Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

B and B

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: Bikes with gears would be easier to ride.
Location: Google bars and restaurants, beach bike path.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely sitting room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Relax and unwind, right next to LAX!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: A clean well-run hotel without being over-the-top
Cons: It would be nice to be able to enter as well as exit from the front of the hotel.
Location: Good restaurants and cafes. The beach. The wetlands.
I chose to stay at the Inn at Playa del Rey based on other reviews and on my need for 2 nights in LA, preferably close to LAX. The Inn was a very pleasant experience. The staff were efficient, engaged and helpful without being fussy, and the décor comfortable and easy going in a sea-side cottagey, non ultra-modern, way. Eating breakfast or relaxing in the lounge you tended to gaze out over the wetlands that border the Inn from behind - who would have thought that staring at ducks and pelicans and so forth could be so relaxing! The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and with sufficient space not to feel hemmed in by the world. Within a very short walk are a number of places to eat, of which I sampled two (Italian and Asian fusion) and found both to be excellent. The beach is a 10 minute walk and I was able to enjoy an hour's stroll towards Santa Monica on the well-used boardwalk. I would have to say it was one of my nicest hotel experiences. I left feeling relaxed and at peace with the world, which is not what I normally expect from a trip to LA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
The staff was very helpful and provided us with excellent help. The location was beautiful and the place felt very inviting and romantic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Danielfrom San Jose

A nice little B&B

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very interesting hotel to stay in. It has the B&B feel and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and I was happy to see a home-cooked type of breakfast instead of the usual offering of bagels and muffins. It's an older hotel and it feels more like you are staying in a house as you can hear the muffled conversations of people through the walls. However the rooms are very well laid out with ample sunlight pouring through the large widows. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the wetlands. All in all a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Cozy hotel, friendly staff, delicious breakfast!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The kindness of the hotel staff, the quality of the breakfast, the overall great condition of the hotel!
Cons: I didn't have any problems parking, because the hotel didn't seem like it was full, but I can imagine that parking could be crowded at max capacity.
Location: Santa Monica is only a short drive north (or bike ride, if you're a little more adventurous)
We stayed in the Marina View room and it was very comfortable. The cookies and handwritten notes that welcomed us into our room were very cute and gave us that extra warm feeling. The entire hotel was very well maintained. The location is very convenient and although it is close to Santa Monica and the airport it felt like we were able to get away to a nice small place outside of the big city. Our room faced the wetlands, so we did not hear any road traffic or noise from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

The Nicest Little Place

Posted Nov 8, 2014
This Inn was amazing. The ladies working there were sweet and very helpful. It is very peaceful here and clean which is a must. Definitely will be coming back here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Needs a little attention

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The desk staff was friendly and very helpful.
Cons: The water fixtures were in need of repair. The room was in need of obvious cleaning throughout our stay.
Location: It was nice staying near the ocean and near the bike trail.
The Inn is a decent place to stay, however, it was in need of repair and attention to cleanliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hotel Inn a Playa del Rey

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Tout
Hotel d'un charme fou, idéal pour un séjour romantique. La grande suite est un rêve !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gailfrom Northborough, MA

Couples vacacation

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for the last two nights of a two week vacation with boyfriend. Splurged a little on this B & B and it was worth every penny! Super friendly staff and VERY helpful. Willing to accomodate at every turn. Small repairs needed are barely worth mentioning. Proximity to everything is nice, only wish it were a little more isolated but not a turnoff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com