Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Denny's, 7 eleven and Walgreens are right next block, and the metro station as well. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast is a plus. For an economic/business trip, I would recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad attitude, parking was terrible!!!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
new renovation? hell no!! they got a change thier attitude also! not enough parking space! they gave me a map to park. excuse me! we're the first time visitor in LA. no matter what had most bad experience ever had! smelly rooms, priceless!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Good staff, okay location, great room

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: It was newly renovated and very nice. From the outside it looks like a plain building, so you have to keep an eye out when looking for it.
Cons: Parking lot guard was a bit pushy when asking about my parking permit, which is given at the front desk.
Location: some homeless people walking around. it's about a 10 minute drive from Hollywood Blvd which has a lot of touristy things to do.
Overall a great stay. The area has a lot of people walking around, many workers, a few homeless. The parking garage is cramped but covered and they have a security guard. I suggest getting a parking spot early. The parking lot guard was a bit pushy, so I became a bit frank with my tone and he chilled out and became a more helpful about where to get a parking permit. Don't forget to get a parking permit at the front desk so you don't have to be questioned by him. My room was completely renovated and very nice. Decor was modern. Loved it. Breakfast was nice and simple. Overall a great place to lay your head.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We stayed one night and had no complaints. Staff was excellent and room was clean and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Trying to be as nice as possible at least staff was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucca Valley, Ca.

Nice hotel, comfortable layout of the room

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Easy check in/out, nice breakfast. My family & I went to Universal Studios for the day, & the hotel was only about 5 miles away. Parking was a little tight, as spots fill in fast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Great Hotel, Dicey Neighborhood

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Very clean, nicely decorated and welcoming staff. Free covered parking on ground floor a big plus.
Cons: Insulate or weather strip around the room entry door as there is a huge light leak from the hallway lights into the room when the lights are off.
Location: Easy to find, close to freeway. If you don't like Korean food you'll be challenged to find anything different. Security guards in every shopping ctr
Had never stayed in a HoJo's before and wasn't expecting much. Pleasantly surprised at how nicely appointed the rooms and hallways were. For the price it was a unexpected pleasure. The breakfast room was depressing (but clean!) and the food looked so pedestrian that we opted to have Starbucks instead. It was scary to walk around the area at night as there were a lot of homeless folks sleeping on the sidewalks and in doorways and every strip mall had at least 1 security guard. Not an area to go for a nice evening stroll. Was traveling with a business companion who doesn't like ethnic food. Korean or Chinese food were the only options that we could find unless we drove out of the area. Would not stay at this particular property again because of the safety issues but would definitely try another Howard Johnson's.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

NO Parking

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Beds were nice
Cons: Parking, but in the area there are no other options. Hotel should be more forthcoming about parking situation
Location: Good restaurants
Parking was not as advertised. Had to park 2 blocks away in a church lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura Cty.

Decent price for a spacious room w many amenities

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The room was clean, spacious, newly furnished, and we'll kept. I appreciate them calling my cab and extending my stay 30min. @ no charge,
Cons: The bathroom sink area should be a vanity... Too small for a lady w lots of toiletries and make-up; towels can be bigger and softer
Location: Parking is very compact; I liked the close proximity to downtown...$12 for a cab, saved myself a few dollars , gas, and time dealing w parking
I had looked at similar hotels in the area, and they were $30 expensive or booked for the weekend requested? I was shocked once I walked into the room how clean, upgraded, and spacious it looked-- very pleased!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Food could be better.
Location: We went to Universal and it was super close and easy to get to.
Everything was fine, but being below the free food. Why would you have the food floor above where people are suppose to sleep????