Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida

Poolside R and R is impossible

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location only.
Cons: Rooms need a remodel. There should be a separate children's pool area or shall I say adult pool area.
Location: We enjoyed the 3rd St Promenade with the shopping and very nice restaurants.
Unless you have a litter of unruly kids, it is impossible to enjoy the pool area. Kids were out of control, noisy, screaming, and the staff did nothing to control them. Pool is small and since it is between 2 towers of hotel rooms, only half the pool area gets sun. The only way to enjoy any peace and quiet is to locate yourself away from the pool area. Walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier and being directly on the beach is the hotel's only redeeming qualities. Rooms are antiquated for today's standards, and their maid service, does not bother to clean the bathtub or do a turn down service, or replenish towels, unless asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice clean hotel with GREAT view

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Absolutely loved it!! Hotel was clean, comfortable and fresh; location is at a short walking distance to beach (1 short block) and pier (2 blocks). I did not pay extra for beach view from room but anyone is able to get this view thanx to their awesome large glass windows that extend up the 8 floors. Pictures on website are not deceiving. You can also enjoy a great beach and pier view while relaxing in hotel pool, even better at night. Staff was very kind and professional. Food and drinks pricie $$ in hotel, and menu a bit limited. (So bring your outside snacks and WATER) Outside food is at an approx 10-15 min walk. I highly recommend and can't wait to go back to Loews!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are so glad to hear that you loved everything about your stay. Sounds like you soaked up many experiences the hotel has to offer. We are delighted to hear that you can't wait to come back and we can’t wait to have you back. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

The Hotel was phenomanal the staff was amazing

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The food, was great the staff was great I mean everything was great.
Cons: not at all everything is just fine
Location: The Santa Monica pier is just two minutes walk the beach is right in front theres bicycles you can take a stroll on resturant are near by
Lowes at Santa Monica was great I was received with a nice warm welcome smile the check in desk was very pleasent my entire experience at Lowe's was phenomanal
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, From your compliments about our great staff, delicious food and ideal location, we can’t thank you enough for your fabulous comments. Please come back so we can welcome you with another warm welcome and provide you with another phenomenal experience. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location; close to beach and shopping.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Pool; proximity to beach; spas; gym; staff
Cons: Need more deck chairs and pool side umbrellas for shade.
Location: Very close to beach and Santa Monica mall for shopping. Restaurants close by.
Hotel room was well appointed and spacious; however, the view of the street was somewhat disappointing! Lovely pool area and view to beach but not sufficient deck chairs and umbrellas for shade. Spa and Gym facilities very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments to our property, guest rooms and spa/fitness center. We are also happy you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we will be sure to take into account your feedback regarding more pool seating. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington St

Very close to the beach.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: y Very clean, close to the beach, pool area very nice
Cons: Breakfast and gym should be included in the rate
Location: Walking around you can find restaurants, Santa Monica Pier is very close too
Convenient if you want to be close to the beach. Gym is not included. I didn't know it, and i had to pay for it. It should be included in the rate. Also, breakfast is not included. In general, It was a good experience, it is a very beautiful hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel if you get the right room...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: other than the receptionists who were very terse and showed no interest in helping you, the rest of the staff was great, food is good [ but expensive]
Cons: don't oversell the level2/3 rooms
Location: walk to the pier [scary with kids though]
don't stay in lower level rooms. the hotel lobby at street level on fourth floor. then you can access the beach on level 1 [ get outside at the back of the hotel and across a street] . Avoid guest room on level 2. It is in a dungeon, balcony is a mis-nomer, the balcony is below street level and everybody walking on the street can view your room inside if you keep the balcony drapes open. pretty unusable. also being below the street level and a closed wall for a balcony you have no cell reception. I asked the front desk for an upgrade and willing to spend money but they were very brief in saying "NO". If you are claustrophobic avoid level 2/3 of this hotel;. Not sure about level1.
4 out of 5
by Renee from AZ

Location was excellent!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Booked Tuesday night, was there Wednesday afternoon. Everything was excellent! Fees a bit pricey but that's California for you...it's to be expected! Family of 4, we were able to walk, ride everywhere. Love the fact they offered a car, a Fiat to get around for a couple of hours, at NO cost!! Would stay here again and highly recommend it to others! Also loved our room with an enclosed patio, felt more roomy...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014
Dear Renee, Thank you for your review – so glad to hear that everything was excellent. Furthermore, we are delighted to hear that you took advantage of and enjoyed our Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel’s broad offerings, including our FIAT program. Thank you for your compliments to our guest rooms and services, we are happy that we will hopefully be welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine. Great location.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Poor service. Great location. Adequately maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your compliments to our hotel’s location. We are sorry to hear, however, that you were disappointed with the service you received, as guest service is of paramount importance to us and we are committed to providing this. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that your stay will be comfortable. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Casual hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Family of four for vacation. Exceptional service and friendly staff. Laundry facilities went out of their way to help with laundry which was greatly appreciated Room service was timely and tasty. Great location for beach and shopping. Will definately stay at this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our exceptional and friendly staff, especially those in laundry and room service. We are excited to have you back soon. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DJB from Silicon Valley

Santa Monica -

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great hotel but absolutely should not be charging $0.50 per minute to use a PC in the Business Center. They have free Wi-Fi in the lobby and throughout the hotel and then have an outrageous fee if you want to sit for a few minutes in front of a computer instead of a smart phone. It's ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear DJB, Thank you for your compliments to our great hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do provide complimentary Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel and, in addition to smart phones, you can also access this from your laptop and/or tablet. We hope to welcome you back to the beach soon. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel