Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place If Attending a Concert @ LALive

Posted Jul 9, 2014
I usually try to book this hotel if I am attending a concert at StaplesCenter or Nokia. I was going to see Cher, so of course I booked early. Ryan checked me in at the front desk; he was friendly & professional. The room was comfy & clean. Room service was very friendly on the phone, as was the in-room server (female). The food (burger/fries/creme brulee) was so tasty! I always enjoy my stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Overpriced due to location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: The hotel is right across the street from the Staples Center and the Convention Center.
A very average hotel. I didn't see much staff, although I did see a lot of room service trays laying around. The wine glass outside our room door when we arrived was there for 2 days. The porters were friendly and helpful. There was a convention so the hotel was crazy crowded and on two occasions after waiting for an elevator for more than 10 minutes we had to take the stairs (from the 12th floor). I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. If I need to be at this location I would try another area hotel before coming back to the JW Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Hello Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you letting us know of your experience, and apologize for the opportunities occurred. Your feedback is taken very seriously, and we are taking measures to ensure to fix these kinds of issues. Hopefully, we'll be able to show you a different side of us in the future. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay area

Close to Staples center in downtown LA

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Room and Lobby were were really nice. Very modern and busy and Vegas-y if you like that kind of thing.
Fabulous updated hotel. We got the room with a little balcony on the 4th floor next to the pool. So we could actually leave the door open at night to lessen the stuffiness so prevalent in all hotel rooms. There was an AnimeCon conference on at the convention center so the hotel was jam packed and we got to see some very interesting costumed people in and around the hotel. However, the downside being the staff seemed overly busy - we could not get any one to even pick up room service calls. One would expect more from the JW given that busyness and conferences are to be expected in the heart of LA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Dear Renuka, Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for you not being able to reach one of our Guest Service Representatives. We have shared this information with the Leaders in the Front Office to ensure we can better prepare ourselves in busy times such as this weekend. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phx

circus like hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: it is in a great location and most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room we had was spacious but not particular functional.There were no lights near chairs and no foot stoles near chairs or couches.
there was a constant barrage of noise from large speakers throughout the lobby.There were no bellmen available at check in.In the restaurant,we were promptly seated but no waiters came to our table for over 5 minutes prompting us to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Great hotel great staff love this place I'll be back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Austin, TX

Great hotel in downtown LA

Posted Jun 22, 2014
This hotel is great. It is by far one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at, and definitely one of the best Marriott properties. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for events at the LACC or Staples.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Cons: the staff could be a bit nicer.
I booked here because of E3 and although it was expensive, it was a great hotel and very convenient. The room was nice. Staff were OK. Location was perfect. Overall I was happy. Would I stay here again? Probably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Alberta

Walking distance to Staples Center

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Hotel has back entrance that leads directly into the middle of LA Live. Only a few hundred yards from Staples Center main entrance. The staff were all very friendly and personable. Like meeting up with old friends. Great atmosphere from the door staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Latanya from Atlanta

Great Anniversary Night!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Everything! Wish we had stayed longer.
Location: Plenty to see and places to eat within walking distance..
We drove up from San Diego to spend our anniversary night in LA and were met with several surprises upon check-in to include complimentary parking, a room upgrade and access to the executive lounge. It was an awesome experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for the hockey game

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Short and sweet but excellent. We only had one night but location was great and service was great too