smelled dirty. Very thin walls we were woken up several times by other rooms and people just walking and talking past our room to get to theirs. I cannot believe that Hotels.com would represent such a dump as this place. Turn your car around and go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good rates

Posted Sep 11, 2014
They were not able to give receipt and said expedia would send one and have not received anything as of yet, it's been a week still waiting.