Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enough to rest

Posted Sep 15, 2014
This hotel is enough if your plans are being traveling around the city and select a hotel just to sleep. The breakfast is very poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Decent Accommodations And Value

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Decent accommodations and value in an overpriced industry. The motel is pretty basic, with no pool, weight room, etc. Continental breakfast was the usual, but nice to have. The location is good, with restaurants and shopping nearby. The motel has outdoor corridors, and as is typical with this design, there was some noise from some rowdy people stomping up and down and slamming doors. One person kept running up and down the walkway all night - don't ask me why. They eventually stopped about 4am. In my view, all hotels/motels should have an assistant manager or guard that watches for this sort of thing and throws the offending people out. Rooms are too expensive - and sleep too precious - to put up with this nonsense. The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and parking was ample. Overall I'd say it was a decent experience and value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Perfect location

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The value was more than the price would suggest, it was a true bargain! The area was good and it was a straight shot down to the Redondo pier.i would definitely stay here again! The only complaint I had was jackhammering in the early morning at the construction site directly next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Great price, great comfort.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Loved the pillows and the beds have plenty of them. Breakfast area is nice. Hotel is near a lot of shopping and 10 min drive to Redondo Beach.
Cons: We requested a roll away bed but it never came. Staff needs to smile! Clean or replace the carpet. Fix shower temperature control.
Location: Great location, safe, near to beach, and lots of shopping.
We stayed in the room with 2 king beds on the 2nd floor. We loved the size of the room, even had a small balcony. The carpet feels dirty otherwise it is a clean room. The temperature of the water changes constantly. I hope they fix that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good staff but crappy internet and bathroom

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel staff were nice but the hotel is dated and the internet really sucks. It loses connection and very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, clean

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Good location, safe area and relatively close to the beach (few min by car), reasonable charge, clean room, polite front desk stafff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great for the price

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Price, staff, breakfast, proximity to beach, shopping and LAX.
Cons: Need protein, at least yogurt at continental breakfast.
Location: Redodo beach is less then 3 miles away and very easy to get to, LAX is less then 10 minutes away. There are lots of shops nearby.
MY wife and I were looking for something near the Portofino in Redondo beach, but not wanting to pay an arm and a leg. This hotel is slightly dated and rough around the edges, but the staff was very friendly, the bed was comfortable and the neighborhood is nice, it is less then 3 miles from the water, with a lightly used main street for the whole three miles. The only complaint we have is there was very little in the way of protein at the Continental Breakfast, but everything at the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Motel, Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We only stayed for 1 night, but the staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable and the location was convenient. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Good Hotel to Stay at Again

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: This is also a good hotel that is within walking distance to shopping nearby.
This is a cozy hotel-motel. The beds and mattresses are comfortable. I have stayed at HJ for a couple of times now whenever I am in the Torrance area. Everything is quiet and peaceful, and the rates are very reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Teresa Givens from howard johnson torrance

need better customer service

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Better customer service and firmer beds.