Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Perth West Australia

Quiet retreat close to beach & airport

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Home away from home feel
Cons: Coffee maker in the room & or small bar fridge would make it.
Location: Close to beach. Bird watching. Bike/walk to Marina Del Ray. Bike ride to Rodondo Beach or Venice Beach.
Hotel is more like a large bed & breakfast. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms spacious. Staff we're very helpful. Hotel has beach bikes to use great for ride along to neighbouring beaches. Nearby local bus system takes you virtually anywhere with an odd bus change, but a car would be better if you plan on sightseeing LA. Breakfast was nice & there is always coffee/snacks in the dining room as rooms do not have coffee/tea or refrigerators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staycation

Posted Mar 9, 2014
We are from Southern California but ranted to be close to our daughter for the weekend. The hotel made it a special experience in every way--from good sized room with all the amenities to delicious hors d'oervres and wine to fabulous breakfast served overlooking marshland with coastal bird aplenty. Loved our walk through the scenic area after breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service, great location

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The view onto the Ballona Wetlands makes it feel almost like you are out of the city.
Cons: Our room looked out partly onto the street, but the only the thing to do would be to pay more for one of the wetlands view rooms.
The staff was very friendly and the touches of an evening wine and cheese (with delicious made right on-site hummus and artichoke dip) made it a very homey experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zoe from hk

Excellent

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Great to stay here and feel like at home , staff are helpful and sweet . Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascale from San Francisco

What a find!

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: The location, the warm decor, the beautiful rooms, the hospitality of the staff, the good food, and proximity to the airport,.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: 5 minutes from LAX, 20 minutes from Santa Monica and 45 minutes to downtown LA. Beautiful beach nearby, walking trails, natural reserve...
This hotel, 5 minutes from LAX, and a world away from the scale of Los Angeles, offers the perfect respite for anyone travelling for business or just wanting to relax by the beach. From the first warm welcome to the time I checked out, the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The rooms are very well appointed, large and beautiful. I enjoyed using one of the bicycles to ride along the beach just a few blocks away, and walking to dinner - again an unusual experience in Los Angeles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near but not too close to LAX

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Cons: Towels need to be updated.
Location: Nice location for visits to the Getty Museum and to the Getty Villa.
Super staff. Helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the evening wine and cheese gatherings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business Travel from Houston, TX

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The room was comfortable. The breakfast area was nice.
Cons: The cleanliness of the bathroom could have been better. There was hair from previous guests in bathtub and sink areas.
The hotel staff was very nice and escorted me to the room. The corridors were very muggy as was the room initially. The A/C in the room worked well to clear up mugginess but had no constant fan - so the unit turned on and off all night. For me. it was difficult to sleep. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear pretty well those around you. Other than that, a very comfortable room. Great view looking toward marina. I liked the balcony and the proximity of the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Indianapolis

It reminded me of a B&B

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: I liked the large bathroom and the balcony. I also liked the homey atmosphere, home made cookies, breakfast and cocktail hour.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a pool and/or hot tub. And there should be warning signs to not walk north of the hotel on Culver Blvd.
Location: This hotel is located right between LAX and Marina Del Rey. It isn't the cleanest area in California, but it is pretty conveniently located.
We arrived late in the afternoon and we were greeted with home baked cookies, friendly staff and a homey environment. We were invited for wine and horderves, so we after settled in our very nice room, we returned to the comfy living area. Our room had a balcony overlooking a future nature/bird preserve area. We enjoyed a restful night sleep in the king bed. We were disappointed that there was no pool or hot tub, but we enjoyed walking on the beach bike path not far away. One thing we did not like is that we walked north on the Ballona Creek Bike Path, which leads around the marina and we wanted to walk back on the street.....bad idea. We walked on very dangerous Culver Blvd starting at the bridge that crosses Ballona Creek. Very BAD idea! If you walk on the beach path go south of the hotel, NOT north!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patm from London UK

idiosyncratic boutique hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenient to be close to the airport without being one of the airport hotels. Clean cottagey decor and very friendly welcome. Comfortable room and good breakfast.