Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Typical of the brand

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Price
Location: On busy road. Plenty of restaurants around but nothing special.
Reasonably priced and offered required good nights sleep. Not a luxury hotel so service and facilities reflected this. Basic breakfast included. Good value overall for the amount paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sf

Good location to the convention center

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms are away from the Main Street traffic and are quiet.
Cons: If use less deodorant or chemicals to clean the room would be better
Location: I like the location that is near the freeway exit, close by there is a shopping mall. Also the Cal Tech is within walking distance.
Out of my expectation, it is cleaner than what I have read from the previous reviews. I like the location with easy access to the freeway exits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 22, 2015
All in all a good experience. Good location, nice staff, adequate breakfast. The only thing I had a problem with was that, the room was a bit smelly and the towels were scratchy, but nothing I couldn't live with.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

IMATS weekend

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: That I got a suite so there was a separate living room area from the bedroom.
Location: Not the greatest part of town. Had to drive to everything and then pay to park.
We needed a hotel close to the Pasadena Convention Center that wasn't going to cost a fortune. I went with this hotel because it didn't appear too far and felt comfortable in booking just because of the name "Howard Johnson's". Never again. Bad part of town, did not feel safe in walking from here to the convention center so had to drive and pay to park. Room was noisy. Exterior doors and wasn't even comfortable with the parking just because of the surrounding neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast is good.
Cons: :)
Location: Old Pasadena is really close by. Freeway is not far too.
We stayed here for 6 days during December. Overall, it's good as the location was great. The breakfasts were good too. Nothing to complaint about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Staff is nice. Breakfast is reasonable. The room is clean. But outside noise can be bad!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Location is excellent. The staff is friendly. The room is clean. The breakfast is reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected for the price.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Other than the bathroom fan not working. The rest of the room was very nice and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Convenient, old

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Clean and appropriate for the price. Old threadbare carpet, see through towels. Comfortable bed, hot showers adequate breakfast. Ok for a one night stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Leisure travel.

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were told that this hotel had been recently updated. The only upgrade was the bathroom counter top. The hotel is very dated and the towels were thread bare, extremely rough! The employee on duty for Sunday was not overly helpful. I thought I was putting him out for asking a question. No hot food for the free breakfast. The positives were the size of the room and the location. We would not stay here again.