Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Relax and unwind, right next to LAX!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: A clean well-run hotel without being over-the-top
Cons: It would be nice to be able to enter as well as exit from the front of the hotel.
Location: Good restaurants and cafes. The beach. The wetlands.
I chose to stay at the Inn at Playa del Rey based on other reviews and on my need for 2 nights in LA, preferably close to LAX. The Inn was a very pleasant experience. The staff were efficient, engaged and helpful without being fussy, and the décor comfortable and easy going in a sea-side cottagey, non ultra-modern, way. Eating breakfast or relaxing in the lounge you tended to gaze out over the wetlands that border the Inn from behind - who would have thought that staring at ducks and pelicans and so forth could be so relaxing! The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and with sufficient space not to feel hemmed in by the world. Within a very short walk are a number of places to eat, of which I sampled two (Italian and Asian fusion) and found both to be excellent. The beach is a 10 minute walk and I was able to enjoy an hour's stroll towards Santa Monica on the well-used boardwalk. I would have to say it was one of my nicest hotel experiences. I left feeling relaxed and at peace with the world, which is not what I normally expect from a trip to LA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
The staff was very helpful and provided us with excellent help. The location was beautiful and the place felt very inviting and romantic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Cozy hotel, friendly staff, delicious breakfast!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The kindness of the hotel staff, the quality of the breakfast, the overall great condition of the hotel!
Cons: I didn't have any problems parking, because the hotel didn't seem like it was full, but I can imagine that parking could be crowded at max capacity.
Location: Santa Monica is only a short drive north (or bike ride, if you're a little more adventurous)
We stayed in the Marina View room and it was very comfortable. The cookies and handwritten notes that welcomed us into our room were very cute and gave us that extra warm feeling. The entire hotel was very well maintained. The location is very convenient and although it is close to Santa Monica and the airport it felt like we were able to get away to a nice small place outside of the big city. Our room faced the wetlands, so we did not hear any road traffic or noise from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

The Nicest Little Place

Posted Nov 8, 2014
This Inn was amazing. The ladies working there were sweet and very helpful. It is very peaceful here and clean which is a must. Definitely will be coming back here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Needs a little attention

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The desk staff was friendly and very helpful.
Cons: The water fixtures were in need of repair. The room was in need of obvious cleaning throughout our stay.
Location: It was nice staying near the ocean and near the bike trail.
The Inn is a decent place to stay, however, it was in need of repair and attention to cleanliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hotel Inn a Playa del Rey

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Tout
Hotel d'un charme fou, idéal pour un séjour romantique. La grande suite est un rêve !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

cozy and friendly

Posted Oct 28, 2014
great inn with friendly staff. wine and cheese hour in the evening and breakfast in the morning. we'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tomfrom Vantaa, Suomi

Miellyttävä B&B kokemus, hyvä aamiainen

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Oikein mukava B&B majoitus, ilmainen pysäköinti hallissa, talon alla. Ystävällinen ja avulias henkilökunta, siistit ja puhtaat huoneet, kauniisti sisustettu kokonaisuus. Lähellä lentokenttää, hieman ohikulkevan liikenteen melua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Laid Back in LA

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Beautiful setting with views of wetlands, near airport and beach, gracious dining, sitting areas, a real find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com