Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 22, 2015
All in all a good experience. Good location, nice staff, adequate breakfast. The only thing I had a problem with was that, the room was a bit smelly and the towels were scratchy, but nothing I couldn't live with.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

IMATS weekend

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: That I got a suite so there was a separate living room area from the bedroom.
Location: Not the greatest part of town. Had to drive to everything and then pay to park.
We needed a hotel close to the Pasadena Convention Center that wasn't going to cost a fortune. I went with this hotel because it didn't appear too far and felt comfortable in booking just because of the name "Howard Johnson's". Never again. Bad part of town, did not feel safe in walking from here to the convention center so had to drive and pay to park. Room was noisy. Exterior doors and wasn't even comfortable with the parking just because of the surrounding neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast is good.
Cons: :)
Location: Old Pasadena is really close by. Freeway is not far too.
We stayed here for 6 days during December. Overall, it's good as the location was great. The breakfasts were good too. Nothing to complaint about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Staff is nice. Breakfast is reasonable. The room is clean. But outside noise can be bad!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Location is excellent. The staff is friendly. The room is clean. The breakfast is reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected for the price.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Other than the bathroom fan not working. The rest of the room was very nice and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Convenient, old

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Clean and appropriate for the price. Old threadbare carpet, see through towels. Comfortable bed, hot showers adequate breakfast. Ok for a one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good Location Marginal Room

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Great location directly across from Pasadena City College. Close to many attractions.
We booked this hotel for the location, not expecting much because of the low price. The rooms are old and could be maintained much better. The fan in the bathroom didn't work, the refrigerator door wouldn't close so we turned it off. The carpet was so dirty it was sticky and we wouldn't put our feet on it. The mattresses are marginal. The best things were the pillows, the TV and the fact that it was surprisingly quiet. The staff was helpful, but forgot to tell us that the marginal breakfast is over an hour early on Sundays so they can rent the room to a church. So we went down for breakfast and it was already over. It's not worth much anyways, but it would have been nice to have had a cup of coffee. It is NOT in Old Pasadena as one previous reviewer had mentioned. If you want to go there you need to drive, as it's not a walk to get there, it's a hike. But it's convenient to many of the attractions in the Pasadena area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AU

Good location, comfortable, good value for money

Posted Nov 12, 2014
This hotel is located in fairly good and safe area close to lots of places to eat and colledge/uni. It is about 35-45 min walk to the main restautants and shops but you can also catch a bus which stops nearby. The staff was very comfortable and accomodating, we had a good night sleep and overall this place was a good value for money. Breakfast had limited choice but hey its free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Staff was accommodating about an early checkin and was pet friendly. The room was comfortable and all utilities functioned well. The street was a little noisy but that is to be expected as the hotel is on a busy road. Overall, pleasant and very reasonably priced.